We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Country Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Nice comfortable hotel with an excellant restaurant, but pricy. Breakfast was average and service was slow. Bar drinks were very expensiveand not a great selection of beers/lagers. There was a charge for using a credit card. However, staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruaraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod-Latham, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Sital80,

Thank you for your review. We were delighted that you choose to stay with us for 3 nights recently.

Our Ranulf restaurant has been awarded 2AA rosettes for fine food and the quality of the ingredients used is of the highest standard. With this in mind I was surprised to read you felt the restaurant was expensive with a 3 course meal in this award winning restaurant being available at only £25 per person. We do believe that is excellent value for the quality on display and I was sorry that you did not agree with us on this occassion.

We are currently reviewing our pricing for the bar and we will take into account all guest comments whilst comparing our prices with establishments of the same high standard.

I was disappointed you felt the breakfast was average as we have spend a lot of time sourcing the highest quality produce and we continue to invest in our team and service standards, which has, on the whole resulted in very favourable comments.

On the plus side I was delighted you commended the staff on their helpfulness and will be sure to pass this on to the team as well.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,837 - 1,843 of 2,003 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

Lovely hotel and restaurant, just totally let down by really cheap and nasty towels that were frayed and worn. The bedding was equally poor. Not what we would expect from such a lovely hotel and not considering the price we paid for the room.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandadbriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerrod-Latham, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Grandadbriano,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Macdonald Portal Golf, Hotel & Spa. I was delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay and you enjoyed the quality of the experience, the restaurant and the hotel in general. I was disappointed that you felt let down by the quality of the bedding and towels and have reviewed your comments with our laundry company. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention and I hope you we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Portal in the not so distant future.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

At the end of my stay, I paid the bill by debit card, the amount was instantly taken from my account and a bill paid was given at the desk. I then went to withdraw funds from a banklink machine only to be told that in the account I had plenty of money but had "insufficient funds."
After speaking to my bank they informed me that Macdonald Portal hotel had put a block on my account amounting to near 3 times the bill that I had already paid! On contacting the hotel asking why this had been done without informing me "no" satisfactory answer was given and that the block would not be taken off for eight days approx. I wrote a letter for an explanation this was ignored. SO BEWARE PAYING A HOTEL BILL BY DEBIT CARD you may be without funds for over a week, which can be embarrasing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maurice a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Comfortable hotel for business trip, with spacious, well appointed rooms and friendly, helpful staff.
Room service food was very average, as was breakfast. Breakfast service was very slow.
Shelf space in bathroom is limited.
Bring your own toiletries as those provided are not great.

Room Tip: As rooms are on a corridor just off the bar, probably best to ask for a room far from the bar to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ynca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

A great value two night stay including dinner, breakfast and treatments. All staff were very helpful. The spa facilities were lovely especially the relaxation lounge. The swimming pool was busy but this may have been due to it being half term.
The food served at both dinner and breakfast was of a high standard. As a vegetarian more choices would have been nice.
Overall a great place for a relaxing break with friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

1/10/11 - My wife and i could not have had a more perfect day. Portal have looked after us since we decided to have our wedding here and everything went smoothly. The staff are extremely helpful, friendly and professional. The rooms are high quality and the food both during our wedding reception and breakfast was excellent. Portal are well equipped to handle a wedding and have had plenty of practice. It definitely shows. We trusted them with our big day and they did not disappoint. I would highly recommend this venue as the golf course and views provide beautiful back drop for pictures. The spa has fantastic facilities and your guests will be impressed by the whole place. Have a look and you will see for yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chopperettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is the first time we'd stayed at a MacDonald hotel and I'm already looking for other hotels in the chain. It's refreshing to find such excellent customer service and such excellent quality in a chain hotel. From the minute we checked in every member of staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and unusually weren't Eastern European. The rooms here are large, beautifully furnished and equipped and spotlessly clean. Our dinner in the restaurant was a shock - it was excellent - of gourmet standard - certainly not the usual bland hotel restaurant type of food. Breakast the next morning was delicious too - loads of choice at the buffet and individually cooked full English breakfasts to follow using quality ingredients.
As to the golf - there are two courses. We played the Premiership on day one which we found to be very good although sadly the greens had been hollow cored which was a disappointment but it was that time of the year and greens do need to be treated.
Day two we played the Championship course. This looks really dreary from the hotel car park so we were totally surprised when we set off to find ourselves on a stunning parkland course with so many different and extemely interesting holes to enjoy. Two of the par threes are exceptionally good holes - real signature holes. The greens on this course were in excellent condition - i don't expect there are many hotel courses that would have such good greens in late September or to think of it at any time of the year. Hotel course greens are usually well below par but not so here. If you do get a choice try and play the Championship on day two.

If you're looking for a good short golf break then Portal is for you. Incidentally the lovely village of Tarporley is less than a mile away with some great local pubs for pre dinner drinks at good prices.
If you're looking for a hotel to stay at in the Tarporley area then I'd heartily recommend this one. For non golfers the pool, gym and spa really do look fantastic - we didn't have time to try any of these though.
All in all a perfect short break with good friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coreleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
0.6 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
498 reviews
8.8 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,022 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
12.6 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

Address: Cobblers Cross Lane, Tarporley CW6 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range: £83 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the heart of the Cheshire Countryside yet within easy access from the main motorways and towns, The Macdonald Portal Hotel,Golf and Spa is the perfect base to explore Cheshire and its many attractions and places of interest. Whether you are visiting for a pampering experience in the luxurious Spa, a round of golf on one of the two challenging golf courses or indeed a gourmet break enjoying the finest foods in 2 AA Rosette Ranulf Restaurant, Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa has something to offer for the entire family. Portal is also the home of the first Lee Westwood Golf School in the UK and offers a combination of three golf courses and an onsite golf academy. The conference and banqueting facilities have hosted many a prestigious event and both the Castle and Waterstone Suites offer the most wonderful venue for the perfect wedding celebration. A venue for all occasions, the hotel offers 85 sumptuous bedrooms, a state of the art Health, Fitness and Beauty Spa which includes an 18 meter swimming pool, advanced Technogym equipment and a thermal suite with rock sauna, aroma steam bath, ice room and salt infusion sauna. Why not dine in our fine restaurant with its 2 AA rosettes and views across the Cheshire plains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf Hotel Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf And Spa Tarporley, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing