We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pam B Beautiful refurbishment”

The Nags Head at Haughton
Ranked #12 of 36 Restaurants in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Nag's Head situated in the picturesque hamlet of Haughton, near Tarporley, has been standing since 1680, so its seen some history during its time. Now with menus created by Michelin Star chef Nigel Haworth, it has been transformed following an extensive but sympathetic and loving refurbishment into one of the county's finest regional food pubs. Just off the beaten track and only a couple of minutes drive from the bustling village of Bunbury, Tudor styled full of character and charm, surrounded by beautiful countryside, steeped in history with nearby attractions such as Beeston Castle, Tatton Park and the restored Water Mill at Bunbury. As quintessentially English as a pub can be, The Nag's Head represents everything a fine Cheshire pub should be, a bowling green, kitchen garden, a delightful al fresco dining garden perfect to celebrate our British Summer and four crackling log fires inside make it the ideal winter dining and drinking destination too. From cocktails on the lawn to hearty meals by the fire, The Nag's Head will truly be a destination for all lovers of great food local ales, fabulous wines and real Northern hospitality.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pam B Beautiful refurbishment”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This venue has been tasefully and elegantly refurbished both internally and externally. However, they still have work to do to improve the service and some dishes on the menu. This was our second visit, the first had some issues but was their first week of operation so we thought we would come again now teething troubles were sorted, mistake, there is still a lack of leadership and direction, poor support for the young serving staff, managers were not identifiable as they looked like they were customers! some of our party's food was cold and lacked flavour with burnt yorkshire puddings. After a gentle complaint about this and the poor selection of cheeses (no good unless you like bluse cheese and the brie was unavailable), we were still not approached by a supervisor. The young serving staff were very good and did their very best to rectify the problems but clearly need better guidance, support and training and in the absence of badges, no-one introduced themselves. Portion size of the cottage pie was small and the cauliflower soup tasted like mushroom flavoured cream, the roast cod was excellent though. We will go back again as it is very local to us and hope by then that this new venture for RBI meets with expectation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Nags Head at Haughton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Pamela B,

Thank you for your kind comments about our recent refurbishment and our team.

We are currently restructuring and undergoing additional staff training to ensure that our customers experience a very high standard.

We are delighted that you will be returning, and we will ensure you are not disappointed on your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    132
    87
    52
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“yet more poor customer service”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went once told the kitchen couldn't cope so had to go to the Yewtree in Bunbury and had a great lunch. tried a couple of weeks later and because the experience was so poor wrote a letter directly to the manager as opposed to public shaming on TripAdvisor and a week later still no response from the manager so why not be another unhappy customer who has take to this web page to now publicly let everyone know how poor this place is. You will really have to up your game if you wish to succeed in an area with such massive competition.And up the portion size because you don't advertise as a weight watchers restaurant

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor8225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Nags Head at Haughton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Trevor8225,

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at The Nags Head.

We are terribly sorry that your letter was not acknowledged and your experience was disappointing.

As this is a serious matter, we would like to discuss this further. Please contact us directly, either on 01829 260265, or manager@nagsheadhaughton.co.uk to try and rectify this.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb furnishings, poor value for money”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked a table for two as a special occasion on Friday 4th July - my retirement day!! What a disappointment, (the Nags Head that is, not my retirement!!). I pushed the boat out a bit for my main course, and chose the monkfish dish from the Specials menu - my wife chose the battered hake from the main menu. Battered Hake dish was fine, apart from the cold peas! I was very disappointed with what was presented in front of me. A piece of monkfish on a skewer which was about the size of 2/3 of a thick pork sausage, accompanied by about 3-4 dessertspoons of rice, 4 small vine tomatoes, and a ramekin of sauce!! All for the princely sum of , (I think), £17-50!! I felt that I had been totally ripped off!! As the fish course in amongst a 6/7 course tasting menu, it would have been fine, but for a main course, come on!! However, to their credit, we were not charged for the desserts. The service provided by the teenage waiters and waitresses was exemplary, but the manager was conspicuous by his absence at the first sign of trouble!! Would we go again? Not sure, but I think we'll need to hear some good reports from several people we know before making that decision. Pity that I'll remember my retirement day for all the wrong reasons!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Nags Head at Haughton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Andrew K,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. We are extremely proud of our team. We hope that you are enjoying your retirement.

We are sorry that on this occasion, you found your visit to The Nags Head disappointing.
We would love to discuss this further with you. Please contact us on manager@nagsheadhaughton.co.uk so we can try and rectify this situation.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food with fantastic customer service”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Decided to give Nags Head a try after hearing it had recently reopened. Staff could not be more helpful and we were pleasantly surprised with such a great menu using seasonal produce. Food was as good as it looked and the desserts were to die for! Will definitely be returning very soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Nags Head at Haughton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Sarah B,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Nags Head. We really appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted that you found our staff helpful, we are extremely proud of our team. We also pride ourselves with our locally sourced and seasonal produce, glad you enjoyed them!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Debra”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Booked sunday lunch 06/07/14 for four on recommendation. Very impressive establishment. Lovely location. Sunday lunch highly recommended, although the males in our party were left hungry due to portion size. Service could be better. We were seated without being offered drinks or menus. My partner had to order our drinks at the bar and request menus.All said we would probably return as our own dining experience was quite good. Over heard several other diners complaining about poor service and dirty crockery! Hopefully these are teething problems and once rectified, The Nags Head will be a winner.

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Nags Head at Haughton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Debra E,

Thank you for reviewing The Nags Head. We are delighted that you are impressed by our location and recent refurbishment.

We are sorry that on this occasion, our service did not reach our usual high standard. We are currently focusing on staff training to ensure that our customers have the best experience possible.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Nags Head at Haughton also viewed

Faddiley, Nantwich
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to The Nags Head at Haughton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing