We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down relic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hartford Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Northwich
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Run down relic!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Hotel is falling apart with rotten drafty windows, locks that don't work and wallpaper peeling off the walls.. breakfast starts at 7am but you have to wait for it to be cooked till 7:15.. all the hallmarks of a hotel destined to become a retirement home or brownfield development site.. wont be going again

Room Tip: look at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    58
    36
    32
    34
See reviews for
44
61
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Firstly, please ignore the bad reviews! There are some very picky people out there who want everything for nothing to put it bluntly!! This hotel was more than we expected.. Great location, very nice food - you could tell it had all just been cooked from fresh and it was served piping hot (some reviews are saying they had a wait so I suppose either way you can't win! If the food was brought out within 10 minutes they would still be moaning about something) rooms were very clean and comfy.. TV, hair dryer and plenty of tea and coffee making facilities which were regularly stocked back up! As for the decor; this hotel is an old style country house with a lot of original features, I don't quite think it would look right with modern decor/furniture! The staff were all lovely, very down to earth people. It's has a really nice welcoming feel to the place, they interact with their guests and go out of their way to help you (unlike some places) Breakfast was really good too, plenty of choice not just a standard fry up like some places. We paid £130 for 2 of us for 2 nights (Fri 4th & Sat 5th) with breakfast included..! We have recently stayed at Shrigley Hall which was £130 per night and to be honest I'd choose Heartford Hall any day. Thanks for an amazing stay.. We will be back! X

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vias, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed at Hartford Hall for 6 nights, the staff were amazing! They are friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to help.(Thank you Kim, Hayley, Mike, Mandy, Emily and Julie!)
My room was clean and comfortable, I also liked the special touches of the daily room service when arranging my toiletries and folding my pj's.
The food was nice with a cooked breakfast of your choice every morning, along with cereal, fruit and yoghurts.
They have a nice ''beer garden'' with a large pond and gardens.
There is not much in the area, so it depends what you want from the experience. It is good for business, friends and solo if visiting the surrounding area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

The team (Kim, Mandy, Hayley, Julie, Mike & Emily), have made me feel so relaxed and welcome throughout my 10 night stay. Customer service was outstanding, nothing was ever too much or a problem. I would recommend staying here if your in the area and look forward to staying here again. A great pub, lovely rooms and brilliant staff!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in better hotels for the same price but generally staff were good and attentive, the room was clean with modern decor and it was a nice place to have a drink or evening meal before retiring to our room! I probably wouldn't stay there again unless it was an offer as I have said, you can stay somewhere a lot nicer for the price!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Siansimcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night for business as my usual travel inn was fully booked. Decor was dated shabby and drab. Carpets matched the decor dated shabby and drab. Huge patch of black mould in corner of bath, top of the walls literally festooned in cobwebs. I artived at 830pm and the room was freezing - probably because the window was wide open in mud winter ! Plug in sink not watertight . Menu un inspiring and everything was with chips the kitchens idea of a dressed salad was a small handful of watetcress. Decorative cushions on bed smelt of dirty hair. Did not enjoy my stay at all apart from the guy who checked me in who was very pleasant and helpful. Refurb, stronger management of the cleaning team and review of the menu and I may be persuaded to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luvstrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose this hotel when attending a wedding and were looking forward to a rare child free break. The hotel looked pretty and we were looking forward to it. However, the pic does not show the entire building or the skip at the front. There was hair in the bath, bathroom fittings hanging off the wall and tea splats on the wall.The 80s decor was actually laughable! It did not have any facilities expected from a hotel. We were even sent to our room at last orders!!! We spoke to the manager in the morning who confirmed that this is really 'a pub with rooms'. Massive disappointment and waste of opportunity. Gutted.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Northwich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northwich
8.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
359 reviews
7.0 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
3.7 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Northwich Lostock Gralam
7.3 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
8.1 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Hall Hotel

Property: Hartford Hall Hotel
Address: 81 School Lane | Hartford, Northwich CW8 1PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Northwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Northwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hartford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Hall Hotel Northwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing