We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pub”
Review of The Holly Bush Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Holly Bush Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Northwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great pub”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

me and my family come here regularly. food is great as are the prices. staff are very welcoming. great in the summer for the kids as can get out the back on the bouncy castle and outdoor toys. definitely worth trying.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mandymurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    26
    14
    2
    9
See reviews for
39
34
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions prior to catching an early flight from both Liverpool and Manchester airports, as well as visiting friends near Northwich. Clean, comfortable rooms and very friendly staff who have always made me welcome. I like the bar, and enjoyed the garden last summer, and several times enjoyed a meal in the restaurant. I highly recommend this place, but don't want it to become too popular or I may not get a room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have been staying at nearby places for the past couple of years and this one has passed me by! Arrival was all very pleasant and the room was of a fair size.
The wi-fi is free and easy to connect to.
Both the evening meal and the breakfasts were very good and plentiful. Beer good as well which was a bonus!
I will happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1968ajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were very drawn to this pub, as it looks so pretty from the roadside. Indeed the outside of building, the cobbled area outside, gardens and hotel annexe are all lovely. The staff were very pleasant too. However, the interior of the pub badly lets it down.

Entering the pub, we were overwhelmed by the smell of used cooking fat and quite shocked at the dining room which was straight out of the 1980s complete with 'specials' including Chicken Diane! (I am not sure if this was a joke, as the menu online looks better.) The room was dark and dismal and the furnishing most definitely needs an update. I appreciate that it has to be in character with the age of the pub, but it needs to be lighter and with a modicum of atmosphere. Some quiet music would help and some decent lighting. The fake flowers need to go!

The snug next to the bar is quirky and suited the era of the pub (parts going back to the 16th c) But the two other rooms were characterless, just like the dining room. There were 3 real ales on pump - only 2 when we were there on a Saturday night (why?) The cask ale was served in a glass straight from the dishwasher, so lost its head immediately.

We visited on a whim and only realised after that there are no photos on the website of the inside pub area. This is because it simply does not match the image portrayed by the outside - such a shame. It could be a gem of a pub and should have been full at 8pm on a Saturday night (there were 6 people in). Please make some changes and make it the pub it should be.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mollyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Food was cooked to perfection and i am very fussy. When we arrived we were told there was no room in the dining room so we settled for a drink and a peek at the menu. Then the barmaid kindly told us if we did wish to dine they could now squeeze us in. It was clean, cosy and freindly, even my partner who doesnt normally say much commented on how nice it was. It was very reasonably priced too. If you want a modern plastic palace with art on a plate then its not for you. This a a quaint old english in with traditional grub and a bit of modern international fayre thrown in. Oh and mature staff not kiddies in cute mini dresses (who look very nice but lets face it arent the most efficient). We will definately be back and its not often we say that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeboudica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed here for one night in advance of a track day at Oulton Park. We arrived just after 4.30pm. There was some confusion over how to get in but a brief phone call brought someone out to greet us.
Check in was easy and we were shown to our room on the first floor of a small block to the back of the property. We had a double room with ensuite shower room. Finding an issue with the cleanliness in the bathroom, we reported it. We were offered an alternative room but decided to stay put as our room was adjacent to our friend's room. We were delighted to find that not only was the issue sorted, but done to a very high standard before we had even had a chance to finish a drink in the pub garden.
We ate in the pub where the extensive menu meant that there was plenty to chose from for an evening meal, which went down very well. As we had to leave at silly o'clock in the morning we did not have the opportunity to sample breakfast. I was surprised to find that despite our early start the other guests must have left even earlier as the car park was empty. We had not heard them leave.
All in all, The Holly Bush was easy to find, a pleasant stay and convenient for what we wanted. We would probably stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devonblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This pub has real period character, the bar oozes history and they don't make them like this anymore. Sadly the food is disappointing, you don't have to search to hard for better dishes at comparative prices......typical meal costs about £10 but no better than we have found at other places. I was genuinely shocked at the whitebait, never found it so poor - they don't even offer so much a dip with it and that's unusual....

I t was disappointing to see bored staff in an adjoining room, lying around, gossiping and clearly anxious to get away....overall, I would say head to the Leigh Arms along the road or the Riverside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northwich
4.0 mi away
Hartford Hall Hotel
Hartford Hall Hotel
#3 of 3 in Northwich
235 reviews
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Northwich Lostock Gralam
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,447 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wincham Hall Hotel and Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holly Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holly Bush Inn

Property: The Holly Bush Inn
Address: Warrington Road, Northwich CW8 4QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Northwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Northwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Holly Bush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holly Bush Inn Northwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing