We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Spa Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at the Portal Spa for a girlie spa night away with my mum. First impressions were very good; the hotel is very modern, well presented and the grounds were stunning. The Spa itself was wonderful; beautifully decorated and the treatments were fantastic. The staff were very professional and welcoming and we had a lovely, relaxing afternoon.

However, when we sent to check in, there was no record of our booking. After some discussion with other staff, the receptionist returned and asked if we would like to have some lunch whilst the matter was resolved. We decided to get some lunch from the lounge and after a very long wait to be served and a very long wait for the food to arrive, we were given only one meal. The problem was rectified and another meal finally arrived. We were eventually given a room and I must say that the duty manger was fantastic and went out of her way to escort us to the room and to check we were happy with it. The room was lovely.

We ate in the restaurant that evening as part of our package. The service at the evening meal was excellent and the standard of the food was very good.

Overall, we had a great time and left feeling very relaxed. We are looking forward to staying again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank kitkat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,486 - 1,492 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here on the Mad Hatters Package which included spa and 1 treatment, Afternoon cream tea, and three course evening meal from the set menu and breakfast the following morning. The food was very good and the breakfast choices were excellent. Good sized spa with facilities, plenty of towels and fluffy robes. Hotel in a lovely setting service in parts could do with some attention. But we had a very relaxing pleasant stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I held my 50th Birthday Party at the Premier facilities at the MacDonald Portal on 21st June 2014. The venue is beautiful, with amazing views over the golf course. Esther and her team were really helpful with the planning and were great on the night too, ensuring the room and set up was just the way we wanted it.

We had asked the team to arrange a BBQ as it was the middle of summer - food was of excellent quality and plentiful! The main room itself is circular with windows overlooking the golf course on one side, plus a dance floor in the middle and a separate bar area accessible from the main room, plus another area in which we put our photobooth!

I do hope Esther and her team get the funding they'd like to give the place a lick of paint and new carpets etc - this place is just such a fabulous venue and can't recommend it highly enough - our party catered for roughly 125 people which I thought was about right for the size of the venue.

The team also arranged for complimentary cabs to and from the venue back to the hotel (2mins drive or a 5/10min walk) which was really convenient as we had a number of people stopping over at the hotel.

We also stayed at the hotel ourself and the room was of an excellent standard and breakfast was delicious. Service was fab and the General Manager made a point of popping up to the venue to meet me on the day of the party, and also caught up with us at breakfast to ensure everything was ok - it was amazing - thank you!

Many thanks to Esther and the rest of the team at Premier and the actual hotel - we'd definitely book again should we throw another party!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenandMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Excellent apart from the number of staff working in the Bar. We had to wait up to 15 mins to get served, on more than one occasion. The staff that were working were fine, but only one person for the bulk of the time is totally inadequate. The rest of the stay was great, great food, excellent rooms and superb golf courses. Above all excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chester01829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My friend and I had a spa break (Sunday night) here a couple of months ago. The hotel is in a great location in lovely quiet countryside. The hotel itself is slightly tired and in need of a facelift but dont let this put you off. The staff are lovely, the rooms are large, well equipped and clean and the food was great. We had an overnight stay in a twin room, dinner bed and breakfast and a hot stone massage for £97.50 which was great value. The spa is lovely with a great pool. I have stayed in many of the Macdonal hotels and the food is always good quality. The drinks, as in any hotel, are a bit pricey but still worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Last weekend I want with a group of 6 friends for a golf weekend. The site is just lovely, the golf course immaculate and most picturesque. The look of the hotel once inside is nice too. The problem starts with the staff. They just don't seem to care a lot.
So after an afteroon of enjoyable golf we went for dinner. This was awful, the menu limited and when it did come it took a very long time. The starters were cold. Some of my freinds had beef cheeks which cold, I had mushroom soup, which tatsed of dish water and was tepid. Main courses weren't much better. Chicken wrapped in ham....rubber wrapped in plastic more like. Slow service and awful food.
Later on at the bar, we asked for some food as we were still hungry. There was nothing to eat. The barman said that there were no crisps, peanuts or so forth, we could order sandwiched but only have them delivered to the bedrooms and eat them there!
Breakfast was no better. It's table service rather than buffet. Limited staff who seemed to take one tables orders and then dissappear. One has to shout and wave to get service at all. When the food does come it is cold, old or hardly cooked. Just awful. It is not hard to do a good breakfast.
It is such a shame because the facilities or really nice. The golf is excellent, the swimming pool and various sauna and steam rooms are top draw. The staff seem tired and not bothered and likewise who ever serves the food doesn't seem to care.
On checking out my bill was 3 times more than it should have been which was a shock but the did amend this accordingly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SlideGuitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went for a spabreak , midweek via a macdonalds flash sale....and were looking forward to visiting one of their premier range properties. We approached through lovely grounds and got a nice greeting at reception by Greg who turned out to be the most helpful and polite member of staff we encountered for the whole stay. We headed to our room which was large and looked nice. We tried to engage with a Chamberlain who merely grunted at us as she could not speak English.
We headed for the lounge bar for lunch and waited and waited and waited......then we got up and spoke to the one waitress on duty who was dressed in a dirtyy uniform and operated at a snail's pace...forgetting our drinks order twice......the food itself once it arrived was very nice.
We were approached by reception at this point to say they had moved our bags to another room which was actually smaller than the first one, we were confused as we had paid extra for an upgrade.
We went off to the spa and we were pleased to see it was very quiet, however this did not result in an improvement in service as there were piles of wet towels , no clean glasses in the relaxation lounge and when we asked, we had to listen to two members of staff argue with each other about whose job it was to get glasses, in the end, none arrived and it was actually two polite beauty therapists who brought us some so we could have water?!
We used all the spa facilities,apart from one steam room which was out of order.
On to dinner.....and we experienced the most cocky, arrogant and annoying restaurant manager that I have ever met. He made several boastful comments to us about his pay package as an agency manager brought in to sort everything out for the hotel and his performance carried on at breakfast.....even telling us that he knew more than us about coffee when we asked for a stronger pot as the coffee was weak and lukewarm.....he eventually agreed to bring some more....again we were astounded at the poor service.
We do not know why there are so many lazy, disinterested and rude staff at this hotel, it is baffling because the hotel is in beautiful grounds and is a really nice property?
After checking out ( and having to check billl twice as it was incorrect) the new manager asked to speak to us for feedback on our stay....we spent 20 minutes with her and she promised to look into e and get in touch with us......we have head nothing from her to date. I also filled in the MacDonald feedback form sent to me via head office...again, no response from them......would definitely put me off from booking a Macdonald hotel again....shame.
Anyone reading this thinking we are picky, difficult to please people, we are not.we like good service ...simple.

Room Tip: We paid for an executive room...worse than the standard room ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidaybugLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear holidaybugLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa.

I am truly sorry that on this occasion we have failed to meet your expectations. It sounds as if there were a number of separate incidents that added up to one big disappointment and I would like to assure you that this is not our normal standard of service.

I know that our General Manager spoke with you. There is a procedure that we follow in such circumstances and I know that she is glad to have had your feedback at the time, and that she will be in touch with you soon.

Kind regards

David McGhie
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
0.6 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
509 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
363 reviews
12.6 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

Address: Cobblers Cross Lane, Tarporley CW6 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range: £84 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the heart of the Cheshire Countryside yet within easy access from the main motorways and towns, The Macdonald Portal Hotel,Golf and Spa is the perfect base to explore Cheshire and its many attractions and places of interest. Whether you are visiting for a pampering experience in the luxurious Spa, a round of golf on one of the two challenging golf courses or indeed a gourmet break enjoying the finest foods in 2 AA Rosette Ranulf Restaurant, Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa has something to offer for the entire family. Portal is also the home of the first Lee Westwood Golf School in the UK and offers a combination of three golf courses and an onsite golf academy. The conference and banqueting facilities have hosted many a prestigious event and both the Castle and Waterstone Suites offer the most wonderful venue for the perfect wedding celebration. A venue for all occasions, the hotel offers 85 sumptuous bedrooms, a state of the art Health, Fitness and Beauty Spa which includes an 18 meter swimming pool, advanced Technogym equipment and a thermal suite with rock sauna, aroma steam bath, ice room and salt infusion sauna. Why not dine in our fine restaurant with its 2 AA rosettes and views across the Cheshire plains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf Hotel Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf And Spa Tarporley, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing