We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of The Swan Tarporley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Tarporley
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Had a fanastic weekend they really look after me as i was the groom they ever allowed me to stay in my room till 2 30 on the day of my checkout (married at 3)
The service was great and the staff bend over backwards to accomadate my needs full.marks thanks to the swan

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottop127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband and I arrived after a 5hr journey from Poole, to a lovely welcome yesterday by various members of staff at this hotel, who could not have been more helpful. We found the bedroom to be extremely comfortable with a modernised en-suite which was excellent. We enjoyed a relaxing breakfast with attentive service. We stayed here to meet up with friends & family and would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jpdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

spent one night at The Swan Tarporley for business. Tiny room although had booked a single, TV didn't work - very helpful man came up and spent 10 minutes trying to fix it but to no avail and as hotel was full wasn't able to move me. Some work going on at the hotel and the new sash window fixing with three long sharp screws sticking out came off in my hand. As one of only two single people at breakfast, I sat and waited next to a table of 6 which hadn't been cleared for someone to come and offer tea/coffee but in the end had to walk round the hotel trying to find someone. One person table is situated within hearing distance of kitchen staff/radio.Not impressed. Paid £65 for single room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lathey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great welcoming atmosphere at this historic hotel. All the staff were very helpful, well trained & friendly. We enjoyed drinks and interesting bar snacks in the courtyard beer garden and an excellent evening meal and breakfast. Our bedroom was "tired countryhouse" style but very comfortable and spacious and - oh joy - lighting that actually gave out some light! Tarporley is an interesting town to wander around and you won't find a better pub for a great meal or stopover. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed here for the second time on 14-05-12 and enjoyed a very comfortable night in a pleasant if slightly worn bedroom with cracked windows. I enjoyed a very good evening meal with a colleague despite both our first selections of starters being un available. The food was good quality and served quite quickly.
Sadly breakfast was another experience. All I wanted from the cooked food menu was bacon and poached eggs, yet it took ages for the food to be served. The eggs were fine but the bacon was just streaky rashers so overcooked and dried out that I could not even cut it. The first waitress just ignored my complaint, a second then came over and asked if my food was Ok and offered to replace it. Second time around was the same streaky bacon but properly cooked sadly I had waited so long I had to bolt it down in order to get off to work on time.

Interestingly this was the same problem as the last time I stayed here, on that occasion I was told "that's the way the bacon comes" at least this visit they were able to do it properly on a second attempt!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

A very warm and welcoming pub, great breakfast and dinner.

With a beer garden to the rear and lots of nook and crannies to settle with a pint and a paper

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscoBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Really enjoyed our one night stay last weekend. The room was spacey and clean with a nice bathroom. What we really enjoyed though was the full english- expertly cooked, nice crispy bacon, warm toast for once & beans with a massive fried egg!!!! I really as fabulous and this is after the very kind manager had booked a last minute taxi whilst rushing through our order. We'll be back. Well done the team at The Swan!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George5Rosie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
2.5 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
366 reviews
4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
7.8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Tarporley

Address: 50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range: £57 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Tarporley 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 16th century Swan has been welcoming guests through its doors for over 400 years, and was once a convenient resting place for those travelling the 200 miles from London to Chester. Today, our comfortable rooms and welcoming bar and dining areas mean that The Swan continues to be a haven for visitors from far and wide. A regular winner of the Best Kept Village award, Tarporley appears in the Domesday Book of 1086. Back then, Tarporley was home to just eight households, but today is one of the largest villages in the heart of the Cheshire countryside, with antique, curio, craft and fashion shops lining its streets. Some of The Swan’s most historic features are located in its Hunt Room, home to the Tarporley Hunt Club. Founded in 1762, it is the oldest in England. The club historically met twice annually at The Swan, with each meeting lasting seven days and the hunting taking place largely within the nearby Delamere Forest. In the founding set of rules, members were required to drink “three collar bumpers” after both dinner and supper, and, in the event of marriage, to present each club member with a pair of buckskin breeches. The Tarporley Hunt Club still meet once a year today, a quarter of a millennium after Obidiah Lane went hare coarsing with his chums and decided, after much merriment at the Swan, this should happen every year; “We shall meet for the purposes of general conviviality” he declared! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Swan Tarporley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Tarporley Hotel Tarporley
Swan Hotel Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing