We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apres Ski on a Thursday night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Piste

Piste
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$45
Cuisines: European, British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cheshire village Tarporley, although not well known for ski slopes, is home to Piste Wine Bar and Restaurant. Owners James Hughes and his brother-in-law Paul Bebe explain that the name started off as a joke but soon seemed, with its cosy ski chalet associations, to represent the rustic friendly feel they had in mind for the restaurant. The pair pride themselves on modern European cuisine using only the best ingredients; the beef is sourced from Aberdeenshire, the lamb from the Welsh Valleys and the pork is all from Lincolnshire. The fish is delivered daily from the Cornish coast, and many of the other ingredients are sourced from within Cheshire. With its open fireplace and hunting trophies, Piste is decorated in a style that could be described as homey. The menu, too, features classic, tasty fare like slow roasted meats and fish and chips, and more adventurous palates will enjoy dishes like the Thai style crab cakes.
Crewe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Apres Ski on a Thursday night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Popped in on the off chance on a Friday night and luck to get one of the last two tables.. Live music had the place buzzing downstairs with a young and glamorous clientele. Upstairs was quieter. The young waiters were friendly, solicitous, efficient and knowledgeable about the menu and their wines.
The food was excellent with accompaniments that cleverly enhanced the main items. The wine list is priced for all pockets with good wines in each category.
A good experience, our first visit, and we'll be back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonR213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    159
    33
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friday date night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We had a blast! Went last night for date night, our first visit, and had a great time. Delicious food, fab drinks and wine list and a really friendly staff. Loved the cool vibe too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant but food average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

As a family, we joined friends to visit this restaurant. We liked the place itself, which was quite cool and relaxed. Service was attentive without being over the top.
I had soup to start with, which was very good. My main course was a fish finger sandwich, I was not sure what to expect as I had not come across this dish before. Unfortunately it was really very poor, just battered fish in bread, which was very greasy.
My family and friends food was OK, but we had all hoped for more. As I have said, the restaurant is set in a lovely town, and the place itself is very nice. They really must do something with the food, a restaurant has to be about its food, and this is simply letting Piste down.
Finally, they must look at the pricing - far too high for what they are offering.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravellers222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryside
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easter saturday dinner. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Just when you think it cant get better piste pulls out the stops for a fantastic easter! Atmosphere always relaxing, friendly and welcoming staff. The food was simply divine full of flavour and cooked to perfection. If cocktails are for you piste do a wide range, delicious with fresh fruit. We will return!! Thankyou piste.

Helpful?
Thank CountrysideMellymop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Went for lunch yesterday. Decided to go for the 2 course meal opposed to my usual choice. Fantastic food and value, highly recommend. The person I took with me hasn't been before and was well impressed. I felt they could do with more staff available as they were very busy...but this is no means detrimental to the staff that were there as they were very 'hands on'. Just feel that one more member of staff 'waiting on' would look better, and help their fellow colleagues out too. Will be back soon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fairy767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piste also viewed

 
Tarporley, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to Piste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing