We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Travelodge Widnes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Widnes
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Widnes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This travelodge is clean modern and well presented staff are friendly and check in was quick, the room is standard spec but was clean fresh and in good order and is ideal for the retail park tesco and the industrial areas would recommend and use again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Firstly let me say that Travelodge is not my first choice of hotel when staying in Widnes. The room was a decent size although it felt a bit lopsided with very little room on one side of the bed and loads on the other (probably to accommodate a pull out bed)
There is NO aircon nor any fans for cooling so no so great when we have the hottest week of the year.
That said the bed was really comfy and the bathroom clean. The flow rate on the shower could have been a bit better but that's just being picky I guess
Why 3 Stars? Internet Access. Paid for Internet access that was so poor it was easier to set my phone up as an Access Point and use my own Data Plan than the paid for connection.
Oh and it's just a personal thing but no power sockets near the bed.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Annex rather than the main block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Riteabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Flying out of Liverpool (or Manchester), we try to get a very early morning flight, but with a 3.5 hour drive first, we like to stay overnight somewhere near.
Widnes Travelodge is great. Staff are always very friendly and helpful, regardless of the time of day.
Rooms are always clean, and now it's had a refurb, beds are amazing! And having worked for several large hotel chains in the past, I'm VERY fussy about cleanliness, bed quality, room standards etc.
Plenty of food choices nearby (Toby Carvery, Tesco cafe, Costa, Widnes itself), and close to the dual carriageway, for easy access to the airport and motorways.
Much cheaper than the airport hotels, and for what you do pay, it can't be faulted.

Room Tip: Rooms in the separate extension are generally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Widnes travelodge was a base for 3 nights x 3 rooms to attend a vintage rally 12 miles away it worked well. As we had had the bookings made on our behalf there was some confusion and lack of details on our part. The member of staff ( possibly acting manager ) she sorted everything out with a friendly and cheerful manner, remembering us all personally when on shift it makes a great difference (5*). Would have rated 5 but the junction outside the window was at times a little like a drag strip ( not a problem to my colleagues who had inside facing rooms), but the room was spotless and well tended. The Toby carvery next door was excellent value for money for food. Would use again possibly as a short stay touring base with the family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drekley45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

What else to expect? It's Travelodge. If you want the Ritz then go there.

Must be said though, the staff were amazing! If not for them this would have been a 3 star review.
Would recommend this hotel on that basis alone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Fela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Worst experience in a hotel ever. No air con and if you opened the window, the noise was so extreme from the road outside. Their was no noise insulation in the room and you could hear doors bang and people just walking down the corridor.
The bed was too hard and the pillows, one wasnt enough and two was too much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Willie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Booked this Travelodge last minute for a weekend away with family. It was conveniently located for what we wanted to do. It has a lot of facilities around in the local area, but despite this noise disruption is non existent. It is ideally situated for access to Liverpool, but could easily be recommended as a base for travel into Chester, which was our intended destination. On a final note the beds are the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept on. I would definitely return to this establishment.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Leighton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
2.0 mi away
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
1.4 mi away
Best Western Everglades Park Hotel
1.9 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
715 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Warrington Gemini
Travelodge Warrington Gemini
#7 of 22 in Warrington
322 reviews
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Warrington
Travelodge Warrington
#13 of 22 in Warrington
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Widnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Widnes

Address: Fiddlers Ferry Road, Widnes WA8 0HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Widnes
Price Range: £37 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Widnes 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Travelodge Widnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Widnes Hotel Widnes
Widnes Travel Lodge
Widnes Travelodge
Travel Lodge Widnes
Travelodge Widnes Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing