We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous property!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Boar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild Boar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
gloucester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous property!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We have recently returned from a 2 night stay at the hotel and were very impressed with the hotel. Although in a beautiful setting and wonderful views there isn't anything to do around so you need to take your car everywhere. The room was very spacious and clean but the bathroom was a bit dated and could do with a little update and a new shower curtain!!! We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night but were a little disappointed with the food for the money, it was quite expensive but not worth it. The breakfasts were excellent but again little things like the table not being laid properly and things being forgotten to be brought but as these were only minor we didn't feel the need to complain. The staff were great and very friendly. We were on a deal which was good value but not sure if the current tariff is a little high for value. Would definitely stay again under a deal!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    399
    201
    78
    44
See reviews for
140
743
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed here in November for our anniversary - we got married at the Wild Boar three years ago and were happy to see a Groupon deal for our lovely venue!
We upgraded to the bridal suite (normally £200+) which is a large room with a four poster, huge bathroom and great views over the hills. Spotless and very comfy bed. Not sure it's really worth the list price but it was included in the wedding package and a reduced rate this time so we were more than happy!
We enjoyed the champagne afternoon tea in the lounge and it was great. More food than we could eat, very cute little sandwiches and tasty champers - def recommended!
As someone else mentioned, quite odd for a hotel but they stop serving food at 7pm on a Sunday so we went out for a curry to the Red Fox down the road (nice buffet)
Breakfast was great - buffet style and plenty of choice.
We loved our return trip here. We had an amazing wedding, our guests commented on how nice the venue was, staff made us very welcome, and the standards are clearly still high.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here for a birthday treat and wot a treat it was. We booked the rooms at a discount and this was well worth the money as the hotel is beautiful. I noticed however the normal rate for a double room is £155 a night which I think is a little overpriced. This does include breakfast, and the breakfast is fantastic! So much choice, hot and cold and everything cooked perfectly.
The room was lovely, a good size and tastefully decorated. We stayed on the sat and sun night and on the sat there was a wedding on at the hotel so the hotel was fully booked, I was really expecting to be kept awake but we had a perfect nights sleep!
The staff were wonderful, they couldn't do enough to help and were so polite and friendly. The only downside was that the kitchen closes at 7pm on a Sunday and there isn't anywhere nearby to go to eat and so just seemed a little early to stop serving food. We still ate there and the food was great. We had dinner from the bar menu the day before too and this was also of a very good standard.
I highly recommend this hotel and hope to go back for another relaxing break very soon!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireLady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed here on a groupon deal, included a lovely champagne afternoon tea (my diet went awol), room and breakfast. We had dinner in the brasserie, fabulous food and service in contemporary surroundings. All staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, we were made to feel very welcome. The room was clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, including view over the cow filled fields towards the castle. Great breakfast buffet which set us up for a day of sightseeing in the area, then over to Cheshire Oaks for some retail therapy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roostorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

What a beautiful setting and historic building. We recently spent two nights here and were treated so well. The staff are so friendly, service is great and the food so delicious. The full English breakfast left us set up for the day and dinner was a real treat. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

This hotel looks stunning from the outside but the attention to detail inside is lacking. Checking in was easy and prompt, first impressions of the room were good untill you start to notice things. We were in room 9 which is one of the suites. The wallpaper is covered in paint splashes and has exceptionally poor joins. It makes the whole room look shabby. It could also do with a good high clean and dusting. In saying this the bathroom was immaculate but had nowhere to hang the towels. Bed was comfy, tv good, and very peaceful. We had a similar experience at the bar as other guests - no one there, and had to run about to try and find someone. Breakfast is good and of good quality. Service throughout the hotel seemed a bit of a hit or miss. We asked reception to book us a taxi on our first day and the response was effectively no, go and phone one yourself, here are some numbers. A travelodge will even phone a taxi for its guests. I have had better experiences at travelodge and holiday inn and they are half the price. Would i stay here again if in the area...im not sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stooosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Spent two days at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it.
From the time we checked in to the time we checked out all the staff were very friendly and very helpfull. Food was excellent.
The Hotel is really nice, situated in beautifull location.
lots to do out and about.
Would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katieshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
2.2 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#1 of 5 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
4.7 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 5 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
11.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Boar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Boar Hotel

Property: Wild Boar Hotel
Address: Whitchurch Road | Nr Beeston, Tarporley CW6 9NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Boar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wild Boar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wild Boar
Wild Boar Tarporley
Wild Boar Hotel Tarporley, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing