We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing venue fantastic wedding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Willington Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Amazing venue fantastic wedding!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Me and my husband held our wedding here on 8/8/2014 and from the very first day we viewed the venue we knew it was the place for us!!
Every single detail put into our day was amazing and we can not begin to thank the staff enough. Simon, Natalie, Debbie, Michele and the rest of the team went above and beyond to ensure our day run the way we had planned it! Every time we went to willington whether it be for menu tasting, open day and our wedding we was always welcomed and made to feel at home! Willington staff are like one big happy family where nothing is too much trouble! The food was outstanding the rooms are massive and comfortable and the views are amazing.
Simon and his team are by far the nicest people we have come across and not for one minute did we ever doubt our choice of venue. If I had to write a negative point it would be that our wedding day went too fast and we couldn't spend more time here!! Simon was even weather watching right down to the dying seconds to ensure we could have the outdoor wedding we had our hearts set on and even with a few clouds in the sky which turned into a really hot day we never doubted that Simon would get it right!!
We had a meal the night before with 12 family and friends and even the food and service then was outstanding!!
I can never thank willington and all the staff for giving us our perfect day and making it run so smoothly we felt so relaxed!!
Once again massive Thankyou we will highly recommend you and we will definetly be back to stay and pop in for lunch!!
Mr & Mrs Massey

Room Tip: The bridal room has a massive four poster bed but every room is massive!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelz7683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    72
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
74
147
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for one night whilst attending a wedding reception at the nearby Nunsmere Hall Hotel. Willington Hall has clearly been a very grand property in it's day, but currently looks like it could do with an injection of cash to spruce it up. I imagine the upkeep on a hotel of this age and size must be tremendous.The grounds are pleasant and there is a lovely terrace where you can dine or enjoy a drink. The food was good, but not outstanding and I found the cooked breakfast a little greasy for my taste. All of the staff members were pleasant and helpful. Our room was spacious, but the bathroom could do with being refurbished - not a problem for one night although I might have been disappointed if we had been staying longer.
You can access the Sandstone Trail nearby if you enjoy walking and with Chester nearby there would be plenty to do on a weekend break. There is a riding stables next door which I would have enjoyed if we had more time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dthingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have stayed here on multiple occasions in the run up to our wedding and on our wedding day for a few nights. The staff have been always more than happy to assist with anything you require and were always polite and inviting.
The grounds and building are great, and well-kept after and the atmosphere has always been pleasant.
We have had multiple meals and haven’t once been disappointed with its very high quality every time, cooked perfectly and delicious.
On our wedding day, the staff were beyond amazing, and I couldn’t recommend it enough as a venue. From the start they were more than open to our ideas and were more than happy to accommodate, add and grow our ideas without steering them away from the original plan or into a set package.
Michele (maître d) was amazing, he seemed to be everywhere at once and always on hand when needed and was a real asset, and went above and beyond in order to make our day very special.
Debbie (Housekeeper) was fantastic and allowed us to see all the rooms before our big day which really helped us in ensuring our guests all got the most appropriate room, and kindly suggested a room change for my grandparents so they had fewer stairs to navigate.
Simon (Manager) was more than accommodating and helpful assisting us with extra room decorations and decorating the room. He also gave us some insight into the history of the building.
All the staff played their role perfectly and were more than helpful throughout all our stays, above is just a few examples of how I felt they went beyond my expectations for our special day.

Room Tip: We visited all the rooms, had my best man booked in a 'Standard' room, but all the 'Stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for two nights. My brother had his wedding there. It was outstanding! The staff were above and beyond.

The Hall itself is loaded with histories and tales. The grounds are beautiful, with many mature trees. It also proved to be ethically and organically minded.

Our room was huge and very inviting. All facilities present.

I would recommend for wedding venue or a holiday! Not an experience we will forget and for all the right reasons!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjvvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Expected more... Returned a cold steak after waiting an hour, came complete with skinned sauce, girl on reception on arrival was excellent, when she heard about me sending steak back she tried her best however after waiting an hour for a cold rare steak it was now time to retire to bed. The waitress seemed to want to debate the subject however no amount of debating would convince me an hour was acceptable and to provide a cold steak with skinned over sauce is something you can't defend "apart from that what is wrong with your meal" I suppose the answer was nothing if you choose to ignore the issues. The receptionist offered something else however I was going to bed on an empty stomach she insisted on me eating and I opted for two backs of crisps, yes two packs of crisps for my evening meal at the Willington. In the morning I informed the reception of my experience, I was offered a reduction in my bill however two things to point out, I was not looking for a reduction and would not accept one and even it I had accepted a reduction how does this make good 1 hour for a cold steak? I never accept reductions as I feel this compromises Trip Advisor reviews, hotels defend themselves by saying "the customer only wanted a reduction and tried to hold them to ransom" I only report my experience and the service level the hotel chose to provide me, the Manager did try to call me and left a message saying he would call again, I have waited over a month to provide a fair opportunity for him.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelgo_visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from holding our sons wedding here. I cannot praise this highly enough the location is perfect, peaceful yet easy to access. The staff all went above and beyond anything we could have expected everyone of them pleasant, friendly and efficient. The rooms spacious and well appointed. We had both lunch and evening meals on the day prior to the wedding and the quality of the food and service was outstanding. Michel was always present to help with anything we needed during the day and his efforts were much appreciated. We had 6 rooms Friday night and all 12 Saturday but needed to swop several people to different rooms on different nights. Debbie managed to accommodate this moving beds in and out of rooms during breakfast with breathtaking speed and efficiency.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We got married at Willington Hall in March 2013. So good was the day we decided that we'd go back every anniversary. The owners and staff at Willington Hall make the place even more special than the beautiful building does on its own. We felt like we were being treated like family upon our return (even though I foolishly got our dates wrong by a day). The rooms are loverly in a traditional way each with good views though the wedding suite has the best in my opinion. The food is fantastic and the service is very professional especially if you eat in the restaurant. The food is so good that we have visited just to eat. We just love the place and booked our next stay on the morning that we left.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shrew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
2.5 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
10.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
1.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
10.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willington Hall Hotel

Property: Willington Hall Hotel
Address: Willington, Tarporley CW6 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Willington Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Willington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willington Hall Tarporley
Willington Hall Hotel Tarporley, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing