We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Successful business meeting venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Willington Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Successful business meeting venue”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We visited for a 2 day business meeting with overnight stay. Having done similar events at many country house hotels in NW England I have to say that this was one of the best all round packages provided you don't have a large group or want a pool/ gym. Beautiful venue and grounds with real character and friendly, competent service. The food was prepared with high quality local ingredients, the meat and fish were excellent. The wine list was decent and the prices reasonable. The bedrooms were well furnished and of a good size, with individual character. Good draft beer and a range of malts. Some of the meeting rooms are better than others. On this trip our room was next to the new beauty spa. Although the room was good with an outside veranda, the walls were thin and the noise of the seemingly never answered phone did start to grate after a while. However overall, excellent value for money

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    73
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
81
149
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was my second visit to Willington Hall and it gets better each time. A friend took me for lunch 2 weeks ago and I was impressed. Beautiful setting, friendly and welcoming staff, with excellent freshly-prepared food of high quality! Today was the 1st Monday of the month so went with
family to test their "Pudding Lunch". We had a relaxing lunch in the lavish dining room... and left feeling we had a value for money meal:-). Can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marika94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Beautiful building,lovely gardens and pleasant barman. However, the tired furnishings and poor service delivered by waiting staff at the wedding we attended detracted from the experience. We were charged for drinks that had already been paid for by our hosts. Over priced for service received.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreesareGreat, General Manager at Willington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Bettina T, you called the hotel this morning about this issue, I am disappointed that you posted here before we were given chance to respond. Unfortunately I was not available to speak with you directly as I was off site, but Sue our Receptionist explained how our drinks packages work with weddings and what is included in each. I apologise if you feel that you received poor service; we pride ourselves on excellent, personal attention and as you can see below, our other reviewers support this. We believe that this matter is now resolved but please do contact us again if you have any further comments.
Kind regards
Simon Begbie
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

What a lovely hotel. Our room was large and very comfortable. We ate in the bar in the evening, food was nice. The grounds surrounding the hotel are very pretty, gorgeous views. We had a very relaxing stay. The hotel looks amazing from the grounds and the inside was just as lively.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Willington Hall has to be a treasure yet to be found- I am so glad I did.

A wonderful stately home with all the character and charm you couldn't dream of.

The rooms are exceptional, the food excellent. But most of all the staff , they are exceptional!

A real credit to the management.

I shouldn't be telling you about this place, I want to keep it to myself!

If you come you will never want to leave.

Room Tip: They are all fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We booked this hotel last minute so were lucky enough to get a really great deal. Fantastic room overlooking the gardens, the staff we so very helpful, the food excellent, all homemade and cooked fresh.It was ideal for the Dogs as there are plenty of walking opportunities nearby.
We will certainly be back and would recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Country house hotel with riding stables in rural Cheshire; comfortable room; excellent bar menu; and beautiful gardens and views over the Cheshire plain. Very close (c 400m) to the Sandstone Trail which runs from Frodsham to Whitchurch, so excellent location for those who wish to walk the trail. A little expensive for the average walker but worth paying for the luxury especially after a day's walking in the rain of the English summer of 2012 and also there is very little alternative accommodation close to the trail. Helpful staff put our boots in the staff room to dry. Felt able to face another day of walking in the rain after a good night here!

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back of the hotel to get the views over the Cheshire plain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingScot_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
2.5 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
485 reviews
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
10.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
374 reviews
9.1 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,749 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willington Hall Hotel

Property: Willington Hall Hotel
Address: Willington, Tarporley CW6 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Willington Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Willington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willington Hall Tarporley
Willington Hall Hotel Tarporley, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing