We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overnight stay except for noise”
Review of Peckforton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peckforton Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed at peck fronton castle last night then went on landrover experience today. The whole stay was fabulous staff so often criticised on trip advisor were top notch, friendly, helpful and very professional and well trained and presented at all times. Bedroom ( family) was extremely good and clean,warm and comfortable massive six foot bed glorious, whole aspect of hotel bars spa events were superb but the food is too die for a real culinary gem, expensive but well worth it everyone treated the same courteous way from premier and foreign footballers to janitors staying in hotel treatment was the same high standard lots and lots to try and do lovely Spa area Landrover experience continued the excellence trend and is well worth a go for special occasion. The only thing that has spoilt our stay was the fact there was a very noisy wedding right next to our room, with guest shouting,talking and arguing right outside our window.
Not all the fault of hotel how people behave but if you wish to avoid these situations but still wish to go to peck fronton, which I would recommend highly, ask when you book if there is a function or play safe and go midweek if possible. That is the only reason I have not given five stars would have given ten on most things especially food, chef is a legend please don't be put off it's definitely worth a visit

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank meadowspete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for the kind review. So glad you were impressed by your stay and lovely to note how friendly and welcome my team made you feel. Sorry about the noisy guests, as you say it is not easy to prevent this. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 2,218 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We first stayed in February andhad a really terrible time shower flooded bathroom mouldy walls in bathroom TV didn't work staff unhelpful and rude so wrote to thdgeneral manager who invited us back to try again. Nearly didn't take him up on it as that wasn't why we complained however eventually went back this week. Although better than before the room was tiny and extremely hot with only a tiny window that opened and have come to the conclusion that it's not really a hotel for just staying in but an events centre where you are there for some other reason as theres nowhere really to just sitand relax especially if there is an event on. The food is excellent though which helps offset the disappointment. Like a previous review I have worked in manyhotels in senior positions and know what to expect. Won't be recommending this to friends though and will not consider it for a wedding.




  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for the review. Sorry to hear that we didn't quite get things right again. We work within the confines of a grade 1 listed building and therefore the windows are small, as per the original castle, but unchangeable. Good to read that you enjoyed the food but of course disappointed to read that you will not return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just arrived back from two nights at this wonderful hotel. We arrived on Tuesday and had booked the his & hers classic package for Wednesday morning and raptor encounter for the Wednesday afternoon. We originally spotted this hotel on secret escapes but on trying to book the days we wanted the hotel was not on offer anymore on that web site. We decided we would book direct and pay the extra.
It was a little expensive but in my opinion it was money well spent we enjoyed every minute we also got a workout everyday as our room was Broxton 401 which was a lot of stairs.
The his & her classic was a 45 minute facial using elemis products and was very relaxing but the 45minutes went really quick. After the facial they do recommend products to buy which are quite expensive but it's your choice if you want to purchase.
Really enjoyed the falconry Carl the hawk and the owl (can't remember the name ) were amazing, then we got to handle spuds the vulture and the eagle both these birds are very heavy.
We had dinner in the 1851 restaurant on first night and enjoyed the 3 course meal for £25
Second night we tried 2010 brasserie and was not disappointed with the food there either.
Breakfast full English cereal fruit and tea and toast all good there.
Could not fault the staff all very friendly.
I will go again and maybe try the Land Rover experience

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thanks for the fantastic and comprehensive write up. Always a pleasure to read when a guest has a truly memorable experience with us. We hope you come visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Castle is amazing and very magical. We had a gorgeous room with a fabulous bathroom. All the staff we met were charming, although service was sometimes a little on the slow side. However it in no way spoilt the experience as we were never in a rush. The food was delicious and well presented on lovely china. This is a family run Castle, not a small bit of a large chain, so it will never, thankfully, be like any other hotel. We will definately be staying again.
Suzie and Roger

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs, it is a castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SUZIE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Great to read how much you enjoyed the Castle and the unique environment it offers. Thank you for posting a review, do come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We are currently still staying at the hotel in room 402, the room is in the tower and is very nice with lots of character.
We came on a secret escape package with half board which we found ok for the price but the only things that let this hotel down are :
Service is dreadful especially in the brasserie..the food is poor and the staff are slow and as far as I can see not trained.
My wife used to work at the Sheraton hotel in Abu Dhabi and knows how service should be applied and this hotel is way short on standards in certain areas...we were also thinking of using this hotel for our English wedding but seeing the overall package,standard of service and the food
we have decided not to bother.. It's a shame because it's a really mejestic hotel in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Such a shame that tripadvisor takes 24 hours to display a review, as if we had seen this whilst you were still in house or if you brought it to our attention during your stay, we would have had the opportunity to implement some service recovery and perhaps ahnge your views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Spent a great weekend here. Very relaxing, so quiet. Service, food, room all great. Cannot fault anything. Can't wait to revisit. Really thinking about doing the Landrover experience if we go again, also loved the birds of prey.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robw800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thanks for the fab review, you know you're welcome back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Peckforton castle has the opportunity to be absolutely amazing, but something just lets it down, its missing the 'wow' factor. Service not all that, had afternoon tea here, and an evening meal in the brasserie, nothing special about either. Breakfast was good plenty of selection. Our room had a cracked window, and the curtain was hanging off the pole, and cobwebs around the room. We left a feedback form with reception which stated any complaints would be dealt with by the manager contacting us, which they never did, so we were rather disappointed with our stay. Such a shame as I had been wanting to stay here for a while. It was an alright stay, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloelouise1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A, General Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thanks for the review. I was sorry to read that you found your visit just average. Sounds like there were some oversights in your room which I will pick up with my housekeeping team. I do hope it won't put you off returning in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
5.4 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,213 reviews
8 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
507 reviews
4.9 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peckforton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Tarporley
Price Range: £144 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Peckforton Castle Tarporley, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing