We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average all round” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nags Head at Haughton

The Nags Head at Haughton
Ranked #11 of 36 Restaurants in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Nag's Head situated in the picturesque hamlet of Haughton, near Tarporley, has been standing since 1680, so its seen some history during its time. Now with menus created by Michelin Star chef Nigel Haworth, it has been transformed following an extensive but sympathetic and loving refurbishment into one of the county's finest regional food pubs. Just off the beaten track and only a couple of minutes drive from the bustling village of Bunbury, Tudor styled full of character and charm, surrounded by beautiful countryside, steeped in history with nearby attractions such as Beeston Castle, Tatton Park and the restored Water Mill at Bunbury. As quintessentially English as a pub can be, The Nag's Head represents everything a fine Cheshire pub should be, a bowling green, kitchen garden, a delightful al fresco dining garden perfect to celebrate our British Summer and four crackling log fires inside make it the ideal winter dining and drinking destination too. From cocktails on the lawn to hearty meals by the fire, The Nag's Head will truly be a destination for all lovers of great food local ales, fabulous wines and real Northern hospitality.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“average all round”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Service was poor, staff lacked basics even down to having to pour own champagne. Food and drink service was slow and when arrived food was at best just ok. Such a let down after expecting great things.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank holi123dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Nags Head at Haughton, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear holi123dee,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at The Nags Head. We are sorry that on this occasion, our service did not meet expectations.

We pride ourselves on both the quality of the food and our service, however due to your constructive feedback we have put a new structure into place to ensure our customers enjoy their experience and the service runs smoother.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    129
    83
    50
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Meal on the 4th July”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have visited the Nags Head at Haughton many times and always had great service. We were looking forward to having a meal following the opening of the restaurant following refurbishment. The service was absolutely appalling, they had forgotten to order our meal and the tables had not been cleaned away. Other customers were having to ask for plates to be cleaned, requesting desert menus and chasing up orders. The bar was full of dirty glasses, it is a shame that after investing a lot of money in refurbing the establishment that the level of service was so poor. Unfortunately we will not be returning for a second attempt. The meal was actually quite good when it finally arrived but by the this time we just wanted to leave and agreed it was the worse £42 we had ever spent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Nags Head at Haughton, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Lisa L,

We are terribly sorry that on this occasion, our service did not reach our usual high standards.
Thank you for your feedback, we have now put new structures in place to ensure our customers experience is as enjoyable as possible. With this in mind, we really hope you change your mind and give us another chance.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meopham, Kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Teething Problems? Great food though.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We came with friends to this restaurant for Sunday lunch and was slightly disappointed that the menu I had read online wasn't available as I'd already chosen what I was having,

However what I had instead was great; they obviously have a more limited and traditional menu for Sunday lunchtimes and I have to sat, the roast beef was one of the best Sunday lunches I had ever had - the beef cut like butter, the vegetables were perfect. My starter of mussels was great but I had to ask for a bowl to put the mussel shells in.

Some of my companions were equally impressed with their meals albeit the starters came up at different times which wasn't really acceptable. The waiting stuff were lovely but when they said " sorry about that, this seems to happen every Sunday lunchtime" it made me wonder why they hadn't managed to rectify the situation in time.

We all had starters and main courses and were far too full for desserts.

The refurbishment of the Inn was very well done and inviting. They have kept the bowling green and the garden for seating areas were lovely.

I am looking forward to returning again in the future when hopefully they have overcome the busy Sunday lunchtime problem.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanMcNally18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Nags Head at Haughton, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear SusanMcNally18,

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. Due to the popular demand of roast dinners on a Sunday, we have a set menu. However, our main menu, accompanied with our specials menu is available Monday-Friday (12-2pm, 6-8:30pm) and all day Saturday,

We are delighted that it was one of the best Sunday lunches you've ever had. We really pride ourselves with our high quality Sunday roasts!

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We have taken on board your comments regarding staff training and we have recently put new structures in place. We hope everything will run smoother on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pam B Beautiful refurbishment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This venue has been tasefully and elegantly refurbished both internally and externally. However, they still have work to do to improve the service and some dishes on the menu. This was our second visit, the first had some issues but was their first week of operation so we thought we would come again now teething troubles were sorted, mistake, there is still a lack of leadership and direction, poor support for the young serving staff, managers were not identifiable as they looked like they were customers! some of our party's food was cold and lacked flavour with burnt yorkshire puddings. After a gentle complaint about this and the poor selection of cheeses (no good unless you like bluse cheese and the brie was unavailable), we were still not approached by a supervisor. The young serving staff were very good and did their very best to rectify the problems but clearly need better guidance, support and training and in the absence of badges, no-one introduced themselves. Portion size of the cottage pie was small and the cauliflower soup tasted like mushroom flavoured cream, the roast cod was excellent though. We will go back again as it is very local to us and hope by then that this new venture for RBI meets with expectation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Nags Head at Haughton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Pamela B,

Thank you for your kind comments about our recent refurbishment and our team.

We are currently restructuring and undergoing additional staff training to ensure that our customers experience a very high standard.

We are delighted that you will be returning, and we will ensure you are not disappointed on your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“yet more poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went once told the kitchen couldn't cope so had to go to the Yewtree in Bunbury and had a great lunch. tried a couple of weeks later and because the experience was so poor wrote a letter directly to the manager as opposed to public shaming on TripAdvisor and a week later still no response from the manager so why not be another unhappy customer who has take to this web page to now publicly let everyone know how poor this place is. You will really have to up your game if you wish to succeed in an area with such massive competition.And up the portion size because you don't advertise as a weight watchers restaurant

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor8225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Nags Head at Haughton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Trevor8225,

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at The Nags Head.

We are terribly sorry that your letter was not acknowledged and your experience was disappointing.

As this is a serious matter, we would like to discuss this further. Please contact us directly, either on 01829 260265, or manager@nagsheadhaughton.co.uk to try and rectify this.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Nags Head at Haughton also viewed

Tarporley, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 
Tarporley, Cheshire
Faddiley, Nantwich
 
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to The Nags Head at Haughton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing