We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding one year ago!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect wedding one year ago!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I am pretty sure that my dad wrote a review for here after our fantastic wedding last year but after a lovely visit on our first wedding anniversary on Sunday for afternoon tea I thought I would write my own review.

We got married on 3rd August 2013 and the day was perfect from start to finish. Our wedding co-ordinator Keeley was brilliant and set up the room to our exact specification she even said at our meeting before to take pictures at home and send it over to her if we wanted it to looks certain way which we did as we had so many little extras. When we arrived the room blew us away. The staff on the day were so polite and helpful to all the guests everyone commented on how nice they were. I know that Melvin had quite a few fans with everyone saying how courteous he was on arrival. The food and drink were exceptional something which was very important to us after attending some weddings and being left hungry with not enough food to go around. I know after speaking to some staff at nunsmere that Will and Jonathan have now left but they were also a credit to the hotel and provided us with superb service. We could not have wished for a better wedding at nunsmere so Thank You!!

After such a perfect day last year my husband took me back for afternoon tea on Sunday for our first wedding anniversary and the service was as good as ever! The sandwiches and cakes were lovely and so filling we couldn't finish them all! We were assisted on the day by Helen and Adam who were only too happy to make our afternoon a perfect first wedding anniversary with their warm and welcoming attitude. I was so pleased to find the standards so high on our return a year later and we will definitely be coming back soon.

Mr & Mrs Heneghan

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Nunsmere Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Mrs Henegan,

I am so glad to hear you came back on your first anniversary and enjoyed your visit! Yes I have to agree the afternoon tea is wonderful and definitely fills you up. I am also glad to hear the service was as good as ever, we are a new team here at Nunsmere, and we are definitely trying to keep the service to a high standard and to ensure our customers are happy.

Many thanks for your feedback and I'm sure Adam and Helen will be happy to hear about your experience.

Kind regards,
Michael Scott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    232
    80
    35
    18
See reviews for
127
503
7
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

With an invitation to a wedding at a nearby premier location, yet not being a part of the families concerned, we took the opportunity to stay a short distance away at another of Cheshire's highly regarded establishments..
The approach on a long private drive through woodland sets the scene for a taste of country living to follow before pulling into the gravel parking area in front of this magnificent country house.
Sympathetically maintained in the style of the original private residence, on entering the reception come hallway which is a simple desk by the magnificent staircase, we were greeted by the duty manager who efficiently dealt with the registration and provided the simple information you need when checking in somewhere for the first time.
We were shown to our room which are all named after country flowers and shown to a modestly but tastefully furnished, large room of original proportions with a bathroom you could hold a small dinner party in.
What sets this hotel apart is the feeling of space, the tranquillity of the setting, the views over the formal gardens and terraces and the wider estate of major woodland and a lake to three sides. Combined with attentive staff in all aspects of the hotels service and whilst only taking breakfast due to the aforementioned wedding, the food was of a superior quality to the brands and delivered in the restaurant which has only 10- 12 tables and consequently was relaxing and enjoyable .The public areas were more similarly appointed and present an opportunity to relax or mingle with fellow guests.
If you travel widely and experience a variety of branded accommodation offerings and want a return to older values, give this a try. If you want a modern offering with all the latest and greatest innovations( including a good mobile signal)! or leisure facilities and spas this probably isn't for you.
Will we be back, most definitely but for a longer stay. Great location, plenty available locally from polo to motor racing to gardens and even Chester a relatively short journey away. The fact we could be at home within 30 minutes makes no difference, a relaxing location for a bit of a treat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Nunsmere Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Ian
Thank you for your kind comments, I think you have kindly summed up Nunsmere Hall perfectly. Here at Nunsmere we are trying to keep to traditional values of a bygone time as you call it "a return to older values" and this is what makes Nunsmere Hall so special, we are different to other hotels and we have so much more to offer as you have clearly stated in your review. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Michael Scott, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We attended a wedding here and it was extremely unfortunate that it was one of the hottest days of the year so all of the guests were melting. The hotel does not have air conditioning so we had to suffice with a fan. Unfortunately with the temperatures over 30 degrees one fan wasn't really sufficent. We had payed for a deluxe suite which was in the roof area and had wooden shutters on the windows. Therefore it wasn't really possible to open the windows, let the air in and keep the light out. The room was a little chintzy and shabby around the edges given the price we were paying. There was a lot of dust on lampshades and the carpet and bed cover was stained.

That said, the food at the wedding was delicious and i can;t fault the service. However breakfast the next morning was shambolic. There seemed to be no system to taking orders from the large tables reserved for the wedding guests. It was hit or miss whether you got your order taken or whether you needed to shout over to a waitress to force an order and then you wouldn;t know if it would arrive. My husband had the full english which whilst it arrived in good time had not bene cooked freshly. the sausage could only be described as 'anaemic' and looked as if it had only been shown the grill for a few minutes. . Coffee was not fresh from a cafetiere, it was instant ;'conference coffee' served in large jugs. A friend put an order in only to be told 20 minutes later that it had not made it to the kitchen..

For the price we paid, I expect more. The grounds are beautiful, but it takes more than that to keep guests coming back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Loobylou119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Nunsmere Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your comments posted on Trip advisor. I am sorry that you did not enjoy certain aspects of your stay. We have now put into place procedures to prevent the points that you have raised, so that they do not happen again. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Michael Scott, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Used the hotel for one night and also for a family lunch.

We had travel problems and arrived at the hotel after 11pm. The reception and bar were both open and welcoming. Whilst the dinner service had long since closed there was no hot food available, which was understandable, however two plates of sandwiches were quickly rustled up. Lovely fresh sandwiches with lots of fresh salad. A very good first impression.

Nice bar and outdoor terrace, good wine list and good selection of wines by the glass. All seemed reasonably priced.

Lovely room, nice country house style. Good shower in a well equipped bathroom. It was a very warm night so not the best night's sleep but the bed was comfortable.

Good breakfast, mix of buffet for the cold stuff and everything cooked to order.

We had a family lunch for 24, lovely food and good service in a nice private room.

The hotel is in extensive grounds and very peaceful.

The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

Overall a very good small country house hotel, and there isn't much else in the area.

Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hollybush_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Nunsmere Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your experience here at Nunsmere Hall. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Michael Scott, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was just meant to be a stopover on our way north but it turned out to be much more and we shall certainly want to stay another time.The setting, surrounded by its own lake, is spectacular and the gardens, a succession of informally designed spaces, are delightful. The entrance is grand with an impressive Lavery like painting of a society hostess, to welcome visitors, on the stairs above the discreet reception desk.Service was charming and staff went out of their way to be helpful. There were quaint touches too as the lift wheezed its way to the second floor where our bedroom in the eaves was on two levels. One niggle: the TV was too obviously programmed to sell us a range of 'adult' entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southderrydavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Nunsmere Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that your brief stay turned into much more than you expected. My apologies regarding the TV this is by no means our intention and I have corrected the TV setting. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Michael Scott, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very welcoming , staff were friendly and helpful. My room was clean tidy and functional. Grounds we're beautiful . I attended a wedding , this was a perfect setting. Food was very good and breakfast was excellent , variety of choices and no rush.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie101962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Nunsmere Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking to post your views about Nunsmere Hall on trip advisor. It gives me great pleasure to see that you found the team here to be welcoming and friendly. Please do come back and visit us again soon.
Kind regards, Michael Scott, Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Visited Nunsmere Hall, were very impressed by the exterior of this beautiful country house. We were visiting for afternoon tea and what a truly lovely experience. We were greeted by the friendly staff on arrival. It was a gloriously sunny warm day, so we sat on the terrace overlooking the beautiful gardens. Afternoon tea was a delight. We were served with a variety of freshly made tasty sandwiches. A selection of mouth watering home made cakes followed by homemade scones and clotted cream. The serving was so generous we could not eat all the delicious spread. It was served with freshly brewed coffee or tea. We strolled to the lake through the lovely gardens after tea. It was a memorable afternoon thoroughly enjoyed by my husband and I and one we will certainly repeat again.

Room Tip: Did not stay visited for afternoon tea only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Nunsmere Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you were able to experience Afternoon Tea on our Terrace over looking the gardens. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Michael Scott, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakmere
9.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
344 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
9.4 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunsmere Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Property: Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Address: Tarporley Road, Oakmere CW8 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Oakmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nunsmere Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunsmere Hall is a beautiful Country Hotel set in the heart of Delamere Forest. It is the perfect Wedding ,Conference and Events Venue. With 36 wonderful bedrooms and it's own 60 acre lake and wild forest walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nunsmere Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nunsmere Hall Hotel Cheshire/Oakmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing