We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here overnight to attend AGM of a Macdonald's timeshare.
We opted for a deal which included a 3 course dinner. Food was excellent, although our cooked breakfast arrived when we were still eating cereals.
Room was very comfortable with a large bed and decent sized bathroom.
Swimming pool was a good size, can't speak for the rest of the Spa as the other facilities were closed for maintenance. Didn't try any treatments, but might another time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmettraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear gourmettraveller77,

Thank you for your nice review following the Plas Talgarth AGM at Portal last week. We were delighted to host the event and indeed to read your lovely comments following your stay.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future so you can enjoy all our facilities to their full extend including our lovely spa treatments. The AGM has been re-booked at Portal for next year so should you not have the opportunity to return before than we certainly look forward to seeing you again next year.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    612
    326
    175
    123
See reviews for
253
692
32
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wombourne
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Two golf courses, condition ok but not really AOK, greens slow, hotel rooms very good, food poor, bar prices expensive, 2 beers and a half of coke circa £11, nice weekend with good company but the courses are not up to scratch and the food and drink are overpriced for what it is, beware!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Allan C,

Thanks for your assessment. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy the courses as much as most of our guests. The overwhelming feedback has been that the Premier Course in particular has been in a fantastic condition all year and still is, despite the extreme rainfall of late. The Championship course greens are currently very fast in particular for the time of year.

Our food quality is usually very highly rated and I am sorry to read it wasn't to your taste, as is the variety and quality of the beverages on offer and indeed in line with upper 4 star hotel standards and pricing.

We value your comments and hope that you will return to Portal at some time in the near future - (our course is open 12 months a year and we don't play of winter tees or greens at the Championship Course.)

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel and room was very clean, quiet and spacious the staff polite, the Bed was very hard however on request a quilt was folded up under the sheet for the second night which helped a bit. I was pleased to see a vegetarian breakfast on the menu, unfortunately the tomato, mushroom and egg were cold and under cooked both days the vegetarian sausages were made of carrots and other veg which was quite peculiar for breakfast. The meat breakfast my husband had was nice apparently but make sure you are specific about what you want as they will bring the bare minimum otherwise, luckily the continental breakfast was quite good. Our breakfast was included in the room price but I would of been very disgruntled to of paid £18 each per day for it. The spa was very clean and the steam rooms and saunas very good. the pool was large but cold, the showers had a fragrance and drench facility which was nice. The Ice room wasn't working on our visit apart from the cold shower. There is no Jacuzzi at this hotel. The spa treatments are quite expensive and even with the £10 off voucher we decided to give them a miss. We chose not to drink or eat at the bar as the food and drinks were expensive luckily there are some lovely pubs a miles walk away in Tarporley and some nice restaurants.
There is very little phone/mobile internet reception at the hotel and we had a slight emergency which required family members contacting us via the room phone....for some reason they were unable to be put through to our room phone but reception were happy to put us through at a charge to us of course :/ Could of been a better stay as it was we didn't spend a huge amount of time there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsABR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear MrsABR,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I was pleased to see your high rating on the cleanliness standards at the hotel and spa and indeed the spaciousness of the rooms. Delighted the team was helpful in finding a solution to your personal taste of the mattress.

We do offer a fantastic range of all inclusive packages, the best way to enjoy all Portal has to offer, enjoy Dinner, Bed and Breakfast and treatments or golf at fantastic value for money without paying the ' a la carte' rates. Try our Sugar and Spice Spa Day or the Early Eagle Golf package all available from our website.

I was sorry to hear about your emergency and will look into the telephone connection. We do offer complimentary broadband in the rooms and are working on wifi connectivity.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Portal.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
accrington , England
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We came here for a secret escape spa weekend , was greeted when we got there with cream tea & scones in the lounge til 4pm , the rooms were lovely , comfortable spacious and clean with water and a free bottle of wine ! We didn't book our dinner which I would advise in advance as it gets busy we waited til 8.45 to be seated but comments on the restaurant were a bit harsh , we couldn't fault the food or the service bit slow but nothing drastic and the food was delish !! The staff couldn't do enough for you .. Breakfast til 11am so no rush ! Really enjoyed our stay will definatly be back in the future :-))

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Sharwoods,

Thank you for your review. Nice to read you had a nice secret escape to the country. We hope you will return soon.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

It is hard to fault this hotel. We stayed as a couple for a spa break at the end of October and loved it. I’d recommend booking through Secret Escapes with the afternoon tea and £10 voucher redeemable against golf/spa purchases over £35. The staff were very welcoming and friendly.

The gym is great and has a good amount of equipment including treadmills, bikes, rowing machines, kettle bells and free weights (up to 38kg). There were some classes while we were there which looked good. The spa and swimming pool are great. There are five different sauna/steam room options, including an ice room for the very brave (or mad!). The spa has a good range of beauty treatments and they had offers on some treatments on weekdays. You can buy Decleor products and Jessica nail polish in a wide range of colours. I had a 1hour full body massage after checking out and the staff invited me to stay for the rest of the day and use the facilities – including complimentary tea/coffee in the spa lounge. Although the phone reception and wifi is weak, I didn’t mind as I wanted a break from it all anyway!

The breakfast buffet was good, all continental on offer and hot breakfasts are cooked to order. This was a good idea as it meant the breakfast room didn’t get warm with all the hot plates. I had porridge which came in a stoneware pot that kept it warm – perfect!

We had cream tea included in our voucher which was delicious. We rarely needed to show our voucher as the staff were all very discrete and had lists of all guest requirements and discounts. There are lots of lounge areas in the hotel so it never felt busy or overcrowded.

A great find in Cheshire, tucked away between their three golf courses and lovely views even in the rain!

Travel tip: the hotel car park would be tricky to find if it's dark!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catriona86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Catriona86,

Fabulous to hear you found our hidden gem and thanks for describing it so accurately for future guests. The secret escape offer is also available direct with alll best available offers always on our website. We look forward to welcoming you back to Portal in the near future.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were very impressed from the moment we arrived - the hotel is situated on the outskirts of a lovely Cheshire village. We chose this from Secret Escapes, which included a cream tea (yummy warm scones and lashings of cream!!). Gaynor, the Reception Manager very kindly found us a room with a 6' bed as we don't like the 4'6" variety which was on offer with our deal. From the moment of arriving, everyone was so polite and went the extra mile. We ate in the restaurant that evening and the dishes were all freshly cooked and of very good quality. Breakfast was also designed to be a dining experience, rather than the motorway service station buffet style so often seen in hotel chains. Each meal was freshly prepared and served plated and you could really taste the difference. Maybe if you are greedy, this isn't so good (although there is a buffet for cereals, continental and fruits). Adam, the catering manager seemed genuinely pleased to serve and help the guests, again, not often seen in larger hotel chains.
Whilst here, I had forgotten to pack a cleanser and luckily the Spa sold Decleor products, a bit expensive but excellent quality. Ashleigh, the Spa girl also gave me some samples of other products in the range, as it is great to be able to try before you buy, especially when you have sensitive skin.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and it was, based on our stay, offering better value, service and quality than another well known 4* hotel fairly nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeattree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Janeattree,

Thank you for your kind review following your short break with us. Adam, Gaynor and Ashleigh over the moon with their special mentions, albeit all our beds are 6ft long. Delighted you had such a wonderful stay, enjoyed the food, spa and service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyfall
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Booked via secret escapes for a one night stay including dinner and breakfast. Classic room very spacious and comfortable. Dinner included and good although the country menu a little limited. Good breakfast included would normally be £17.50 pp. Generally impressed except for one thing. No wireless connection, told it is in progress and available soon. Not good for an establishment of this quality. And secondly, not their fault, but the reception for ALL mobile operators is impossible, frustrating to say the least

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Tonyfall,

Thank you for your review and nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed in the process of providing complimentary wifi, in the meantime offer complimentary broadband in the bedrooms. Delighted you enjoyed the rest of your stay and please do visit again. Whilst a secret escape offer is run from time to time, there are offers similar to these on our website throughout the year, be it for leisure and spa, golf or just a break away.

Hope to see you again soon.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
0.6 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
480 reviews
12.6 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.8 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

Property: Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Address: Cobblers Cross Lane, Tarporley CW6 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the heart of the Cheshire Countryside yet within easy access from the main motorways and towns, The Macdonald Portal Hotel,Golf and Spa is the perfect base to explore Cheshire and its many attractions and places of interest. Whether you are visiting for a pampering experience in the luxurious Spa, a round of golf on one of the two challenging golf courses or indeed a gourmet break enjoying the finest foods in 2 AA Rosette Ranulf Restaurant, Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa has something to offer for the entire family. Portal is also the home of the first Lee Westwood Golf School in the UK and offers a combination of three golf courses and an onsite golf academy. The conference and banqueting facilities have hosted many a prestigious event and both the Castle and Waterstone Suites offer the most wonderful venue for the perfect wedding celebration. A venue for all occasions, the hotel offers 85 sumptuous bedrooms, a state of the art Health, Fitness and Beauty Spa which includes an 18 meter swimming pool, advanced Technogym equipment and a thermal suite with rock sauna, aroma steam bath, ice room and salt infusion sauna. Why not dine in our fine restaurant with its 2 AA rosettes and views across the Cheshire plains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf Hotel Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf And Spa Tarporley, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing