We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Widnes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stopped here for 1 night after booking with national holidays for Barry manilow but when arrived hotel didnt have us booked in which was holiday company fault but hotel gaves us a free drink to have while we waited for room plus also upgraded room for us too which was great. Room was massive clean light warm perfect really 2 big double beds. Food at evening is bit poor due to choice not taste. Only fault was it was hard getting up the ramp to get in due to it was very narrow and over grown bush made it even harder anyone with big chair/scooter wouldn't get up it as its not wide enough. Certainty one of the better hotels national holidays have chosen

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popsey2116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHillcrestHotel, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive comments I was pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Food really is whatever the person’s preference is we try our best.
By coincidence we pruned some of the bushes at the front yesterday as they were starting to encroach on the walkway.
Hope to see you sometime in the future.

Duncan Reich A.I.H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    93
    76
    44
    43
See reviews for
87
101
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 55 this week and frankly Corus you should be ashamed asking top rates for third rate accommodation.

The fabric of the room and bath room was beyond being 'very shabby' and clearly it was LONG overdue a refurb by a couple of decades.

I also eat at the hotel in the evening and was treated to a menu from the 1970's to match my room.

The breakfast was a little better, but spoilt by only having one waitress serving who spend most of the time moaning about there being too many guests..... Which made you feel very welcome!

Frankly business travellers save your money and go to a Premier Inn decor more up to date, bigger rooms and a more comfortable bed.

Corus get your act together if you're charging people to stay at the Hillcrest.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobcholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHillcrestHotel, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. I have made a preliminary investigation concerning your booking.
On investigation you paid a good commercial tariff and you should never have been placed in that bedroom. We only have a few bedrooms left at the Hotel that still require refurbishment and room 55 is one of them.
I don’t have an issue selling the bedroom at a budget tariff your tariff certainly was not and my sincere apologies for your disappointment.
We have some excellent and very spacious refurbished bedrooms with 42 inch HD flat screen televisions and 2000 plus pocket sprung king size beds with sofas and vey large bathrooms.
Food is a personal choice our current menu has only been in about two months and generally well received.
I will be speaking to the waitress on duty for that day concerning her comments. If you look back on our reviews you will observe most are very positive and breakfast service is mentioned as being very good.
I apologise that our approach on the day was unprofessional. I will be writing to you under separate cover shortly.

Duncan Reich A.I.H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Widnes hotels

Enfield
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We used this hotel for a four night stop whilst on holiday with Grand UK. We had a twin room which was clean, warm and comfortable. It overlooked a little garden area so we woke up to bird song each morning. If I had to find a negative it would be that there was limited hanging space and no draw space. There was a good wholesome breakfast which was self service, which was fine and a good choice for the evening meals. The food was cooked to order and was really enjoyable. Although we were a coach party the restaurant arranged the seating so that we could sit in two's or fours instead of being bundled all together. A nice touch. If you ever go, check out the hidden piano in the bar area of the restaurant! The biggest asset to the hotel is the staff. Valerie and Pauline in the restaurant area were excellent and all of the staff were very helpful, pleasant and polite. I would happily return to this hotel if ever I am in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHillcrestHotel, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive comments. I was pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Hotel.
We like to think that in the main we are a value for money Hotel and we hope to see you return in the future.

Duncan Reich A.I.H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here easter weekend with national holidays on the coronation street tour,the staff were helpful and friendly especially Valerie our waitress,the food was excellent.the receptionist helped me to get onto the free Wi-Fi that even got a good signal on the second floor.we didn't use the hotel's bar as we went to the ford social club behind the hotel where a live band were on.our room was near to a lift which I was grateful for and. was clean and warm.I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lift if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHillcrestHotel, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. I was especially pleased to read about Valerie on Breakfast service, Valerie and Pauline are our two long term breakfast ladies and I like to think they are a team within a team.
Hope to see you return in the not too distant future, maybe on a weekend away for our Comedy Night on June 6th.
Thanks again for your time.

Duncan Reich A.I.H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Not sure why people have issues as we found everything about The Hillcrest was excellent.
Friendly helpful staff, clean and nicely decorated room, excellent dinner and breakfast and a nice bar to sit in and have a drink or 2.
What more do you require from a hotel?
Will definitely use again when in the area.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHillcrestHotel, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your time in giving the team positive feedback. Generally client comments are very favourable. As in all businesses on rare occasions we may fall short of client’s expectations or we have fallen short at the Hotel. As I stated previously this is rare.
I was pleased you enjoyed the food as well as the overall facilities.Hope to see you return in the future.

Duncan Reich A.I.H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed overnight as part of a national holiday trip, very warm welcome,
food was excellent ,the staff where very friendly and helpful in the restaurant,
The hotel was clean and smelt lovely,
would definitely stay again and recommend to a friend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHillcrestHotel, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive views. We were pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Hope you return in the near future.
Thanks again for your kind comments.

Duncan Reich A.I.H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our daughwas& son booked us in at the hillcrest on Fri 11th April 2014, for my husband's birthday,we were greeted by friendly staff,our room was clean,bed was huge,just compact enough for the two of us, the food was excellent, nothing was too much trouble,on asking for a sweet sparkling wine to my taste, breakfast was excellent.Lighting was alittle dark,& cud do with little modernization,too much brass, bt will recommend,& look forward to goin bk, x

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 16Mollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHillcrestHotel, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive comments I was pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and pleased to see you would return.
Next time why not treat yourself and reserve one of our new quality suites with king size four poster beds and 42 inch TVs with luxurious bathrooms?
Cost of course is a little more, for a weekend away or special event more than worth it!
We look forward to you returning in the near future.

Duncan Reich A.I.H.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
1.3 mi away
Best Western Everglades Park Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
7.5 mi away
Suites Hotel & Spa -  Knowsley
6.1 mi away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#10 of 21 in Warrington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

Property: The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
Address: The Hillcrest Hotel 75 Cronton Lane, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Widnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillcrest Hotel, Widnes is a modern hotel ideally located for overnight stops for those en route to the Lake District or the South of England. Situated in a rural setting the hotel offers access to all motorway networks, bringing Chester, Manchester and Liverpool within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing