We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“39 fed and watered with no fuss”

Vale Royal Abbey Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Oakmere
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Part of JWLees brewery, providing a warm, friendly welcome to diners and drinkers alike. Situated in beautiful Delmaere with a large beer garden and plenty of parking. We serve the best Ales from JWLees along with fresh and tasty food made & a great selection of wines and spirits. Not to mention we are dog friendly. The perfect place to stop after a long walk!
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“39 fed and watered with no fuss”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We were very impressed by the pre meal service we received when a party of 37 booked to eat at this Oakmere pub. When 2 more were added to the count their orders were taken with no fuss and served alongside the previous choices which had been mailed through earlier in the week. Once the main meals arrived all 39 were served within 15 minutes and the good was warm and well prepared and presented.

Highlights were the steak and ale pie and pulled pork burger.the scampi however was dry and overcomes. It that's a small grumble bearing in mind the feat accomplished by the staff and chef.

We were served by cheerful staff who could not do enough for us and were particularly helpful with the small children and rearranging of the space so families could sit together. We are very grateful and would definitely choose this venue again.

Helpful?
1 Thank DaftD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair P, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to seeing you at your next family gathering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    83
    43
    38
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Sunday carvery was dire, the meat was processed, roast potatoes undercooked. Onky turkey, ham and pork was on offer. Bothe the pork and ham were very fatty.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sue2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair P, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Firstly let me apologise that the carvery was not what you had hoped for, I can assure you that we cook our meats fresh on the day of the carvery and we try to ensure that the standards and quality are the best they can be. Hopefully in the future you will give us another chance and we can change your minds about our carvery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“New Management”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

What a turnaround..the staff are actually smiling and friendly.Enjoyed a very pleasant evening with friends.
Under new management certainly makes a difference.

Helpful?
2 Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair P, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“whats not to like?”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Wanted lunch with family who had come to visit. Beautiful sunny day. Somewhere to sit outside? Reasonably priced. Had a great time. Really good service! Not over the top just friendly and efficient. I may be a bit fussy but if we are paying for something I want it to be right and if we are entertaining family its essential.
good menu. Right price. Pation area overlooking green lawns. Very well managed. Food and service perfect. Home now and unusually for me bothering to do a review. Well done whoever is in charge of the Abbey Arms May 19th 2014.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair P, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for leaving us feedback, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real turn around, you can tell it's under new management!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my family hadn't been to the Abbey for a while as it had gone really down hill and the manager was extremely unpleasant and rude. However, a friend of mine who works at the abbey was really enthusiastic about the new menu and the new management. So we thought we'd go in for dinner, the two for £10.99 deal was on which was great as that seemed to have disappeared. The choice of food was great, I know the staff have tasted the new menu and were highly recommending of the dishes. I had macaroni cheese, my dad had the chicken and chorizo pasta and my mum had the steak. The steak was seasoned and cooked fantastically especially. We cleaned our plates. We then had a sundae and gooseberry crumble, the sundae is a glint of genius, you can tell the girl who made it (Jess) is really passionate about the dessert and the way it looks and tastes!! The crumble was great! All the food was presented in a lovely way, brought out quickly also.

It's had its reputation ruined in the last few years and that will take time to rebuild, however if they continue the way they are then they are headed for a very busy year and a much better trip advisor page. I agree with the majority of the reviews as it has been pretty crap, but you can definitely tell there is new management, the foods fab, menus great, service really friendly and the staff seem genuinely happy to work there now. We'll be back for sure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank emmaknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair P, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vale Royal Abbey Arms also viewed

 

Been to Vale Royal Abbey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing