We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem of a hotel with two tremendous golf courses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grantham
2 reviews
“Hidden gem of a hotel with two tremendous golf courses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

Real value for money with excellent, attentive, extremely friendly and efficient staff. Nothing was any bother. The restaurant had an impressive view from every table and the menu was varied with food served to a very high standard.
The room was large and in excellent condition with a large shower and bath. Clean fresh high quality linen was provided every day.
2 high quality golf courses in extremely good condition for the time of year, a pleasure to play. My wife and I will return to play them during the summer without fail.
The weather was the only down side but the hotel, staff and golf courses more than made up for it.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfbasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkFrances, Regional General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful comments, we have worked hard through the winter (snow included) to ensure that our golf courses are in the best possible condintion.

With the start of the British Summer we expect them to only get better. We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Mark Frances
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    595
    318
    172
    122
See reviews for
234
680
29
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grantham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

I was the organiser for a group weekend away which included 16 couple. As you can imagine with so many people there were lots of minor changes and individual arrangements that were required. I was given a contact at the hotel, which was kind enough to promptly reply to emails, and was happy to make the necessary changes.
Our stay included 2 nights and 2 rounds of golf. On the Saturday night the hotel offered me the option of a private function for our group. We took up this offer, and had simply the best group away evening ever. The staffs during our stay were friendly and courteous and did everything they could to make our special weekend away full of happy memories.
We are looking forward to booking the same venue for next year. Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonywaldren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkFrances, Regional General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great comments, we work hard to ensure that all our large groups receive personal attention during their stay. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Mark Frances
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

I have stayed here on a couple of occasions now, and it just gets better and better. The staff are always very friendly and welcoming, in particular the reception desk, however all staff are very good. The facilities are fantastic and ideal for a relaxing break

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelindustryinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkFrances, Regional General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our golf courses and our hospitality, and look forward to inviting you back in the future.

Mark Frances
Regional General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

Having travelled the UK for over 30 years I therefore feel qualified to judge hotels.
The Portal is one of my favourite hotels, it is set in the grounds of 2 golf courses and the views are fantastic. The rooms are in 5 star condition, the restaurant and food are also excellent. But most of all is the excellent customer service. The staff are all friendly and helpful especially Becky on reception. I would recommend this hotel to everyone looking for great accommodation, service, food and value for money. Ian Small.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

With friends we spent 2 nights at the hotel as part of a Winter package for £99 per person.
The deal included champagne and chocolates on arrival ( the champagne was the real stuff and not Cava and the chocolates were excellent quality), 3 course dinner on the first night at the hotels AA Rosette rated restaurant, 2 breakfasts and a choice of a round golf on the Championship course or a 45 minute Spa treatment.
The 2 guys played golf and the girls hit the spa.
The plus points:
1. Excellent rooms, all very clean, well furnished. The bathroom had both a bath and seperate shower cubicle.
2. The facilities - superb spa treatment area and swimming pool area with 2 steam rooms (aroma and normal) and 2 saunas (infra red and stone) and also an ice room.
3. The food in the restaurant was of a very good standard with numerous choices, both at dinner and breakfast.
4. All the staff we came into contact with were polite and cheerful.
The negatives:
1. Arriving at the hotel at 1815 and being told your time for dinner was either 1830 or 2115. There had been no hint when we booked that we had to book a time for dinner.
2. To have to wait 75 minutes between the starter and main course was too long by any standards. I appreciate that they were cooking from fresh but this is an inordinate length of time.
3. To indicate on the breakfast menu that yoghurt was available yet for the 2 days we were there was none. One day was understable but two is inexcusable.
4. Nowhere on the breakfact menu was it shown that you had to order certain items. They run a self service breakfast bar and many of the the things that were apparently listed needed to be ordered.
5. The Golf Course - a good challenge but 3 green staff cannot cope with it during the winter let alone the summer. If they are trying to attract golfers to stay and play (the corporate golf world has taken a huge downturn) then they need to get the course up to scratch and the only way to do this is have more staff.
I would overall recommend this hotel to TA members but would like to think that the hotel, which has won a number of awards, considers these little points as the niggly ones are those that stick in the mind.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StubbingtonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

Me and my colleagues stayed at the portal spa on 5th Dec for our xmas getaway. We are all nurses and we have a very stressful job so we thought that this would be the perfect xmas party. We were not disappointed we did not want to return home. The hotel is in a beautiful village on the outskirts of Chester, the hotel itself is very modern and the rooms were beautiful. We did the spa break which included full use of the spa facilities and 2 beauty treatments I had the facial and back massage it was just what we all needed after a stressful year We will be returning at xmas for another luxury break

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylou69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkFrances, Regional General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 3 March 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you so very much for your kind review. I know that my team worked incredibly hard over the Christmas period to ensure that each of our individual guests experienced a fantastic time.

Plans are already underway for Christmas 2010, and we look forward to putting on an even better performance.

Thank you again.

Mark Lyttleton-Frances
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

stayed in this hotel for friends 30th birthday on a spa package from booking the hotel to leaving could not fault a thing. fantastic staff could not do enough to help especially the spa staff. i will definately be using this hotel again and will recommend it to family and friends. as a group of hotels the staff at the portal should be highly praised. thanks for making our stay so nice

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toptripWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkFrances, Regional General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review, 3 March 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you so very much for your kind review. We pride ourselves on quality of service and delivery, and having read your comments, my team are encouraged to continue to deliver beyond the expectations of our guests.

Thank you.

Mark Lyttleton-Frances
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
0.6 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
12.6 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
8.8 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,273 reviews
12.0 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

Property: Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Address: Cobblers Cross Lane, Tarporley CW6 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the heart of the Cheshire Countryside yet within easy access from the main motorways and towns, The Macdonald Portal Hotel,Golf and Spa is the perfect base to explore Cheshire and its many attractions and places of interest. Whether you are visiting for a pampering experience in the luxurious Spa, a round of golf on one of the two challenging golf courses or indeed a gourmet break enjoying the finest foods in 2 AA Rosette Ranulf Restaurant, Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa has something to offer for the entire family. Portal is also the home of the first Lee Westwood Golf School in the UK and offers a combination of three golf courses and an onsite golf academy. The conference and banqueting facilities have hosted many a prestigious event and both the Castle and Waterstone Suites offer the most wonderful venue for the perfect wedding celebration. A venue for all occasions, the hotel offers 85 sumptuous bedrooms, a state of the art Health, Fitness and Beauty Spa which includes an 18 meter swimming pool, advanced Technogym equipment and a thermal suite with rock sauna, aroma steam bath, ice room and salt infusion sauna. Why not dine in our fine restaurant with its 2 AA rosettes and views across the Cheshire plains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf Hotel Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf And Spa Tarporley, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing