We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* service in a 4* hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5* service in a 4* hotel!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Me & my husband stayed at Nunsmere Hall hotel last month & thoroughly enjoyed our nights stay the food & restaurant service was excellent & would like to thank all the staff at Nunsmere for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaraw234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Nunsmere Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Barbara

Thank you for your comments expressing how pleased you were with you stay last month. Your thanks have be passed on to the team here at Nunsmere. We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future. Kind regards, Michael Scott Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    233
    83
    36
    18
See reviews for
132
510
8
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have stayed here before and so were looking forward to staying here again. I booked our break for my partner's birthday. When we checked in and arrived at our room it was clear that the room hadn't been fully made up, with no pillowcases on the pillows and no towels in the bathroom. I rang through to reception who said to expect them shortly and we waited for over an hour for them to be delivered. We had a drink on the terrace that evening after our meal only to be shown outside, quickly and asked very abruptly what we wanted to drink, we weren't given any menus or options. When my partner asked for his regular double vodka and lemonade the remark from the barman was " this will be quite expensive you know" ??!! Obviously the fact that we paid £120 for the room isn't proof enough that we could afford the stay!! I really think for an establishment that poses as a luxury getaway needs to educate their staff with good customer care skills and manners, as the front of house woman was very assuming and rude also on check out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Nunsmere Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Cosmo666,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, I am sorry that your room was not fully serviced on your arrival, unfortunately this was due to the Laundry Van breaking down on the M6. I am also saddened that you found some of the staff rude. Commenting on the drink price was by no means meant to be offensive, the member of staff apologies if it came across this way. We do pride ourselves on the service we provide to all our guests and I am sorry on this occasion you did not receive the full service that makes Nunsmere special. I do hope that this experience does not prevent you visiting us in the future. Please contact me at the Hotel if you would like to discuss the points you have raised further. Kind regards, Michael Scott, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I were lucky enough to have our wedding here recently. The experience was simply brilliant. From the reception drinks on the lawn and in the stunning gardens right through the wedding breakfast to the night time everything ran perfectly. The food and wine was of such a high standard that every one of our 100+ guests received a top class service. Added to this the rooms themselves were also so impressive that we will certainly be returning here as guests very soon indeed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Nunsmere Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Laura L,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor, it is great to read you had a brilliant day and your guests received a top class service. Please ensure you come and visit again soon and Congratulations from all the staff at Nunsmere Hall.

Kind regards,
Michael Scott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I am pretty sure that my dad wrote a review for here after our fantastic wedding last year but after a lovely visit on our first wedding anniversary on Sunday for afternoon tea I thought I would write my own review.

We got married on 3rd August 2013 and the day was perfect from start to finish. Our wedding co-ordinator Keeley was brilliant and set up the room to our exact specification she even said at our meeting before to take pictures at home and send it over to her if we wanted it to looks certain way which we did as we had so many little extras. When we arrived the room blew us away. The staff on the day were so polite and helpful to all the guests everyone commented on how nice they were. I know that Melvin had quite a few fans with everyone saying how courteous he was on arrival. The food and drink were exceptional something which was very important to us after attending some weddings and being left hungry with not enough food to go around. I know after speaking to some staff at nunsmere that Will and Jonathan have now left but they were also a credit to the hotel and provided us with superb service. We could not have wished for a better wedding at nunsmere so Thank You!!

After such a perfect day last year my husband took me back for afternoon tea on Sunday for our first wedding anniversary and the service was as good as ever! The sandwiches and cakes were lovely and so filling we couldn't finish them all! We were assisted on the day by Helen and Adam who were only too happy to make our afternoon a perfect first wedding anniversary with their warm and welcoming attitude. I was so pleased to find the standards so high on our return a year later and we will definitely be coming back soon.

Mr & Mrs Heneghan

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Nunsmere Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Mrs Henegan,

I am so glad to hear you came back on your first anniversary and enjoyed your visit! Yes I have to agree the afternoon tea is wonderful and definitely fills you up. I am also glad to hear the service was as good as ever, we are a new team here at Nunsmere, and we are definitely trying to keep the service to a high standard and to ensure our customers are happy.

Many thanks for your feedback and I'm sure Adam and Helen will be happy to hear about your experience.

Kind regards,
Michael Scott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

With an invitation to a wedding at a nearby premier location, yet not being a part of the families concerned, we took the opportunity to stay a short distance away at another of Cheshire's highly regarded establishments..
The approach on a long private drive through woodland sets the scene for a taste of country living to follow before pulling into the gravel parking area in front of this magnificent country house.
Sympathetically maintained in the style of the original private residence, on entering the reception come hallway which is a simple desk by the magnificent staircase, we were greeted by the duty manager who efficiently dealt with the registration and provided the simple information you need when checking in somewhere for the first time.
We were shown to our room which are all named after country flowers and shown to a modestly but tastefully furnished, large room of original proportions with a bathroom you could hold a small dinner party in.
What sets this hotel apart is the feeling of space, the tranquillity of the setting, the views over the formal gardens and terraces and the wider estate of major woodland and a lake to three sides. Combined with attentive staff in all aspects of the hotels service and whilst only taking breakfast due to the aforementioned wedding, the food was of a superior quality to the brands and delivered in the restaurant which has only 10- 12 tables and consequently was relaxing and enjoyable .The public areas were more similarly appointed and present an opportunity to relax or mingle with fellow guests.
If you travel widely and experience a variety of branded accommodation offerings and want a return to older values, give this a try. If you want a modern offering with all the latest and greatest innovations( including a good mobile signal)! or leisure facilities and spas this probably isn't for you.
Will we be back, most definitely but for a longer stay. Great location, plenty available locally from polo to motor racing to gardens and even Chester a relatively short journey away. The fact we could be at home within 30 minutes makes no difference, a relaxing location for a bit of a treat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Nunsmere Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Ian
Thank you for your kind comments, I think you have kindly summed up Nunsmere Hall perfectly. Here at Nunsmere we are trying to keep to traditional values of a bygone time as you call it "a return to older values" and this is what makes Nunsmere Hall so special, we are different to other hotels and we have so much more to offer as you have clearly stated in your review. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Michael Scott, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We attended a wedding here and it was extremely unfortunate that it was one of the hottest days of the year so all of the guests were melting. The hotel does not have air conditioning so we had to suffice with a fan. Unfortunately with the temperatures over 30 degrees one fan wasn't really sufficent. We had payed for a deluxe suite which was in the roof area and had wooden shutters on the windows. Therefore it wasn't really possible to open the windows, let the air in and keep the light out. The room was a little chintzy and shabby around the edges given the price we were paying. There was a lot of dust on lampshades and the carpet and bed cover was stained.

That said, the food at the wedding was delicious and i can;t fault the service. However breakfast the next morning was shambolic. There seemed to be no system to taking orders from the large tables reserved for the wedding guests. It was hit or miss whether you got your order taken or whether you needed to shout over to a waitress to force an order and then you wouldn;t know if it would arrive. My husband had the full english which whilst it arrived in good time had not bene cooked freshly. the sausage could only be described as 'anaemic' and looked as if it had only been shown the grill for a few minutes. . Coffee was not fresh from a cafetiere, it was instant ;'conference coffee' served in large jugs. A friend put an order in only to be told 20 minutes later that it had not made it to the kitchen..

For the price we paid, I expect more. The grounds are beautiful, but it takes more than that to keep guests coming back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Loobylou119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Nunsmere Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your comments posted on Trip advisor. I am sorry that you did not enjoy certain aspects of your stay. We have now put into place procedures to prevent the points that you have raised, so that they do not happen again. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Michael Scott, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Used the hotel for one night and also for a family lunch.

We had travel problems and arrived at the hotel after 11pm. The reception and bar were both open and welcoming. Whilst the dinner service had long since closed there was no hot food available, which was understandable, however two plates of sandwiches were quickly rustled up. Lovely fresh sandwiches with lots of fresh salad. A very good first impression.

Nice bar and outdoor terrace, good wine list and good selection of wines by the glass. All seemed reasonably priced.

Lovely room, nice country house style. Good shower in a well equipped bathroom. It was a very warm night so not the best night's sleep but the bed was comfortable.

Good breakfast, mix of buffet for the cold stuff and everything cooked to order.

We had a family lunch for 24, lovely food and good service in a nice private room.

The hotel is in extensive grounds and very peaceful.

The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

Overall a very good small country house hotel, and there isn't much else in the area.

Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hollybush_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Nunsmere Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your experience here at Nunsmere Hall. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Michael Scott, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakmere
9.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
350 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
12.6 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,732 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunsmere Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Property: Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Address: Tarporley Road, Oakmere CW8 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Oakmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nunsmere Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunsmere Hall is a beautiful Country Hotel set in the heart of Delamere Forest. It is the perfect Wedding ,Conference and Events Venue. With 36 wonderful bedrooms and it's own 60 acre lake and wild forest walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nunsmere Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nunsmere Hall Hotel Cheshire/Oakmere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing