We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grosvenor Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Townhouse Chester(Chester)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Oddfellows(Chester)
US$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
16
9
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
9
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchfood was lovelymain courseon arrivalspa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

What a great place to stay and relax.
Lovely hotel and for that very special occasion in luxury, a very high standard of decor, you will get a spacious room of high class, his and hers sinks in the bathroom, bath and shower, dressing gowns and slippers, complementary mineral water and a room with all the modern things, like free internet WIFI, usb connection. Room service was great, food very good, staff very helpful and friendly. Evening meals in both Ciro’s Brasserie and Nelson's bar were special.

The best part is the SPA, what a place to relax, well worth every penny spent, treatments are great, a relaxing environment, makes you feel fully refreshed afterwards.

Not to far from Chester, but didn't want to leave the hotel as it is that good.

Room Tip: Try the SPA it is very good.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggerfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I have never stayed at this hotel as a guest. But recently I had a meal with family at a birthday party. We had 9 guests and a young baby. We were very politely and courteously served and had a 3 course meal in the Ciro restaurant which was absolutely spot on. Each person had a well presented meal to their choice which on all counts was very tasty and no complaints. The service was splendid and value for money exceptional in consideration of the meals served. I am very happy to recommend this restaurant for family gathering or for couples looking for some time together". There is also another smaller restaurant serving bar type meals which I believe are of a good standard but have yet to try myself. Maybe I should rectify that at some time soon.

Room Tip: I was a local visitor and did not stay.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rollo2522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Having used this venue for family weddings , christenings and occasions we returned for grandads birthday . upon arrival shown to seats and asked would we like drinks by waitress , then again by another , and again by another . the staff were constantly pressuring and i felt pestering us , maybe this is the way they do it in their country ? .
we ordered drinks and ordered our starters , was asked for more drinks , more drinks , and asked for starter order , and again asked for starter order ,
then... due to 3 legged table an elderly person stood and put weight on corner , the table flipped up and plates , drinks and chairs went up in air , the person was clearly injured and blood was coming from a wound from a glass in their back . our starters arrived as this happened and you can imagine not the time to eat , the emergency services were called and the staff helped mop up the blood , my children were horrified .
with this happening at the next table you can imagine was not good , the staff kept asking us to get our main mean , i had to wait as the chef was not available he had been watching !
we got our meals but after starting could not finish them as our stomachs and minds were just not ready to eat having witnessed what had happened .

we asked for our bill , we did ask for a discount as we our meal was ruined and drinks left but told , no sorry .

i have since written to the hotel and was given a reply of in many words " accidents happen daily and its not our fault !, and the staff say you had finished before this happened , booked in 14-00 pm , accident 14-15 and we had our bill at 15-36 ?

overall a bad experience , if you like tiled floors , granite tables and a VERY hot restaurant ( reason why person fainted ) with warmed up chewy food , pestered constantly by staff this is ideal for you , or like me ...will NEVER return .

sunday lunch at £123 for 4 adult and 2 children charged at adult rate if over 10 is awful .

maybe try another local pub , a traditional english pub relaxed and not pressured .

phone reception is ...ZERO ...good job staff called 999

i do hope the elderly lady is ok , the table was at fault as 2 staff were talking about it after .
as 1 showed the other how easy that table tipped over .

Room Tip: a good tip is carry on driving .
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alelol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

A stayed here for one night between christmas & new year to celebrate my birthday, after reading all the reviews we were very much loking forward to our stay.
Check-in was a little strange, hundreds of people in the car park (wedding)was told to walk though Nelsons bar wih our luggage, however later realised reception was a door next door - again crowded.
We booked a room only package - £15 per person for breakfast is very steep.
Upon arrival into the room (67) I was very upset, bathroom door was filthy, plug socket near changing area was loose and virtually hanging off the wall, skirting boards were all chippped and messy and pictures on walls were all wonky - not what we expected for a 'recently refurbished executive room'
Once settled, headed to the Spa for a swim & relax, very quiet and nicely laid out - but if I am being honest I recently vistied the Lion Quays (oswestry) this spa wa 100% better. Floors were uneven and very slippery, only 4 sunloungers to sit on, the swimming pool water was freezing, ladies changing rooms were very small, lockers free of charge - locker key had no ring to attach it to anything whilst I swam.
We booked a table at Nelsons bar - very pleased with this, service was quick, staff were polite & friendly and food at a good standard - the best part of our stay.
We left early Saturday morning - over all very disapointed with the standards on this 4*+ hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Terrible time ,food was cold ,xmass dinner. Manager did not want to know. He only wanted to smoke or get off early.Was like a nursing home. Never would we go again.Nothing to do but buy very expensive drinks in the pub..Not worth the money paid for best room ,was not worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greytransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews