We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely restaurant”
Review of The Brasserie

The Brasserie
Ranked #21 of 36 Restaurants in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just outside of Chester in the attractive village of Beeston, The Wild Boar hotel is a popular spot for dining outside of the city. The Brasserie, with its chilled out Parisian vibe, feels entirely cosmopolitan despite its location within the walls of a Tudor-style building complete with low beams and provincial outlook. Comfortable leather banquettes and huge floral prints are joined by monochrome photography on the walls and huge windows letting light flood in to the room. With ingredients sourced entirely from British suppliers Chef Nathan Watts the menu is a classy modern take on homely favourites with an international flavour.
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the wild boar hotel and booked into the brasserie, the service was very good with very polite staff, the good was excellent and very good value for money, would definately recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gibson1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    24
    13
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor, expensive food and dislike criticism.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had high hopes, the hotel has 4 stars (somehow), the location was close to the castle yet, the food takes a while to come and, more importantly, is either dry, rubbery or expensive. If reading this, I would book a room early in the castle.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathanwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband & I stayed for 2 nights at The Wild Boar using a Wowcher voucher. The deal included breakfast.
The hotel is elevated above the beautiful Cheshire countryside & is in walking distance of the Shropshire canal towpaths from where you can enjoy the barges & locks. There are also fantastic walks along country lanes to Peckforton & Beeston through wonderful farmland & countryside.
Breakfast & dinner is served in the Brasserie from where you can enjoy the views whilst eating lovely food.
The food is very well cooked & very good value for money as the portions are huge!
We enjoyed our hot & cold buffet breakfasts served by friendly staff. The staff throughout the hotel are really lovely & friendly.
The Brasserie is attractively decorated, the menu has good variety & food is served by well trained staff & beautifully presented.
We chose starters, the roast peppers, sundried tomato & olives which was only £3.50, was huge & served with crispy bread to mop up the delicious oil. My husband chose the smoked chicken & blue cheese. This could have been a main meal! If we had realised the size of the starters we probably would have just ordered mains!
The mains are just as impressive & delicious. I chose the local carved ham, eggs & chunky chips, hubby chose the cod & chips. We also ordered two sides . Hubby had a pint of bitter & I a large dry white wine, & the bill came to just under £48!!! What value for money & so unexpected in this highly recommended hotel.
We also enjoyed an afternoon tea on our first day. This was served in the lounge area & again was fantastic & great value for money. The sandwiches were so fresh & the cakes & scones tasted as though they had just come out of the oven, scrumptious!
Try this hotel & brasserie. We shall be returning & recommending to our friends & family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 35ecnerwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The wild boar sits high on the hill going out of Beeston in an elevated position. The superb black and white building looks like a place of luxury. The inside decor is very tired in some places and needs attention. The staff are extremely polite and attentive.The soup could have been a little hotter ,main meal very basic , The pudding was delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awful service.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

see main report...........bad service and awful delays, No mamagerial response to complaints. Try Stamford Bridge 5 miles away

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank oldedwardian62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brasserie also viewed

 
Bunbury, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to The Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing