We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely afternoon tea !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Boar Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Wild Boar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
321 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Saw this on groupon and the picture of the building alone made me buy a voucher . We enjoyed a lovely drive into Cheshire and upon parking we were totally awestruck by this amazing tudor style building .

We entered the building to be greeted by a lovely member of staff who was very attentive , he took us to our seats and asked did we want tea or coffee he brought our drinks and not long followed by our lovely afternoon tea . 4 sandwiches , 2 scones with jam & cream , 2 shortbread biscuits , mini eclairs and donut . We have enjoyed afternoon tea in many locations and its really hard to compare and maybe we shouldnt but to me the location / building is so lovely it was half of the experience before our tea and the afternoon tea was delightful .

We would recommend , would return and really glad we went .i'd also like to add that the staff were lovely and you could see how busy they were but they still had time to give there personal touch .

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank minxycookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    399
    201
    78
    44
See reviews for
140
743
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the 5th July for an evening, on booking the room we booked a family one as that was all that was left at £115 a night, on arrival we was greeted with a double room, bed was smaller than a double so found price we paid rather high for what we got as we struggled to fit properly into the bed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah150986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Easy to find. View on arrival was fab. Large carpark at front. Friendly welcome. Booked on a groupon for 2nights, value for money. 1st night very busy in restaurant as had pre-wedding party in for next day (waited 45 mins between courses!) But food was delicious when it arrived. Room very clean n spacious we were up n out the back overlooking fields. Unfortunately didn't use spa so can't comment. Staff friendly. Would recommend when using a groupon as found it quite pricy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Beautiful Tudor building. Our room was way out at the back of the building so it was quiet but view was of a field with a few rolls of barbed wire in it. The room itself was nice, clean, spacious enough, clean bathroom. Short drive into tarporley with plenty of choice of restaurants and pubs with food although not much life under 50. Only came for one night so didn't bother getting taxi to Chester as it probably would have cost more than our meal out. After reading other reviews we ip dog dipped to chose a driver as taxis are supposedly £10 anywhere any distance in Tarporly. Would stay again as some lovely places to visit around here especially if you like history, we trekked and explored Beeston castle. Lovely hotel and good value as we booked off groupon and got it for less than half price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarebear1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tommypip
Level Contributor
166 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Took my husband for afternoon tea with a wowcher. We love eating out, love afternoon tea and having drives out. I would not have paid full price for this afternoon tea, but on a deal it was a nice little deal and cannot complain.

Beautiful building, very similar to the Hillbark Hotel on the Wirral. Lovely surrounding area, plenty of parking.

We walked into the building thro9ugh the brasserie entrance and had to find a member of staff. Waiter asked if we wanted tea or coffee within a few minutes, but not what our food requests were, and not offered any menus (we usually order additional drinks and food). I didn't get chance to specify veggie option, so had to send first sandwiches back. Waiter very friendly.

Afternoon tea for 2 consisted of 4 sandwiches, 2 scones (dry, shop bought) 2 jams, 1 cream, 4 Iceland-style profiteroles and 2 shortbread biscuits. No cakes. Was a perfectly edible but strange afternoon tea, and whilst I was perfectly happy with the wowcher price, there is no way I would pay full price for this afternoon tea.

Compare this to my experience at the Samslebury hotel last month, where the wowcher afternoon tea was stunning and we will visit again.

The atmosphere was strange, just us and one another couple in a small alcove. We rushed and left, whereas usually we order extra drinks and food.

The venue is lovely, staff nice, but I think they need to improve the standard of the afternoon teas to get repeat custom, otherwise people just come the once on a voucher deal and do not return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seahorsesparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed at the wild boar 4/7/14 . The hotel looks fabulous from outside with its Tudor style . The rooms are very nice and the food in the restaurant is very nice and very good breakfast . The rooms are slightly old fashioned for my taste but very clean .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassocks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our fifth time at The Wild Boar Hotel. Each time we are greeted by accommodating and friendly staff, namely the beautiful receptionist Cath.

The rooms are a good size, not too small, and clean - there is not a great deal of storage but this would only become a problem if you were staying for longer than a few nights. Flat screen TV and coffee/tea making facilities are stocked up each day. The beds are a little hard so be prepared to ache a little in the morning :-). There is a shower and bath in every room - the water is piping hot at all times - and the towels are soft and white.

The stunning location, for us, is a great base to explore surrounding areas - from Wales to the Peak District (just over an hour way).

The breakfast is amazing, you can gorge yourself on the buffet style Full English breakfast or simply fruit, toast or cereal if you prefer. The lovely Debbie and Chrissy, in the restaurant, help to start your day with a smile and cater to your every whim - if you want a fresh dippy egg then they'll get it for you.

In short, we love this hotel and have already discussed going back in a few weeks time. We simply can't stay away!

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views although on the ground floor you tend to look out onto a hedge and som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
2.2 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#1 of 5 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
4.7 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 5 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
11.4 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Boar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Boar Hotel

Property: Wild Boar Hotel
Address: Whitchurch Road | Nr Beeston, Tarporley CW6 9NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Boar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wild Boar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wild Boar
Wild Boar Tarporley
Wild Boar Hotel Tarporley, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing