We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant xmas getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“brilliant xmas getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

Me and my colleagues stayed at the portal spa on 5th Dec for our xmas getaway. We are all nurses and we have a very stressful job so we thought that this would be the perfect xmas party. We were not disappointed we did not want to return home. The hotel is in a beautiful village on the outskirts of Chester, the hotel itself is very modern and the rooms were beautiful. We did the spa break which included full use of the spa facilities and 2 beauty treatments I had the facial and back massage it was just what we all needed after a stressful year We will be returning at xmas for another luxury break

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylou69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkFrances, Regional General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 3 March 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you so very much for your kind review. I know that my team worked incredibly hard over the Christmas period to ensure that each of our individual guests experienced a fantastic time.

Plans are already underway for Christmas 2010, and we look forward to putting on an even better performance.

Thank you again.

Mark Lyttleton-Frances
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    587
    315
    172
    120
See reviews for
227
668
29
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

stayed in this hotel for friends 30th birthday on a spa package from booking the hotel to leaving could not fault a thing. fantastic staff could not do enough to help especially the spa staff. i will definately be using this hotel again and will recommend it to family and friends. as a group of hotels the staff at the portal should be highly praised. thanks for making our stay so nice

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toptripWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkFrances, Regional General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 3 March 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you so very much for your kind review. We pride ourselves on quality of service and delivery, and having read your comments, my team are encouraged to continue to deliver beyond the expectations of our guests.

Thank you.

Mark Lyttleton-Frances
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

booked with Family Friednly package at this hotel, was reassured many times the food and evening would be suitable for children as i have a small child(6). We where phoned 1 day before to be notified the party had changed rooms, to a smaller one, as a party had cancelled but we could rest assure the quality was the same.

Whe we checked in, which is quite a walk we asked again if the food was suitable and again told it was. We had booked in Spa treatments all prearranged so one person was always free to baby sit. They had messed up the timings, we got no appology, but we got used to that by the end of the visit.

The food, at lunch was ok, but not brillaint for the quality of hotel. Then the real fun started. We where told to arrive for 8 for pre dinner drinks, it should have said DRINK! they had moved the family evening to a top floor room, that was accessed via a sprial staircase, to make matter worse the toilet was down stairs.

So we arrived, had our 1 drink, and waited, and waited. Due to the fact my son was very hungry, i asked if he could have a roll, i was told NO, as it was 1 each, to be honest i did think this was a joke. So i asked what the child option was, i was greeted by a sea of blank faces. There was no child option, in fact there never had been. As a'good will' gesutuer they would do my son pasta, but i was not to tell anyone else.

I should also point out that there was no heating on, no staff around and we could not order a bottle of wine as the bar man could not find the list. By the time we finally eat, it was not worth the wait. We where looked over to ensure we only selected one option, and di not take too much, by 10 my son's meal had not arrived and i went in search of the DM.

She must have taken rude lessons, i was told i had lied over the childrens meals and they where dealing with it. i insisted she came with me, but she refused to deal with other families. When dessert arrived, and shock noone had passed on the information about our food allergies, we gave up went back to the room.

The only good thing in the hotel, was a bar man, who got my son some bread to eat back at our room. we tried at check out to get a appolgy, but no one cares, i wrote to complain and 1 month later called he regional manger, like others on here have said. Customer Care is none exsistant, no one returns your calls.

I would hate to have a wedding at this hotel, if they cant cook Pasta (plain) in under 1 hour God help a 3 course meal

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stubbertclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkFrances, Regional General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 3 March 2010
Dear Ms Stubbert

Thank you for your review. As we were in the process of resolving your issues when this review was posted I see no reason to go through each point again.

We have ackowledged that certain food and service issues were experienced by your family, and I am sure from our correspondence that you are more than pleased with the outcome.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Portal, and am sure that you will enjoy a wonderful stay with us upon your return.

Yours sincerely
Mark Lyttleton-Frances
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

Have never stayed at a Macdonalds Hotels before & what a excellent first impression, from the moment i checked in to the moment i left i could not fault the hotel in anyway, staff were allways friendly & smiling, facilities clean & bedrooms were comfey, well furnished & spotlessly clean, i think even kim & aggie would be impressed. I ate off the ala carte menu in the Ranaulf restaurant on both nights & every course was excellent, would say among the best meal i have had & was great value for money.The owner of Macdonalds hotel group should be very proud of this hotel. Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buffalo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkFrances, Regional General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 3 March 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that we were able to offer you the level of service and quality that was expected. I am sure that my team at Portal will be encouraged by your kind remarks.

Yours sincerely

Mark Lyttleton-Frances
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

We were so disappointed with our first 17 hours at the hotel that we left early. The service overall was very poor and information was inaccurate.

Drop-off point is 85 paces from the door with no luggage trolley on hand and no-one apparently available to help. The “clean” bathmat was dirty; the bathroom fan didn’t appear to work and was blocked with dust; the tv remote control didn’t work; the channel numbers were incorrect on the room information; the folder itself was incomplete and it told us the mini-bar was well-stocked - in fact it was empty; there was no reading light by the sofa.

No-one answered the telephone; we requested fresh milk but it didn’t arrive in the bedroom; red wine didn’t arrive at dinner; special diet was pre-notified and items were promised but didn’t arrive, then we were told they were available, then no-one could find them until we persisted. I asked for a soft-boiled egg and an oatcake – I got a hard-boiled egg and a Weetabix! An ingredients’ list for the bowls of breakfast cereals would have been helpful.

Local food was promised but most items mentioned on the menu came from Scotland (hundreds of miles away). Apparently the chef sources the best food available but other hotels in the area source excellent ingredients from Cheshire. The waitress told us that local vegetables were used but fine beans in January are not local. Some organic ingredients were mentioned in the advertising but they were not apparent on the menu. The barman didn’t know about the restaurant menu – we had to collect one from Reception. The waitress was carrying clean glasses with her fingers inside them. Poor restaurant service took 1.5 hours for two courses in an almost empty room.

The fire alarm went off; we (perhaps five) guests assembled near the car park in a windy 1 degree C. For a long time not one of the many staff appeared to be in charge and no-one was interested in our welfare. There was a golfing building right next to us where the few of us could have waited out of the cold. However, it was locked and the staff wouldn’t allow us in there even though there was every indication that it was a false alarm and we are no longer young! We retreated to our car until the fire brigade arrived and then it soon seemed we could go back to our rooms.

We do not blame the staff. Management procedures, training and incentives are what are lacking. Few of the staff we came across showed commitment, enjoyment or pleasure in the hospitality industry. The hotel’s questionnaire asked if we were made to feel “special”. No way. Also, it is now very obvious to us that advertising and information on the hotel comes from head office and does not always relate to the particular hotel in the chain e.g. the empty mini-bar.

Plus points: really comfortable bed, very nice and spacious room, good food, generally clean and modern hotel but with a very big "but".

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kipandnoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkFrances, Regional General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 3 March 2010
Dear Guest

We are obviously disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Certainly we work extremely hard to ensure that each of our individual guests has a fantastic time at Portal.

It is a shame that there are some inaccuracies or rather misperceptions in your review, and I would gladly take these up with you, should you be so kind as to contact me directly at the Hotel.

Yours sincerely
Mark Lyttleton-Frances
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breaston,derby
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

stayed for two nights which included new years eve and the day before new years eve.this is the best hotel i have stayed in,in this country.The bedrooms are excellent and we had a view over the countryside.The restaurant offers an early bird menu,a daily set menu and an a la carte all at fairly reasonable prices and there is also a bar menu where we ate at lunchtime.We had a plate of sandwiches which comprised of four club sandwiches,a small bowl of crisps and salad garnish for just over six pounds.We did not use the leisure centre but it looked very clean.The new years eve adult party included champagne reception.six course evening meal.The tables were very well set up with crackers and a flower display and it was noticeable that all the cutlery and glasses were sparkling clean and the food was excellent and service very good.the only downside for me was that a waitress spilt raspberry juice on my white dinner jacket.A live trio played until about 11.45pm followed by a disco and then we retired to the residential bar.For the golfers,there is a championship golf course,another 18 hole golf course and a nine hole course.Overall an excellent experience in an excellent hotel .

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n0rmski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkFrances, Regional General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments. The team at Portal worked really hard last year to put together a fantastic New Years Eve celebration. It is really positive for all of us to hear that this is what our guests experienced.

We do hope you book again for next year!!

Have a fantastic 2010.

Kind regards
Mark Lyttleton-Frances
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

We stayed for one night in this hotel, having booked a good rate on laterooms. For what we paid, this was an excellent choice. All areas in the hotel were very modern and comfortable and our bedroom was very spacious and nicely decorated. There are some nice touches like speakers in the bathroom!

The hotel gym overlooks the golf course and has very up to date equipment and the pool looked lovely too.

It a little way out of Chester - 20-30 min drive - but very handy for motorway etc too and plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDebsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkFrances, Regional General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in a our fantastic hotel and beautiful village.

As you quite rightly mention, we are just a short drive into Chester for fantastic shopping and historic sights, but also a five minute walk into the beautiful village of Tarporley.

Tarporley not only has great boutiques and quality retail, but also some of the finest pubs and restaurants in Cheshire.

We do hope that when you visit again we can point out some of our other local attractions.

Kind regards
Mark Lyttleton-Frances
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
7.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#1 of 5 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
12.0 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Wild Boar Hotel
Wild Boar Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tarporley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

Property: Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Address: Cobblers Cross Lane, Tarporley CW6 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the heart of the Cheshire Countryside yet within easy access from the main motorways and towns, The Macdonald Portal Hotel,Golf and Spa is the perfect base to explore Cheshire and its many attractions and places of interest. Whether you are visiting for a pampering experience in the luxurious Spa, a round of golf on one of the two challenging golf courses or indeed a gourmet break enjoying the finest foods in 2 AA Rosette Ranulf Restaurant, Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa has something to offer for the entire family. Portal is also the home of the first Lee Westwood Golf School in the UK and offers a combination of three golf courses and an onsite golf academy. The conference and banqueting facilities have hosted many a prestigious event and both the Castle and Waterstone Suites offer the most wonderful venue for the perfect wedding celebration. A venue for all occasions, the hotel offers 85 sumptuous bedrooms, a state of the art Health, Fitness and Beauty Spa which includes an 18 meter swimming pool, advanced Technogym equipment and a thermal suite with rock sauna, aroma steam bath, ice room and salt infusion sauna. Why not dine in our fine restaurant with its 2 AA rosettes and views across the Cheshire plains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf Hotel Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf And Spa Tarporley, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing