We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't live up to the descriptions”
Review of 2010 Brasserie

2010 Brasserie
Ranked #20 of 36 Restaurants in Tarporley
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the descriptions”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lovely setting. I had high hopes for the restaurant having looked at the menu online but sadly was disappointed.
Service could have been better- our party of 7 arrived separately - the first 2 were offered drinks and menus but on arrival the rest of us had to wait some time for service and the restaurant was quiet.
Wine and pre starter- an asparagus soup -very nice and probably the best part of the meal
Starters were on the whole very nice and well presented - however the mains were a letdown
The. 'Pigs might fly' which advertises crackling was two small cubes of belly pork with really soft soggy skin on top. Chicken from market menu lukewarm at best.
My marshland lemon sole was so salty I actually couldn't eat it and filled up on the sides instead.
The waitress split the carrot side so her tray - used her fingers to put them back in the bowl then gave them to us.
Wine wasn't poured. Ran out of water. No one enquired if everything was ok with the meals.
Puddings were excellent.
On the whole some really good bits but needs to do better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma4652014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    48
    46
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Went for a birthday dinner to the restaurant last week. We were collected by tge Home James service (a wonderful complimentary option if you live close). Sat inthe bar for drinks first and selected our food, from a choice of two menus (fixed price and La Carte). Cant actually fault the food, it was lovely. The restaurant is nicely laid out, staff attentive, food imaginative, portions not huge, so three courses is manageable without feeling stuffed. Were driven home. Definitely we will be back. Under £100 including a bottle of wine and coffee

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank smh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special treat!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Was a bit concerned about the food being too fussy but it was lovely! Great quality and delicious and neither of us could finish!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wedding Day xx”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding at Peckforton castle and it was everything. We could of hoped for and more!!
They staff were fantastic, all our guest enjoyed it and commented on how beautiful the castle was and the food was amazing!!

I wouldn't personally change anything!!
We did have a couple of downfalls though...
Although we were told our Buffett would be put away we didn't expect peoples plates to be taken away half eaten or untouched as guests had got food to keep for later.
Also there was so much cake cut up but we didn't get this to take home?!
The main disappointment for us was after spending lots of money for our weddig the next morning when we went to collect all our bits (center pieces, candles, CDs etc) they were all just dumped in the out house. Tbh look like they just threw everything together. No care was taken. Our flowers were thrown on the floor our candleabras were all tangled.
I was really upset as they cost a lot of money and would of thought they would look after our wedding items better.

On the whole I would relive my day over and over if I could!!

Wish the wine feller wasn't so expensive as we could of definitely used it to continue our evening do!!

It was a perfect day though and everything I ever dreamed of :)

Helpful?
Thank Nicnak2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Would expect more from this lovely location”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We went here to celebrate my moms 80th birthday. We were a party of 7 and despite us having told them before hand that it was a special birthday they made no mention of this during our visit. we all had the indulgent tea, and whilst it was not bad we felt that for the price it was a little lacking. The castle itself is impressive and the service was not bad, but overall the high tea experience could have been better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louisolga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 2010 Brasserie also viewed

Tarporley, Cheshire
Tattenhall, Cheshire
 
Tarporley, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to 2010 Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing