We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Had a one night spa package,pool area facilities good,Hot stone massage brilliant,food in the restaurant was excellent (evening & breakfast),service very good,room size was good.The staff were very pleasant & professional throughout.Bar prices are high ,but overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikemWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Mikemwarrington,

Thanks for your great review. Great to read you had a fabuolous spa break with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Don't forget our fantastic spa and gift vouchers, a fantastic Christmas treat for family and friends! (or to spoil yourself a little!)

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,977)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,534 - 1,540 of 1,977 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

Good hotel ideal for golf break with two courses on doorstep. One a 2 minute drive away the other a 2 minute walk.Rooms clean, good sized with comfortable beds.I stayed as part of a group of golfers food was good although portions at dinner a bit on the small side.Breakfast good but service was very slow if you weren't down early.We went into Chester for one night about 20 minutes in a taxi,cheaper drink and livelier than hotel even though hotel was full. Overall a good hotel which I would return to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear MurrayM,

Great to hear you had a great time during your recent golf break. Portal is known for its great courses and we are fortunate to have two 'number one' courses at the resort. Regardless of the season or the weather we are locally known as 'the golf course which never closes' and indeed on the Championship course there are no mats or temporary greens in winter a real bonus for the golfers.

For those not into golf there is plenty to do in and around the hotel, shopping, walking, fishing and of course relaxing in the spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Portal in the near future.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Good hotel - stayed before for a spa break. Good facilities. Only problem was that the sauna and other pool facilities were out of use but we were not informed of this before our stay and no apology was made. Bar prices very high and bar food poor. Restaurant on the other hand excellent

Room Tip: Go mid week - much quieter if you want a spa day.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Jayne R,

Thank you for your excellent review. It is always nice to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay with us. As a company we take great pride in our facilities and we continue to invest in the upkeep and maintenance of all areas and I was sorry to read that you did not receive the pre-visit communication with regard to the refurbishment of the thermal suites.

The chef and restaurant team will be delighted with your excellent verdict of the restaurant and I will be sure to pass on your compliments.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked a spa weekend for my birthday which included an over night stay, a massage, 3 course meal, breakfast and a peice of cake & winter pimms. Arrived and used the facilities, (one of the experience showers could do with some attention re lights and possibly some magazines available for guests to read by the pool) massage at 3.30pm, (massage was done by sarah and was lovely) cake and drink in the relaxation room then off to Our room. It was massive! Bathroom was excellent with bath & shower which you dont get in most hotels, golf course view and very quiet. 3 course meal was lovely. (Could have been a little more choice on the market menu which was included in the package) but food was lovely. Staff all very friendly, cleaners all said hello in the corridoors too. Cant wait to go back x

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraGareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear LauraGareth,

Belated happy Birthday! I was delighted to read you choose to celebrate your birthday with us and indeed that you enjoyed your weekend.

Our spa (and golf) packages offer exceptional value with treatment (or golf) dinner, bed and breakfast included as well as other benefits when booking with the hotel direct.

Our thermal suites have recently been refurbishes and this includes the experience showers. At the time of your visit the shower heads in one of the experiences were still to be replaced and I can confirm this work has since been completed.

We choose not to place magazines by the pool as the humid conditions do affect the quality of the reading material and as such we offer a selection in the relaxation room instead.

Portal is very fortunate to be blessed with fantastic bedrooms, all spacious and well equipped and indeed a bathroom many of our colleague hotels are envious off!

When pre-booking dinner as part of your package we offer fantastic value with a choice of 3 starters, main courses and desserts for just £20 - for guests whom wish to have a wider choice the a la carte menu is available and we do offer a £25 allocation towards the a la carte menu for guests whom can not find anything of their liking on the daily changing market menu.

I am proud of the continued high levels of service the team at Portal delivers and will ensure to pass on your compliments to Sarah and the friendly housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Portal in the near future.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel with 12 friends on a golfing break.
We arrived at lunchtime to play a round of golf but could not book into our rooms until after our round.
When we booked in to the hotel we were told that the hotel was overbooked and that they only had four rooms left instead of the six booked. They had set up a glorified camp bed in each room in order to accommodate the 12 of us. When we complained they told us that there was nothing they could do and that we had to take it or leave it.
This completely spoiled my golf break and if I could have left and returned home without spoiling the break for the other members of the party I would have done so.
I wrote the the General Manager of the hotel by email with a complaint and as yet, two months later have had no reply.
I will never set foot in this hotel again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank 217MikeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear 217MikeN,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor and may I take this opporutnity to reiterate my feedback as per our correspondance of the 16th October.

It was most unfortunate that due to a system error the property management system a situation arose which meant we did not have an adequate number of twin rooms available on the night of your stay. As it happened at such late notice a decision had to be made as to how to accommodate all the guests in your group. I appreciate this was not ideal and as such the team did offer compensation at the time.

I have under seperate cover re-sent the original correspondance with regard to your feedback which I trust has been received. Please do feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss the matter in further detail.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here overnight to attend AGM of a Macdonald's timeshare.
We opted for a deal which included a 3 course dinner. Food was excellent, although our cooked breakfast arrived when we were still eating cereals.
Room was very comfortable with a large bed and decent sized bathroom.
Swimming pool was a good size, can't speak for the rest of the Spa as the other facilities were closed for maintenance. Didn't try any treatments, but might another time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gourmettraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear gourmettraveller77,

Thank you for your nice review following the Plas Talgarth AGM at Portal last week. We were delighted to host the event and indeed to read your lovely comments following your stay.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future so you can enjoy all our facilities to their full extend including our lovely spa treatments. The AGM has been re-booked at Portal for next year so should you not have the opportunity to return before than we certainly look forward to seeing you again next year.

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Two golf courses, condition ok but not really AOK, greens slow, hotel rooms very good, food poor, bar prices expensive, 2 beers and a half of coke circa £11, nice weekend with good company but the courses are not up to scratch and the food and drink are overpriced for what it is, beware!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Allan C,

Thanks for your assessment. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy the courses as much as most of our guests. The overwhelming feedback has been that the Premier Course in particular has been in a fantastic condition all year and still is, despite the extreme rainfall of late. The Championship course greens are currently very fast in particular for the time of year.

Our food quality is usually very highly rated and I am sorry to read it wasn't to your taste, as is the variety and quality of the beverages on offer and indeed in line with upper 4 star hotel standards and pricing.

We value your comments and hope that you will return to Portal at some time in the near future - (our course is open 12 months a year and we don't play of winter tees or greens at the Championship Course.)

With Warm Regards.

S Cauwels-Wigan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
8.8 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,908 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
492 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
12.6 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.7 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

Address: Cobblers Cross Lane, Tarporley CW6 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range: £79 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the heart of the Cheshire Countryside yet within easy access from the main motorways and towns, The Macdonald Portal Hotel,Golf and Spa is the perfect base to explore Cheshire and its many attractions and places of interest. Whether you are visiting for a pampering experience in the luxurious Spa, a round of golf on one of the two challenging golf courses or indeed a gourmet break enjoying the finest foods in 2 AA Rosette Ranulf Restaurant, Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa has something to offer for the entire family. Portal is also the home of the first Lee Westwood Golf School in the UK and offers a combination of three golf courses and an onsite golf academy. The conference and banqueting facilities have hosted many a prestigious event and both the Castle and Waterstone Suites offer the most wonderful venue for the perfect wedding celebration. A venue for all occasions, the hotel offers 85 sumptuous bedrooms, a state of the art Health, Fitness and Beauty Spa which includes an 18 meter swimming pool, advanced Technogym equipment and a thermal suite with rock sauna, aroma steam bath, ice room and salt infusion sauna. Why not dine in our fine restaurant with its 2 AA rosettes and views across the Cheshire plains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf Hotel Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf And Spa Tarporley, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing