We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something missing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Widnes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Having stayed at the Premier Inn in Warwick the previous evening I could not believe how different this Premier Inn was. I can't quite put my finger on it but maybe it was just not quite as clean, tidy and well decorated as the one in Warwick. The only physical difference was I had no sofa in the room. The aircon did not work properly so the room was very hot (note I stayed in December so can't imagine what it would be like in the summer). View out of the room was straight onto the wall of the ice rink so no view at all. Also some traffic noise - the rooms facing the road presumably suffer from more road noise. Advantage is the huge car park. It can be quite difficult to exit the Hive site if you want to go straight across or turn right. I didn't try the Brewers Fayre but noticed when we checked in that they don't offer continental breakfast there only cooked breakfast. For breakfast I tried the Toby Carvery (see separate review). Tesco Express was very cheap for breakfast. If I go up there again I will probably try a different Premier Inn or stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Clean and well decorated; a very comfortable and well-appointed room. Ideal for a business stay in Widnes within short taxi journey from the train station. Good car parking and a range of local amenities. Staff very helpful and friendly. Very good breakfast at the Brewers Fayre. All-in-all great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phandcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I found this hotel to be very comfortable clean and Jenny the receptionist was a very lovely person, highly helpful. The beds are comfortable and newly decorated,the location is next to restaurants, a cinema and ice rink

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Lovely room decor (lighting options and controls, power outlets, climate control), comfortable mattress and pillow options, clean and modern bathroom, very-very friendly staff. The Brewers Fayre restaurant was incredible: food quality, value for money, and fantastic service.



  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights as we had family party nearby. Wonderful modern hotel. Staff extremely efficient and friendly. My mother was in a room near us and my brother was allocated a room on the 3rd floor but was promptly reallocated a room near us too when this slight mistake was realised. Nothing too much trouble at all! Breakfast excellent. Dinner in Brewer's. Fayre was great. Staff so friendly and worked well as a team.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank virtualpict1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

U can always count on a premiere inn to be compfy & get a good nights sleep, & be next door to a decent pub what more could u ask for, BRILLIANT, excellent value for money, the hotel staff were very polite happy & helpfull, we will stop at a premiere inn again without a doubt

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank mattdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Bit of context to start. It's a modern premier inn which means stark concrete building, retail park location and characterless feel. That said, cheerful friendly reception staff, clean and functional rooms and close to Liverpool and Manchester. Selection of chain restaurants nearby is convenient but a bit dull-fine for businesses purposes though. If it has to be a holiday inn then this is a good one.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiswickNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Widnes
Travelodge Widnes
#2 of 4 in Widnes
170 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
1.8 mi away
Best Western Everglades Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,495 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
708 reviews
1.6 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Widnes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Widnes Hotel

Address: Venture Fields Earle Road | The Hive Leisure Park, Widnes WA8 0GY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Widnes
Price Range: £45 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Widnes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find entertainment right on your doorstep at Hive Leisure Park and the Select Security Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Widnes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing