We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding reception”
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prestbury
Reviewed 16 June 2013

stayed here friday night for a wedding the rooms were lovely. the food was allso exellent beer prices were ok as well cheaper than some local pubs. allso free wifi.staff were very polite . will definatley go here again just to go for a meal.they have some very good offers on meals in the restaurant

Room Tip: room 20 overlooks the river and last room on the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradders333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge1952, Owner at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, I am glad you enjoyed your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have just had lunch with parents celebrating there wedding anniversary, having been many times we knew what to expect. The gentleman who welcomes us from the car park is charming, and this kind of service is a welcome change. The food offer of two meals plus a bottle of wine for £33 is amazing value in this area. Whilst this is never fine dining its trying very hard! The house salad went down well, as did my Plaice dish. On the negative the Eton mess was abysmal. On occasion some of the staff can be a little rude, passing plates over the front of you, holding glasses by the rim rather than the stem, mostly though, they work hard and smile at all the right places.
On the whole these points do not detract enough to stop us going, we would recommend, and we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge1952, Owner at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to send us your review. I am glad you enjoyed your Lunch with us, however I feel I must respond to your comment regarding the Eton Mess. Whilst I appreciate that it is not a 'Traditional' Eton Mess, it was our excellent pastry chef's modern take on it, which encompassed all the elements of a 'Traditional' Eton Mess, presented in an elegant manner. I myself have tried this, and can honestly say I thought it was delicious. I am very sorry that it did not live up to your expectations, but please be assured I have passed your comments on.
Your feedback is important to us, and I will also act on your additional comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have just had our wedding there on the 17th may and it was the most amazing day.The food was fantastic and every member of staff were brilliant .It is a family run hotel and that is apparent in the attention to detail . We have been many times before to enjoy the mid-week three course meal and wine offer which is phenomenal value . A special thanks to Ken Adrian Alex Julie and Adam , in the fact,as I said whole, of the staff.Ultimate praise must go to the owners for maintaining high standards but in a such a friendly unobtrusive manner. So many of our guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to and we have relived it time and time again. Thank you for great memories.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheadlemanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge1952, Owner at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

It truly was a fabulous day wasn't it, and we hope you will cherish the memories forever!
With all our best wishes,
All at The Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This has been our favourite place for a meal for a while but we had never stayed here before last Saturday. We were not disappointed; we had a lovely meal and it was great not to worry about taxis etc. The service in the restaurant was excellent; the staff always remember us and are very friendly. The menu was varied and I was spoilt for choice for my main course and dessert. The lady at reception that greeted us was efficient, warm and friendly and chatted as she showed us to our room.

The room was spacious, clean and had all the necessary items, apart from a bottle of water which I personally would prefer instead of tea & coffee but most places provide both. I have to agree with some of the other comments on Trip Advisor regarding the rooms needing updating; particularly the old fashioned suspended ceiling. All in all though only minor criticisms which did not spoil our meal or our stay. I would definitely recommend The Bridge to stay and for a romantic meal. The resident singing duo are just right and provide the perfect ambiance.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge1952, Owner at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Many thanks for taking the time & trouble to send us your review, I am glad you had an enjoyable stay here, and appreciate the comments regarding the decor. I trust we can welcome you back again soon.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed at the Bridge Hotel when attending a relatives wedding. It's a really nice hotel in a lovely setting, made even more so by the good weather. The room was large as was the bathroom, it was clean, smelled nice and had an ironing board, iron and hairdryer which was useful.

As part of the wedding party we had an afternoon meal. Although the meal was nice and the chicken tasty, it was very basic. Unfortunately, the serving staff left a lot to be desired. We found them to be surly and a little rude. The same can be said for the bar staff too. They should also be told not to serve cold drinks in warm glasses !! Especially when the drinks are a little expensive. The hotel may be in Prestbury, but we're not all fottballers wives !!

I could not fault the breakfast; there was variety and plenty of it (although the toast was cold..but it's difficult to keep toast warm at the best of times).

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rochdalecowboys2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge1952, Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a review. I was very sorry to hear that you were less than happy with some aspects of the service you received; I will act on this and hopefully you will return and we can make amends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

On a business trip my hosts booked a room in the Bridge Hotel. It is located next to a church, so the church bells will let you know the actual time every hour. Apart from that I had a very pleasant stay. The room was nice and clean, the bed was cosy, and a flatscreen TV is standard nowadays. We had dinner across the street in one of these typical british pubs, but the breakfast at the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balou18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge1952, Manager at The Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Many thanks for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Taken to the Bridge for afternoon tea on Mother's day, but have lunched here countless times in the past. Staff always friendly and professional. Afternoon tea was delicious and very good value, too much to eat! Only criticism was the scones were fruit scones, my whole family dislike fruit in cakes etc so we all had to pick it out! Waitress said chef would have made them plain for us, but no one asked our preference. Will go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patchesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestbury
2.1 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#4 of 8 in Macclesfield
301 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,713 reviews
3.2 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa
Shrigley Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Pott Shrigley
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
3.5 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Address: The Village, Prestbury, Macclesfield SK10 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield > Prestbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prestbury
Price Range: £69 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of rural Cheshire lies the picturesque and unspoilt village of Prestbury which miraculously has resisted the breathless pace of the modern world and has retained the tranquil atmosphere of the perfect English village. Since 1952 the Bridge in Prestbury has been one of the country's most respected hotels, providing luxurious accommodation, fine food, morning coffee and afternoon tea, private dining facilities, an excellent conference centre and the very best in social entertainment facilities. A personal, friendly service is the key to our success. The Bridge is an ideal base for visiting the wonderful and diverse Cheshire countryside and attractions just 20 minutes drive from Manchester Airport and located within easy reach of the motorway network. The Bridge Hotel balances the excellent facilities of a modern hotel with genuine character and appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Prestbury
The Bridge Hotel Prestbury, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing