We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not four star and some real staffing issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chimney House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandbach
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not four star and some real staffing issues”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here three nights for a family wedding. We stayed in a family room on the lower ground floor with our daughter.

Positives
Two excellent members of staff, the lady who managed the wedding arrangements and another lady who managed reception (she had been there for just six weeks) - wish I could remember their names but they were exceptional. Friendly pleasant and would come up with solutions to the many issues that occurred during our stay.
Breakfasts were nice
Beds comfortable
Curtains did black out the light
The servicing of the rooms was good. Clean towels, nice bed linen, v clean room. Shame about the public areas.

Negatives
We found the rest of the front of house staff were indifferent towards customers, some were rude. Felt like we were strangers at their workplace.
Place was understaffed. Gentleman on reception unprofessional. At one point recpetion was unstaffed and found him having a cigarette at the front of the hotel just by the hotel entrence.
Light refreshments are available 24hrs according to the services information in the rooms. Not true. Could not even get a sandwich after 9.30pm (requested on Sunday evening).
Another incident was that I had missed evening meal due to my mother being involved in a car accident so returned late from the hospital. It was 11.15pm (Fri eve). I explained the situation to the gentleman on reception and enquired on what light refreshments were available. Response was a short and firm "sorry, nothing, you are too late", no other explanation. Nice. Whist ordering a glass of wine at the bar, he then shouted over to the barman that he was not to accept cash orders at the bar, all drinks had to be charged to the room. Rude.
Hot water went awol Sunday morning. Did return late morning but we found that the water pressure v low during the course of our stay
Corridor and bedrooms on lower ground floor smelt strongly of damp.
Bathroom need refurnishing, hole in door where door hook should be, shower screen covered in black mildew, tiles needed grouting.
Whole place really needs a lick of paint...

I hate given poor reviews, but I think the management really need to consider hiring new staff to the standard of the two ladies mentioned in this review. They also need to step up their refurbishment programme. They need to be mindful of the services they state in their literature as these are not being offered by their staff in practice.

Shame, as this could be a lovely place.

Room Tip: I would not stay here until there was a notable change in the staff training and refurb programme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0sieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    169
    147
    100
    110
See reviews for
107
283
18
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A rather tired hotel that desperately needs a makeover. Although close to the M6 it's in a very pleasant spot. When I mentioned that the shower was a mere trickle and virtually useless, all I got was a shrug and a somewhat unhelpful "that'll be low water pressure". I'd already figured that out. No apology however!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I booked a nights stay here for a work trip. Booked into what I thought would be a 4*experience only to find about 50 alive flies ( dopey mind you) hoisted up in the net curtains in the window, no way of opening window to release! It's a shame the rooms look nothing like they show on the website. Checked out quicker than what I checked in. 30mins later!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here as a stop-over en-route to Lake District with our dog. Fantastic location - 2 mins from M6, but its more dog tolerant than dog friendly. Dogs aren't allowed in the bar, despite it being an open plan reception / bar area anyway, and dogs obviously are allowed in the reception. That said, the room was huge (got a great deal on the rate online) and bright with a massive bathroom and a super-king bed (room 16). The only downer was the bath took 30 odd mins to fill (but was lovely and warm). Freeview TV in the room, so plenty of choice. Free wifi was great, although a smidge intermittent. Great buffet breakfast, help yourself. Loads of free parking, nice grounds for the dog to wander, although not for a long walk.

Odd knock on the door at 1am by someone claiming to be porter, checking if the room was occupied due to a mix up - which there certainly was not. He entered the room next door in fact. We told reception the next day but they weren't overly concerned.

Overall can't grumble at all for the price we paid, but would consider other dog friendly hotel next time.

Room Tip: Room 16 - huge bed, huge room, huge bathroom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I had my wedding here last month in august. Had top tier of wedding cake stolen and someone had gone through the cards and taken money of around £200! I reported this to the staff, who found it amusing that i seemed bothered about a cake. The foreign members of staff were very rude and were helping themselves to the evening buffet as they were setting it out, and on the following morning finished off the sweet buffet which i had done myself. The manager lied to us about cctv also, when i went down to the hotel a couple of days after the wedding to question what had happened and make a complaint the manager said he has given all the cctv footage to the police... then from the police i heard that they did no such thing and there hasnt been any cctv there for 2 years, which was when it last happened there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kayleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I was bought a champagne afternoon tea for my birthday but the glass of 'champagne' wasn't champagne it was sparkling white wine. So wasn't happy about that so beware if you buy this deal. Also they didn't actually tell us what type of food it was so we had to get them to make us some other sandwiches. But otherwise it was ok

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroleaderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed here overnight when on a trip away. The hotel was ideal for me being just a short distance from the motorway. The room was comfortable and quiet so I got a good night’s sleep. The breakfast was help yourself with fresh items often being brought out. For the money it was great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hengate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandbach
4.3 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
306 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
4.9 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney House Hotel

Property: Chimney House Hotel
Address: Congleton Road, Sandbach CW11 4ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Sandbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chimney House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 8 acres of tranquil grounds just 500 metres from Junction 17 of the M6, this Tudor-style Country House offers a stylish restaurant with free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.Ideally positioned between the historic market towns of Sandbach and Congleton, this charming half-timbered Hotel has undergone a full refurbishment, combining original period character with the best of modern comfort. Peace and relaxation exist in abundance, whether it is the scenic beauty of the surrounding gardens and woodland or the friendly yet professional service, guests are assured of a truly memorable stay.The Hotel offers bedroom types to suit all travellers, including Standard, Family and Executive options. Each of the 50 en-suite rooms has been individually designed and decorated with stylish, contemporary furnishings. They all come equipped with free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, radio, hairdryer, Room Service and tea & coffee making facilities. Many rooms also feature spectacular scenic views of the grounds and surrounding Cheshire countryside.The warm and welcoming Patio Restaurant offers a modern brassiere-style dining experience. Open for lunch and dinner, including a traditional Sunday lunch, the extensive menu is complemented by a superb selection of wines from around the world. With its polished wooden floors and high leather stools, the bar is the perfect place to spend an afternoon. It offers a variety of speciality coffees and drinks as well as a lounge menu serving a selection of light meals, sandwiches and snacks.With its convenient and peaceful location, the Hotel is the perfect conference venue. It offers five flexible meeting rooms each designed to provide a traditional, yet thoroughly modern working environment.The Hotel is situated less than a minute’s drive from Junction 17 of the M6 and offers free on-site parking for all guests. Stoke-on-Trent is about 20 minutes away and it is about a 40 minute drive to Manchester, both of which offer excellent transport links to all major destinations across the country. There are also regular bus services to Sandbach, Congleton and Crewe that are all within walking distance from the Hotel. For those flying in, Manchester Airport is a 25 minute drive away.The Hotel is with close proximity to an abundance of fantastic attractions and tourist spots, making it the perfect base from which to explore the area. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Peak District National Park is a scenic haven of unspoilt beauty, perfect for a range of activities including walking, hiking, cycling, rock climbing, horse riding, fishing and much more besides. For family fun there is Alton Towers, Britain’s premier theme park and Chester Zoo, home to over 7,000 animals including some of the most endangered species on the planet. History lovers will surely appreciate the sights at Tatton Park, The Crewe Heritage Centre and Nantwich Museum, and sports fans will be well-served by the nearby Malkins Bank Golf Course. For more urban pursuits, the cities of Crewe and Chester are both easily accessible whilst shopaholics will be spoilt for choice at both the Trafford Centre and the Potteries shopping complexes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chimney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hotel Sandbach
The Chimney Hotel
Chimney House Hotel Sandbach, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing