We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Bought for me as a romantic weekend break away from it all and it stood up to the challenge. What a lovely place and just 12 miles away from the Historic Walled City of Chester a true English gem. From arrival to departure we were treated like VIP's. May reviews on here mentioned that the property was tired and in need of a refurb, to some degree I can confirm that this is the case but on the other hand it didn't deter from the amazing surroundings and overall time we spent there, the Hotel really does have a home from home feel. We had a junior suite and it was huge with lovely views over the amazing gardens and lakes to the rear. Our evening meal was gorgeous a good choice available and served by friendly and efficient staff, breakfast too was lovely. Would recommend to anyone wanting a break away somewhere a little different and would also highly recommend a trip into Chester where you can walk the entire way round this walled city.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bergonia, a junior suite, lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regulartraveller1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We held a conference for 8 people midweek at Nunsmere. The meeting room was quiet and comfortable and the food excellent.

I hosted the evening meal and the quality and service was excellent.

The only downside is that there isn't a gym or leisure club.

Room Tip: I have stayed at the hotel 5 or 6 times. All of the bedrooms are a little bit different but all equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewCheetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on an impulse trip and was very happy with the place. We had a room on the top floor which was spacious, with a large bed, 2 seater sofa, dressing table, decent size TV, chest of drawers and wardrobe. Bathroom also a good size, especially liked the shower! Everything was clean, staff were lovely, bottled water and biscuits (very tasty) replenished every day, went out Friday night and when we got back the curtains and blinds had been closed! Would definately visit again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kazzadoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Booked this venue for our 6 yr anniversary night off.

Had 5* service from meeting and greeting, all the way to being taken to our room. Nothing was too much trouble.

The room was clean and well presented, we really liked the antique furniture, the bathroom was massive, the bed comfortable and big.

The breakfast was lovely and we felt totally relaxed on exit.

We were also told we could bring our 2 yr old (still sleeps in a cot) with us if we needed to as we got a deal on the room and weren't sure if we were taking him or not. Very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DmjayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I used to hold my company meetings here and have stayed and dined here on a number of occasions and thirteen years ago my wife and I got married here.

Since then it has changed hands and today we went for afternoon tea, thanks to a Xmas present from our son, and the welcome we received is still first class.

Superb attentive staff and the doorman made us most welcome.

I highly recommend Nunsmere Hall for any occasion that you may have.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed only one night before moving on to another hotel in Wales. What a lovely hotel Nunsmere is, a super start to my week break. The room was lovely, yes some of the wall paper in the bathroom was not perfect, but I loved the size of the rooms, the old character and the general feel of the place. The evening meal and breakfast were fantastic. The staff helpful and always there when needed. Really a very relaxing start to a holiday and such nice settings.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Having experienced the excellent service and an absolutely first class meal in the Crystal restaurant , this is to say thankyou to all involved in our experience . We chose the tasting menu and have to compliment the chef on producing not only food that tasted fantastic but that also looked fabulous . Would highly recommend to anyone , in particular if you are looking for somewhere a bit special .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakmere
4 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
366 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#3 of 4 in Tarporley
520 reviews
4 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunsmere Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Address: Tarporley Road, Oakmere CW8 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Oakmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Price Range: £50 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nunsmere Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunsmere Hall is a beautiful Country Hotel set in the heart of Delamere Forest. It is the perfect Wedding ,Conference and Events Venue. With 36 wonderful bedrooms and it's own 60 acre lake and wild forest walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Nunsmere Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nunsmere Hall Hotel Cheshire/Oakmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing