We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant, friendly experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chimney House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandbach
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We too arrived late afternoon on 7th May, to be greeted at Reception by a Bridal party, but after a short wait we were checked in with the minimum of fuss by two lovely young ladies. Our room was clean, bright and perfectly suitable our short 3-night stay. Dinner in the restaurant was pleasant and though the menu was rather liimited and didn't seem to change much from evening to evening, the meals themselves were of a high standard. The bar was well-stocked but seemed quite pricey. The buffet-style breakfast was excellent, with either full-English or continental available, and when an item did run low, it was freshly restocked in moments. One small criticism though - the free wi-fi did not appear to be security-enabled (we logged-on without the pass-code) and was only available in the reception area itself, not in the rooms. Overall though, a pleasant experience, very friendly and helpful staff and it's location is ideally situated to explore the Peak District and North Wales.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LukeKendall001, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Dear Polters,

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay here with us at the Chimney House Hotel.

Having only just taken over at the hotel in the last few days it is very pleasing to read your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future

Kind Regards

Luke Kendall
General Manager
Brook Chimney House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2011

Overall bad experience, from checking in to departure. Couldnt check in @ 30pm as wedding party had taken over the reception area, we had to leave the hotel cases in tow and return an hour later to get checked in. Our room was furthest room from the reception area. Not usually a problem but had to return there 3 times, twice as keycard didnt work and to get guest information as there was nothng in the exec room? Room was clean, spacius and neat. Had to book dinner for 6.30pm as told there was a COACH PARTY for 37 booked for 7pm. Arrived for pre dinner drinks @ 6pm, to find a huge wedding party and bride in reception waiting whilst they "turned the room round" Had to ask to be seated for dinner, a very limited dinner menu was presented. Then the coach party arrived and chaos commenced. A tasteless rump steak (only cut avail) we retreated to our room for a sleepless night from the music at the wedding party to the guests outside then the singing from the coach party. Breakfast was total chaos as the coach party were allowed to visit the breakfast buffet style bar several times each, no tea or coffee pots available. After waiting 30 minutes for the coach party to leave the hotel, what was left at the buffet was not worth having. We checked out quickly and didnt complain as we felt the staff really did their best, there are just not enough of them. The owners really should decide if they want couples or families to stay here or just become a large party booking venue only as in my experience of this venue they have not managed to combine the two at all.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkley67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGouri, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Dear Arkley67

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is comments such as those made by yourselves which help us to improve our service and standards. You can be rest assured that we have implemented procedures during evening meals and breakfast to avoid issues raised by yourself from re-occuring.

Kind Regards
Gregory Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

The chimney house is not only a gorgeous building in gorgeous grounds but the staff are absolutely brilliant. I could not fault the stay at all, and yes the staff are young (as written in a previous review) but isn't that refreshing to have staff young and eager to please?

The Venue is that nice and the food so delicious that it is top of the list of places me and my partner are planning on using for our wedding... and trust me I wouldn't stay just anywhere.

People are way to eager to complain about little problems such as a lost remote... the area surrounding the hotel was so pretty I can't remember turning the TV on..never mind looking for the control?... both myself and my partner are really impressed with this venue. it's gorgeous!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph_b_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Our daughter booked this hotel for her wedding celebrations on 12-03-11. What a great choice the whole day was fantastic. The staff had decorated the room as Kim had instructed, a minor problem was dealt with before it became a major one(we had missed someone off the seating plan). The lady who was overseeing the wedding breakfast was amazing numerous guest commented on how proffessional she was, she organised the whole event with military precision,
One small complaint centered around the food, several guest said that their potatoes were almost raw. I met the chef in the reception area later in the evening, I thanked him for putting on such a lovely meal, I found him dismissive and aloof and almost ignorant but then he had had a long day.
We stayed overnight and would recommend this option breakfast was good hearty and plentiful.
Once again a big Thank You to all the staff @Chimneys who helped in making Kim and Bens day very special.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oatcake57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GGouri, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2011

Dear Oatcake57
Thank you for your review and for the positive points which I have conveyed to all concerned. To receive positive comments such as those made by you is always welcomed especially when we are getting it right for our guests really does give the team here a great deal of satisfaction. I will discuss your comments with the chef which I am sure will be take in a very positive manner.
Kind Regards
Gregory Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Many people seem to knock this hotel. We stayed one night and found no problems what so ever.

Check in was painless ; the room was big and clean.

We had a meal, bar snack, which was reasonably priced and very nice.

They have a good selection of draught beers.

No probs!

chrisyorkshire@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris0yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leed72, Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Dear Chris,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found both comfort and price to your liking. To receive positive comments is always welcomed and to know we are getting it right for our guests really does give the team here great satisfaction.

Kind Regards

Gregory Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I thought our experience must have been a one off - but have just read earlier comments about the lack of staff for a Saturday evening - just three staff serving - people leaving (those that had the option) - table booked for 7.30 p.m. - soup served at 8.40 and main meal at 9.30 - didn't get as far as the sweet and coffee as we lost the will to wait.
As my husband says ' we go away to de-stress not get stressed!' The worst bit was there was no apologies or explanations - another resident commented that it was the staff that had fallen out and it was the customer that was suffering. Reason given later was that they were short staffed and hadn't anticipated so many people in the restaurant. Because of this I couldn't recommend it to others.
IG

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samsamBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leed72, Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Dear Samsam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is comments such as those made by yourselves which help us to improve our service and standards. You can be rest assured that we have implemented procedures to avoid such re occurences.

Kind Regards

Gregory Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We got married at the Chimney House Hotel on the 28th January 2011 and we had the most fabulous day! vWe could not fault anything, the food, drinks, service and rooms were perfect and Stephanie and her team worked extremely hard to make our day special. Everyone commented on what a lovely place it was and how professional the staff were. My bridemaid and I also stayed over the night before, and we ate from the bar menu which was delicious and there is a good choice of both food and wines.

Overall, a perfect day thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSmiths05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leed72, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Dear TheSmiths05,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found both comfort and service to your liking. To receive positive comments is always welcomed and to know we are getting it right for our guests really does give the team here great satisfaction.

Kind Regards

Gregory Gourishankar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandbach
4.3 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
3.9 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
5.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
338 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Middlewich
Travelodge Middlewich
#1 of 2 in Middlewich
157 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney House Hotel

Address: Congleton Road, Sandbach CW11 4ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Sandbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandbach
Price Range: £46 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chimney House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 8 acres of tranquil grounds just 500 metres from Junction 17 of the M6, this Tudor-style Country House offers a stylish restaurant with free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.Ideally positioned between the historic market towns of Sandbach and Congleton, this charming half-timbered Hotel has undergone a full refurbishment, combining original period character with the best of modern comfort. Peace and relaxation exist in abundance, whether it is the scenic beauty of the surrounding gardens and woodland or the friendly yet professional service, guests are assured of a truly memorable stay.The Hotel offers bedroom types to suit all travellers, including Standard, Family and Executive options. Each of the 50 en-suite rooms has been individually designed and decorated with stylish, contemporary furnishings. They all come equipped with free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, radio, hairdryer, Room Service and tea & coffee making facilities. Many rooms also feature spectacular scenic views of the grounds and surrounding Cheshire countryside.The warm and welcoming Patio Restaurant offers a modern brassiere-style dining experience. Open for lunch and dinner, including a traditional Sunday lunch, the extensive menu is complemented by a superb selection of wines from around the world. With its polished wooden floors and high leather stools, the bar is the perfect place to spend an afternoon. It offers a variety of speciality coffees and drinks as well as a lounge menu serving a selection of light meals, sandwiches and snacks.With its convenient and peaceful location, the Hotel is the perfect conference venue. It offers five flexible meeting rooms each designed to provide a traditional, yet thoroughly modern working environment.The Hotel is situated less than a minute’s drive from Junction 17 of the M6 and offers free on-site parking for all guests. Stoke-on-Trent is about 20 minutes away and it is about a 40 minute drive to Manchester, both of which offer excellent transport links to all major destinations across the country. There are also regular bus services to Sandbach, Congleton and Crewe that are all within walking distance from the Hotel. For those flying in, Manchester Airport is a 25 minute drive away.The Hotel is with close proximity to an abundance of fantastic attractions and tourist spots, making it the perfect base from which to explore the area. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Peak District National Park is a scenic haven of unspoilt beauty, perfect for a range of activities including walking, hiking, cycling, rock climbing, horse riding, fishing and much more besides. For family fun there is Alton Towers, Britain’s premier theme park and Chester Zoo, home to over 7,000 animals including some of the most endangered species on the planet. History lovers will surely appreciate the sights at Tatton Park, The Crewe Heritage Centre and Nantwich Museum, and sports fans will be well-served by the nearby Malkins Bank Golf Course. For more urban pursuits, the cities of Crewe and Chester are both easily accessible whilst shopaholics will be spoilt for choice at both the Trafford Centre and the Potteries shopping complexes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chimney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hotel Sandbach
The Chimney Hotel
Chimney House Hotel Sandbach, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing