We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Tarpoley”
Review of The Swan Tarporley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Swan Tarporley
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A week in Tarpoley”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

A very warm and welcoming pub, great breakfast and dinner.

With a beer garden to the rear and lots of nook and crannies to settle with a pint and a paper

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    154
    35
    20
    9
See reviews for
77
214
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Really enjoyed our one night stay last weekend. The room was spacey and clean with a nice bathroom. What we really enjoyed though was the full english- expertly cooked, nice crispy bacon, warm toast for once & beans with a massive fried egg!!!! I really as fabulous and this is after the very kind manager had booked a last minute taxi whilst rushing through our order. We'll be back. Well done the team at The Swan!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George5Rosie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed at the Swan this Saturday night and had Sunday lunch and the whole experience was lovely - very friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make sure that you had everything you needed, yet didn't intrude and hover. The room was clean, comfortable with tasteful and new decor, not massive but great for us as a couple and the food was really good, especially the breakfast with ingredients sourced locally and enough to feed an army. The decor in the main bar area is looking a bit tired, but that kind of adds to the charm, as I felt really relaxed and not as formal as some good hotels I've stayed in. This is a really nice place to stay if you're up in the Cheshire area, we took a trip to the Candle Works on the Sunday morning, which has everything you could ever need in Wax - a great short break

Room Tip: We stayed in the old stables which are annexed from the main hotel, which is away from the street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateWill76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at the Swan last weekend as a large group of family and friends for our son's wedding in the area. The Swan exceeded our expectations. A meal for 28 was served efficiently and the food was delicious. Breakfast each day was very relaxed with plenty of choice. The rooms were comfortable and clean. All staff were friendly and helpful and there was a good atmosphere all weekend. The hotel is used a lot by locals all through the day and there was a good buzz in the bar area. It was a very good choice and all our group commented on how good it was.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Our stay at the swan was welcoming and very good staff. and all thanks to phobe we got to our freinds wedding on time ! Room clean and tidy not a suite though ! Lovley bed linen and towels and a comfy bed. bathroom only lacked one thing a bath mat for inside the bath rather slippy and nearly fell ! Breakfast was a okay bacon only one piece and streaky ! sausage was slighly undercooked and a the tomato was too large maybe cut them in half ? But ther than that all was good and made to feel welcome thankyou

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luck10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We booked The Swan, Tarporley as we were visiting friends in the area. We arrived on Thursday night and the greeting was warm and the staff were helpful and informative. The 1st we noticed was how great the atmosphere was and there was a real "buzz" about the place.

The room was a nice size, clean and the bed was very comfortable. We ate downstairs where we indulged in the Pork pie and scotch egg (staff recommendations) to start and then we both had the shoulder of Lamb for main course which was delicious.

Breakfast was clearly freshly prepared, a great portion size and again the service was chatty and friendly without being too much. We stayed for 2 nights and were made to feel really welcome. I would definately stay again and will be recommending it to everyone I know.

Well Done

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizDerby64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We arrived tired and weary after a long, three plus hour journey, in the pouring rain about 10 o'clock on a Friday evening. The pub/restaurant was full of hearty revellers and the staff provided a warm welcome. Indeed, they could not have been friendlier nor more helpful, telling us to contact Reception if we needed anything like an iron or hairdryer when they discovered we were going to a wedding the following day. Our room was a bit on the small side but was lovely with wooden beams and crisp, clean linen on the bed.
I was slightly dismayed to find that there was no complimentary shower cap as I'd forgotten to bring one along, but I'm sure that this was a simple oversight and not really a big deal. As I'd been suffering a heavy cold lately, I was also surprised to find no tissues readily available in the room, something which I had never noticed before but remembered were usually always available in decent hotels. The shower in the bathroom was of good strength and standard and we appreciated this greatly.
Sleep quality on the bed was very good although, despite requesting a quiet room, we were woken frequently throughout the night by the sound of church bells every quarter of an hour. Not really the fault of the hotel! Also, we were unfortunate in that the building next door was having a roof put on or repaired and the knocking and banging began about 7am. Very annoying but again, something out of the realm of control of The Swan Management. Breakfast was erring on the side of disappointing. One measly strip of fatty, streaky bacon and the cheapest quality of sausages for the full English meant that I went for simple scrambled eggs on toast on the second morning of our stay. The range of cereal on offer was limited and there were no offers of more toast during breakfast when we quickly devoured what we had had. However, my husband and son had no complaints about the breakfast! I liked the ambience and atmosphere of The Swan, although think some small touches would have gone a long way to making our stay first-class! All that being said, however, I would stay at The Swan again as the staff were lovely and very helpful on every count.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room away from High Street aand ask if there are any neighbouring repairs going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
2.5 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
4.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,729 reviews
7.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Tarporley

Property: The Swan Tarporley
Address: 50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Tarporley 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th century Swan has been welcoming guests through its doors for over 400 years, and was once a convenient resting place for those travelling the 200 miles from London to Chester. Today, our comfortable rooms and welcoming bar and dining areas mean that The Swan continues to be a haven for visitors from far and wide. A regular winner of the Best Kept Village award, Tarporley appears in the Domesday Book of 1086. Back then, Tarporley was home to just eight households, but today is one of the largest villages in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, with antique, curio, craft and fashion shops lining its streets. Some of The Swan’s most historic features are located in its Hunt Room, home to the Tarporley Hunt Club. Founded in 1762, it is the oldest in England. The club historically met twice annually at The Swan, with each meeting lasting seven days and the hunting taking place largely within the nearby Delamere Forest. In the founding set of rules, members were required to drink “three collar bumpers” after both dinner and supper, and, in the event of marriage, to present each club member with a pair of buckskin breeches. The Tarporley Hunt Club still meet once a year today, a quarter of a millennium after Obidiah Lane went hare coarsing with his chums and decided, after much merriment at the Swan, this should happen every year; “We shall meet for the purposes of general conviviality” he declared! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Swan Tarporley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Tarporley Hotel Tarporley
Swan Hotel Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing