We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue with excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Willington Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect venue with excellent staff”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I second the review from my mum!

We are so pleased we chose to have our wedding at Willington. The staff were fantastic; so helpful and friendly and the food was AMAZING (the pate, lamb and sticky toffee pudding are highly recommended!.) Guests with particular dietary requirements were accommodated without any difficulty.

Many of our guests commented on how knowledgeable and helpful the staff were and on how smoothly the whole weekend went.

We genuinely couldn't have asked for anything more.Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willingtonsi, Manager at Willington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Liz E

Thank you for leaving such a glowing review! I'm so pleased that the you enjoyed the day and hopefully we can welcome you both back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    73
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
78
148
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My daughter was married at Willington Hall this last weekend, and everything was absolutely perfect!
We couldn't have asked for a better venue. The setting is great with beautiful gardens and the hotel was very comfortable with everything necessary provided.
The staff were all, without exception, very helpful and considerate. They ensured the wedding went very smoothly and the wedding breakfast was cooked and served to perfection.
Breakfast itself, includes home made jams, marmalade and honey produced at the hotels hives!
What could be better? A very enjoyable experience

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willingtonsi, Manager at Willington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Chris E

Thank you for leaving your review of Willington Hall Hotel. I am delighted that the day went so well for you and I have passed on all of your comments to the rest of the team.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My friend and I recently stayed at Willington Hall Hotel as part of a riding holiday booked via Equestrian Escapes - and I couldn't recommend it more. The staff were so friendly and accomodating, making you feel more like you were staying at your friend's country pile rather than as a guest at a hotel. For example, they let us check out late on our last day so that when we came back from a pre-booked hack we could have showers.

The gardens were gorgeous, the rooms cosy and breakfast was delicious too.

If you don't want to eat every meal at the hotel, the Boot Inn is a 20 minute walk away in scenic countryside and provides hearty meals with friendly service in a true traditional English pub ambience.

An added bonus of Willington Hall is that they have a spa next door which is run by a lovely team of ladies - my friend and I really enjoyed our facials and massages. Although the weird buzzing noise from one of the machines in one of the treatment rooms kind of drowned out the soothing music when I had my facial!

I'd really recommend bringing a car if you do come and stay here, the hall is in the middle of the countryside so there didn't seem to be much in the way of public transport if you wanted to sight see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We have been to Willington hall on many occasions, and enjoyed many family occasions there. The setting is stunning , the gardens beautiful.
On our recent visit some things seem to have changed. The bar area seems to have become the main dining area, instead of a pre meal drink place with perhaps a few taking bar snacks, so the atmosphere is changed. We prefer a dining room which is available at Willington, with white cloths and good napkins. We enjoy the professional service too. But on this occasion the dining room was chilly and two of the chairs definitely wobbly. Some TLC needed. We were the only diners in there.
We all chose from the set menu and whilst the starters were OK. The main course which we all had, the shin of beef, was tasteless, we agreed it lacked seasoning and had no herby flavour that one usually gets with slow cooked food. Also the meal was plated, instead of the veg and potato being offered separately, which is a bit over facing for those with smaller appetite.
So we asked ourselves, is Willington Hall becoming another trencher food place? We hope not! There is a need for some thought by management about this.
Will we return? Proberbly but perhaps for a snack. BUT the chef needs to taste and check for flavour.
Finally, thank you for retaining the highly professional service.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank She9753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As a family we've been visiting this Country House Hotel as diners for over 20 years which demonstrates that been it's a firm favorite. Many family occasions have been celebrated there.

We dined there last on Monday Bank Holiday, having booked a table in the restaurant. As we always do, we ordered some pre-lunch drinks from the bar which services two bar sitting rooms - both with amazing vistas across the former ha-ha and onto the Cheshire countryside. On this particular day all the tables in the main bar were reserved and the smaller bar was also reserved for a private occasion. So we were left hovering, drinks in hand, until it was suggested we made our way directly to the table.
The lunch was good, with the exception of one of the puddings which was disappointing. Prices were good too.
We were all disappointed about the general attention to detail. The menu was the same for the bar and the restaurant, which was a new and unwelcome innovation giving no distinction or choice between the two areas. The linen was creased and poor quality, some of the glasses on the tables were smudged - it just felt a bit as if 'it would do'. Whilst the staff were friendly and genuine, service was really slow and we were left with our finished plates between each course for far too long. As there were only four tables in the restaurant at the time there didn't seem to be any reason for this. There are some very odd prints on the walls in the dining room which really detract from the rest of the decor. Having been there for many visits, I suspect they are copies of the original portraits that belonged to the house. Whilst keeping this thread of the house's history is a nice touch - the quality of the prints really let them down.
I'm really sorry that this feels like a very negative review. It's not that we didn't enjoy it - it just seems to be lacking something of it's former self and we all came away feeling somewhat underwhelmed.
What cannot be taken away is the house and setting, both of which are still fabulous and make the visit well worthwhile. We'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celebration, Fl
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Hadn't booked beforehand. Just wanted to check it out first and see the room prior as sometimes the internet photos aren't quite accurate. Idyllically hidden in the countryside. Greeted warmly by Natalie & David. Shown to room number 1 and fell in love with Willington Hall. Somehow we managed to be allocated possibly the best room in the house. With its 4-poster bed and magnificent views of the grounds. Furnishings in keeping with the stately home but the bathroom was new and modern. Just perfect. If you are in cheshire you simply gotta stay here. Decided to eat down at the local pub The Boot Inn - great service and varied menu- about one mile away. Close enough to walk.
Breakfast next day was equally perfect...superb choice from traditional breakfast to kippers or smoked salmon. We are fussy about our coffee and were pleasantly surprised how good it was. Thank you Richard for the history lesson and great service.
We had a snoop at a standard room for our next visit and were just as impressed with the size of room and decor.
Well done Willington Hall

Room Tip: #1 great view & 4-poster or #11 standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZeldasTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willingtonsi, General Manager at Willington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Zeldas Trips,

Thank you for leaving a lovely review of Willington Hall. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

3 of us had lunch here and we all chose different starters and mains so that we could try everything. Out of the 6 dishes we all felt that 4/6 were tasteless and overcooked and the other 2, the goats cheese and rabbit starter, were ok. Such a shame that the food doesn't quite do it as the venue is fabulous for the views, the wine is good and it a lovely change to have cloth napkins. The waitress was also very smiley and helpful, she just seemed rushed off her feet even tho it wasn't busy. We didn't stay over so can't comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willingtonsi, General Manager at Willington Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Sara M,

Thank you for submitting your review of Willington Hall. I am pleased to hear that you like the hotel for its location and service however I am sorry to hear that the menu was not to your taste, We do change the dishes quite regularly so I hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the future to try and change your opinion of us. If you would like to discuss any aspect of your visit to us please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
2.5 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
481 reviews
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
10.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
364 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
883 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willington Hall Hotel

Property: Willington Hall Hotel
Address: Willington, Tarporley CW6 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Willington Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Willington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willington Hall Tarporley
Willington Hall Hotel Tarporley, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing