We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great spa weekend”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We have just returned from a stay at the Portal Spa in Cheshire and would like to let other trippers what a great hotel this is. We booked it through Spabreak Direct - the rooms were fab, we stayed in the upgraded Feature rooms which each had a roomy balcony and these rooms are really luxurious, lovely bathroom, lovely linen - it had everything. Very well run and staff were attentive without getting in the way. We decided to upgrade here as friends had stayed and recommended the Feature Rooms although the Classic rooms are really good. Food was superb, both the evening dinner and a fab full English in the morning - give the Stornoway black pudding a shot, it's delicious. We had relaxing treatments down in the spa in the morning which were included in the spa break and which were lovely and it is worth going to Relaxation room afterwards for a proper chillout. We would love to have stayed an extra night but had business commitments the next day. We will be returning, definitely for two nights next time and hopefully for their New Year's Eve bash!

Room Tip: Go for the Feature Room with balcony, it's their top room type, size of a normal Suite but no se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    614
    326
    175
    123
See reviews for
254
694
32
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Went on a girls spa weekend to celebrate a belated birthday. Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds. Was welcomed by a very friendly, professional & helpful young man on reception. Room was decorated very nicely & quite large, beds comfortable and everything very clean. Spa & pool facilities were excellent apart from the fact that it was extremely hot and not enough water fountains around. Especially as you are told by the beauticians to keep hydrated after treatments. There are 2 chill out or relaxing areas on the spa floor, 1 more of a cafe style, with tables and chairs, the other a more relaxing, quiet, lazy slouch and chaise longue style chairs. The only problem again was lack of drink options. The kitchen/cafe style room only had Nescafe coffee sachets or standard tea bags (no decaf options or fruit/herbal teas) and No cold drinks, not even water. No fruit,snacks or anything. The relaxation room was dark,cozy with duvets & blankets but this had a fruit bowl & the only water urn on the floor. People had to keep coming in to get their glasses of water, which disturbed those relaxing, sleeping etc. Also eating crunchy apples in a quiet room where you can hear a pin drop is maybe a bad idea ;-)
The restaurant was very busy on the Saturday night & there was a "slight" delay (not that we noticed,) it was pointed out by the manager who was very apologetic & refilled our glasses courtesy of the hotel, which was a very nice gesture. The breakfast (buffet & cooked options) were very good quality. Throughout our stay, the staff where all very polite, friendly, happy & professional & nothing was too much trouble. making everyone their feel special and welcome. Thoroughly enjoyed the treatments & the whole experience :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Just returned from a girls' break at the Portal Spa with 4 friends. It was all lovely and good value. Nothing at all to complain about, can't praise too highly. Beautiful countryside setting, rooms and bathrooms well furnished and equipped. Dinner and breakfast were freshly cooked, hot, good portions and high quality ingredients. Pool, spa facilities and treatments were excellent.Very professional, and fluffy robes and towels. From start to finish every member of staff was welcoming, pleasant and polite. Very high levels of customer service. Adam on reception, in particular, was very good. From check-in to leaving nothing was too much trouble, he even played "official photographer" for our group photo when we were leaving. Thanks everybody, really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyRa2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mcdonald Portal at the end of September as part of a Golf Break and I had a Spa Package as a non-golfer.

The Spa was very nice, I was greeted in a friendly manner by the Manager and the Receptionist who both went out of their way to double check my treatments as there seemed to be some confusion but this was due to Golf Breaks.Com who organised my treatment. However, this was resolved and after a swim and sauna I had a wonderful back, neck and shoulder massage and a very relaxing facial. I was particularly impressed with the Relaxation Room where I spent sometime after my treatments. This has to be one of the most relaxing ones I have been in (and I have visited three Spa's this year).

Our room was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had breakfast and a three course evening meal included in the package, the food was very good. Only downside was the fact that the eight golfers had been booked on a table for the evening meal and I had been booked on a table for one, couldn't understand this as the booking was all under one name. However, I this was resolved and I did eat with the group.

I would have no hesitation in staying here again in the future.

On a golfing note, there are two courses and apparently the course which is separate to the hotel was in my husband's opinion the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggywiggy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I only stayed here for business as hotels in Crewe were all fully booked. The grounds and hotel itself is fairly pleasant. The rooms are quite nice, but the door handle fell off my bathroom and was left lying on the floor when I arrived back the following evening. The pool is of a decent size and there are two saunas, two steam rooms and an ice room. So far so good. I was checked in by a sullen girl who didn't even acknowledge me when I arrived as she was on the phone. The restaurant was staffed by inexperienced and ineffective young men. Service was not particularly quick. I didn't bother with breakfast as it was extortionate at £17.95. Check out took 15 minutes due to a problem with the bill - for which there was no apology. The private road leading out was quite slippery (not icy) so take care!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Accompanying my other half for a conference weekend, I was pleasantly surprised by the lovely location and views from the drive in. The nearby village was an absolute delight too. Our room was very acceptable, and above all one of the quietest night's sleep in a hotel. I cannot speak too highly of the very smart spa, and all the staff were very hospitable. There were ongoing problems with beer taps being frozen, but a very decent stay in all, and better than the average chain.

Room Tip: Top floor, far end! Would not imagine the suites [with balcony] were worth it, given the view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill and Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Only stayed there for one night during October on a B&B basis only. So difficult to give a detailed opinion. Our room was clean enough and breakfast the following morning was of a standard matching the hotel's rating.
We had an issue with some bed linen, which was quickly dealt with by house keeping and the bar area was not particular warm, which meant staying only for one drink, before retiring for the night.
Apart from these two minor points, i would reccomed a stay short break stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noeyedeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
0.6 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
481 reviews
12.6 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.8 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

Property: Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Address: Cobblers Cross Lane, Tarporley CW6 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the heart of the Cheshire Countryside yet within easy access from the main motorways and towns, The Macdonald Portal Hotel,Golf and Spa is the perfect base to explore Cheshire and its many attractions and places of interest. Whether you are visiting for a pampering experience in the luxurious Spa, a round of golf on one of the two challenging golf courses or indeed a gourmet break enjoying the finest foods in 2 AA Rosette Ranulf Restaurant, Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa has something to offer for the entire family. Portal is also the home of the first Lee Westwood Golf School in the UK and offers a combination of three golf courses and an onsite golf academy. The conference and banqueting facilities have hosted many a prestigious event and both the Castle and Waterstone Suites offer the most wonderful venue for the perfect wedding celebration. A venue for all occasions, the hotel offers 85 sumptuous bedrooms, a state of the art Health, Fitness and Beauty Spa which includes an 18 meter swimming pool, advanced Technogym equipment and a thermal suite with rock sauna, aroma steam bath, ice room and salt infusion sauna. Why not dine in our fine restaurant with its 2 AA rosettes and views across the Cheshire plains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf Hotel Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf And Spa Tarporley, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing