We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are paying for the grounds and everything else is average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed there for a Wedding. The staff were miserable, food was basic and just about Ok. Overpriced for the room we had. If you want to have some lovely photos then the grounds are lovely - and if you can afford it have a marquee - the hotel isn't that great

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waswoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed for one night over the weekend and to sample the dinner menu. the location is beautiful and the building looks stunning when you see it at the end of the drive. lots of parking right in front of the hotel. we paid £115 on a discount deal which was good value but I would not be happy paying the full price of £205 as some aspects of the suite we had were a little tired but overall the room was fine with some lovely furniture and the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom large and warm.
the service throughout was exemplary with staff always on hand to look after you. we did have issues with dinner as the steak was not to a high standard however the manager was extremely courteous and apologetic and reduced the bill accordngly without any qualms. The breakfast was delicious and I highly recommend the smoked salmon with the softest most delicious scrambled egg ever!

Melvyn the meeter/greeter is a treasure and makes you feel so welcome. we took a walk round the grounds and the lake in the morning and played with Fritz and Angel, the hotel black Labradors. A lovely end to a lovely weekend.

we will be back to try the afternoon tea out on the terrace!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Had an overnight stay Saturday 18th May, fabulous hotel, service, room and great service from all of the staff. Will book again when next in the area as this is an ideal place to stay. It's lovely to walk around the grounds and lake especially if the sun is shinning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hinton55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

From the extremely polite & friendly welcome to checkout the staff are extremely helpful & attentive.All meals were very good,well cooked & presented.This was our second visit following a trip earlier this year the first we had a suite which was very nice and very spacious and this time we had an ordinary room which although was not quite so spacious but plenty big enough.The ensuites in both rooms were almost identical(verynice).We will return when in the area again but will take the room option as less expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rplColton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We got married at Nunsmere Hall on 26th April 2013, we had a fabulous day, everything went perfectly and everyone who worked at Nunsmere went out of their way to make sure everything went to plan. We arrived the day before and challenged them with many last minute requests (due to my disorganisation!!!) and we were overwhelmed by just how great Nunsmere were, going out of their way on numerous occasions to find things for us - from finding us cufflinks which a guest had forgotten, to arranging a hairdresser and manicurist to visit us within an hour! The team at nunsmere added the personal touches which made the day feel extra special and gave us the lovely relaxed wedding which we wanted. I would definitely recomend a visit - if not a wedding there!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

What a fabulous Hotel, a hidden gem! The staff could not do enough for us, they carrying our bags to the good sized bedroom, with good sized bed, nice clean bathroom with robes and slippers. We had a three cause dinner that was great (duck was fantastic) congratulations to the chef, the service was also excellent, breakfast was just as good and so were the staff, will be visiting again and recommending this hotel to my friends and family. Really fab hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F4V-Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel looks lovely and indeed is beautiful, as are the grounds yet the disappointment comes from lack of staff (through the day), noise and the right hand seemingly unaware of what the left is doing.
We were given a beautiful room overlooking the garden, unfortunately the bed was very hard and neither of us was able to sleep, added to this the creaking of the floorboards whenever anyone walked passed or along the corridor, (including the night porter at 4.30.am and 5.30am). All fire doors slammed and were not cushioned to close slowly, plus the chap in the room above ours getting out of bed, going into the bathroom or just walking across the room. Yes, I know old manor houses creak having stayed in a number, but this was so relentless and tiring.
Needing a lie in the following morning we ordered breakfast in our room. The receptionist said we couldn't have "Full English" in the room only continental. My husband told her the bar manager had informed us the previous evening we could order whatever we wanted for breakfast as there are no menu's to fill in and place on the outside of the door.
We did get a full English breakfast in the room, but not until the housekeeper had knocked on the door asking to clean the room at 8.50am!! Guess I should have left the cat out!
Such a shame, as we were so looking forward to a relaxing break in a lovely setting. As it turned out I was glad to arrive home and have a good sleep.
The bar manager and the doorman were the only staff I met, both were very friendly and helpful. I did see guests wandering about the hall looking for the reception staff or someone to order a coffee from.
Maybe just a one off, but it's not the usual experience you expect of a 4 star hotel.
Sorry, I expected better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mancunian2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakmere
4 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
366 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#3 of 4 in Tarporley
520 reviews
4 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunsmere Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Address: Tarporley Road, Oakmere CW8 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Oakmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Price Range: £50 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nunsmere Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunsmere Hall is a beautiful Country Hotel set in the heart of Delamere Forest. It is the perfect Wedding ,Conference and Events Venue. With 36 wonderful bedrooms and it's own 60 acre lake and wild forest walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Nunsmere Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nunsmere Hall Hotel Cheshire/Oakmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing