We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country views with motorway convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chimney House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandbach
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I booked this hotel because it was a few hundred yards from junction 17 of the M6. My room was quiet, as requested, backing onto open countryside, clean and bed very comfortable. Really good night's sleep. Reception greeting was friendly, even jovial, for 10.30pm. I went straight to the small bar for a drink and to see the football. Bar staff informed me of a premium brand that was on offer; excellent service. Breakfast was everything you could want and well stocked even though I arrived towards the end of service. Definitely would return when next in the area. For the really fussy type you might notice the tired look of the hotel but clean despite this.

Room Tip: I had a double bed to myself but this might be a little small for two so ask for a large bed if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve G, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Victor,

thanks so much for the kind comments following your recent stay at the hotel. We have been working hard to improve the guest experience so it's really appreciated when customers tell us we're getting it right.

Special requests can sometimes get lost in the small print when booking through a website - my tip is to book direct and make the request when making the reservation. We will always try to oblige!

Hope to see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

I agree wholeheartedly with other reviewers. I had #14, an exec room at the top of the stairs and while it was spacious, nicely decorated and (for the most part) clean, the shower was very poor. The toilet flush was a tad unenthusiastic too.

Other downsides included a loose hinge on the door, causing it to stick unless forced closed (I came back once to find it had been left unlocked for the whole day, presumably following the cleaner's visit), and dust on the top shelf of the wardrobe.

Otherwise, it was a great stay and I particularly liked the small patio doors onto the little rooftop balcony. The bed was comfortable, plenty of tea and coffee, a safe in the wardrobe, and a functional iron and ironing board.

I ate in the restaurant twice, and can commend the chef and waiting staff on the whole experience. Tasty, well-prepared food from a mouthwatering selection.

Room Tip: Try at least one meal in the restaurant. Go on, live a little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaveDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve G, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Rave DJ

Thanks for leaving such nice comments after your recent stay - in particular about the quality of the food and service.

Rooms 14 15 and 16 are the most requested so it was good to hear you got one of them!

I have asked our maintenance team to attend to the points you mentioned - again, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed for just one night. Room was adequate, staff friendly and helpful, breakfast acceptable.Net curtains in my room were very stained and there was a slightly smokey smell to the room, but otherwise adequate. Didn't eat except for breakfast. Hotel seemed quite

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ploddy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Coopers492
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steve G, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Staying in different hotels each week I conclude that there are 3 important boxes which need to be ticked.

Cleanliness --- This hotel is very clean. Bathroom and bedroom were spotless.Bedding all spotless.

Quietness ---- Room I was allocated was at the back and was very quiet. You'll always get the morons who insist on banging the doors and shouting outside your room but this is what they do in their own hovels and is not the fault of the hotel.

Warm room ---- Room was very warm

Staff were polite. Chap on Reception was very welcoming.

Location was convenient and not too far off motorway/Manchester Airport

Surrounding area has little to offer in way of restaurants.

Didn't do breakfast as could never justify the cost which I seem to recall was £12.95

Would stay again/recommend

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liamshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve G, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Liamshelley

thanks for leaving your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the hotel.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we all really appreciate your nice comments. The team at Chimney are working very hard to make it a great overnight destination at value for money pricing.

Much appreciated and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I hate to leave a bad review as they are doing things to make this hotel better, little by little. But there was damp in the corridors, paint falling off, stains on the chairs and the mattress was just uncomfortable. However, from the outside it looks lovely and they really could do so much with this place, the staff were welcoming, kind and friendly and did tell us that the hotel is gradually being renovated. Im sure the more expensive rooms were better than ours, as we just needed a place to crash for one night, so if you do stay here, id upgrade for now if i were you.

Room Tip: Go for a more expensive room, ask the staff which are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoatasticUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve G, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Goatastic,

thanks for adding your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the hotel. I don't consider your review a bad one, and it is certainly helpful in may ways. The most important thing was that you found our people to be welcoming, kind and friendly, something we continue to work hard on. Also, the fact that you mention little by little improvements encourages me that we are succeeding in making the overall guest experience better.

However, I was of course, concerned about the comments you made about poor maintenance and uncomfortable mattress, as these are issues we try to be on top of on a daily basis. If you pick up this response via an email link, perhaps you could email your surname and date of stay to me and I will check the mattress in the bedroom you occupied. My email is steve.guttridge@licensedsolutions.co.uk

In terms of upgrading on a visit to Chimney House, here's my managers' tip - ask us! Sometimes if we are not full we can upgrade without charge, and especially so for regular customers. Thanks again for your feedback,

Best regards,

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I've used the Chimney House on a number of occasions for meetings and overnight stays when visiting clients in Sandbach. I stayed here again recently and on the whole found everything to meet my expectations.
The hotel is less than a mile from jct 17 on the M6 and set in its own lovely grounds, on arrival I was greeted by a very polite, professional and friendly receptionist who explained everything I needed to know about the hotel perfectly.
My room was a good size, the decor is a little tired but the room and bathroom were perfectly clean. The bed was large and very comfortable, the pillows were excellent adding to a great nights sleep

My only criticism would be that breakfast at £9.50 is overpriced with little choice, typical buffet style, for the cost a choice of eggs would be good and cooked to order would be better.
Needs a lick of paint, but the excellent staff more than compensate for it's tired feel
8/10 good value, convenient location

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyJ1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve G, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Andy, thanks so much for your kind comments after your recent stay. We've been working very hard over the last few months to create an environment where customers feel welcomed and where the friendliness of the team shine through, so I'm glad you noticed it!

Just in response to your feedback about breakfast, fried eggs are displayed on the buffet but if you want poached or scrambled on your next visit just ask your waitress and the chef will cook to order for you.

Our maintenance team are now engaged on a repainting programme, refreshing corridors and public areas. They appreciated your praise for the gardens!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandbach
3.9 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
5.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 10 in Crewe
2,294 reviews
4.3 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
346 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney House Hotel

Address: Congleton Road, Sandbach CW11 4ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Sandbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandbach
Price Range: £50 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chimney House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 8 acres of tranquil grounds just 500 metres from Junction 17 of the M6, this Tudor-style Country House offers a stylish restaurant with free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.Ideally positioned between the historic market towns of Sandbach and Congleton, this charming half-timbered Hotel has undergone a full refurbishment, combining original period character with the best of modern comfort. Peace and relaxation exist in abundance, whether it is the scenic beauty of the surrounding gardens and woodland or the friendly yet professional service, guests are assured of a truly memorable stay.The Hotel offers bedroom types to suit all travellers, including Standard, Family and Executive options. Each of the 50 en-suite rooms has been individually designed and decorated with stylish, contemporary furnishings. They all come equipped with free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, radio, hairdryer, Room Service and tea & coffee making facilities. Many rooms also feature spectacular scenic views of the grounds and surrounding Cheshire countryside.The warm and welcoming Patio Restaurant offers a modern brassiere-style dining experience. Open for lunch and dinner, including a traditional Sunday lunch, the extensive menu is complemented by a superb selection of wines from around the world. With its polished wooden floors and high leather stools, the bar is the perfect place to spend an afternoon. It offers a variety of speciality coffees and drinks as well as a lounge menu serving a selection of light meals, sandwiches and snacks.With its convenient and peaceful location, the Hotel is the perfect conference venue. It offers five flexible meeting rooms each designed to provide a traditional, yet thoroughly modern working environment.The Hotel is situated less than a minute’s drive from Junction 17 of the M6 and offers free on-site parking for all guests. Stoke-on-Trent is about 20 minutes away and it is about a 40 minute drive to Manchester, both of which offer excellent transport links to all major destinations across the country. There are also regular bus services to Sandbach, Congleton and Crewe that are all within walking distance from the Hotel. For those flying in, Manchester Airport is a 25 minute drive away.The Hotel is with close proximity to an abundance of fantastic attractions and tourist spots, making it the perfect base from which to explore the area. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Peak District National Park is a scenic haven of unspoilt beauty, perfect for a range of activities including walking, hiking, cycling, rock climbing, horse riding, fishing and much more besides. For family fun there is Alton Towers, Britain’s premier theme park and Chester Zoo, home to over 7,000 animals including some of the most endangered species on the planet. History lovers will surely appreciate the sights at Tatton Park, The Crewe Heritage Centre and Nantwich Museum, and sports fans will be well-served by the nearby Malkins Bank Golf Course. For more urban pursuits, the cities of Crewe and Chester are both easily accessible whilst shopaholics will be spoilt for choice at both the Trafford Centre and the Potteries shopping complexes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chimney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hotel Sandbach
The Chimney Hotel
Chimney House Hotel Sandbach, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing