We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Widnes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great stay - super value - clean room, lovely staff, room as expected. For £29 why go anywhere else? Receptionist lovely - businesslike, just right level of friendliness. Noise of toilet fan a little annoying, but once it turned off it was great. We stayed in triple room - was great size - will try interconnecting family rooms next time with all the children.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was probably the worst premier inn stay I have encountered, the first night we were kept awake by the occupants of the room above stomping across the floor and actually making the lights rattle, we were then woken at 9am by room service , after turning them away they never returned.
We complained in the morning and received the good night promise and a refund we were assured that the occupants above were only there for the one night.
Wrong! Another sleepiness night and wet towels from the day before as there had been no service to the room.
Receptionist could not careless and our complaints fell on deaf ears so we had to suffer another sleepless night.
We also encountered a drunk man in reception in his underpants only trying to get another room key, this the receptionist thought was perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: Alway get a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deryck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Widnes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. We are pleased to hear you were refunded under the good night guarantee for at least one night. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here following a family party. This is a modern, spotlessly clean hotel with comfortable, well-appointed bedrooms. It was great value for money and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyt43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We booked the Premier Inn, not as first choice as this was not the cheapest in the area and never stayed in one before, however we booked a family room on the 27th December with Breakfast at an extra £8.95 included for adults (kids eat free!)
Very delighted with the friendliness of the staff upon arrival. Full explaination given of facilities and breakfast arrangements.

Walking through the corridors it was very peaceful and on opening the bedroom door we were greeted with a lovely clean, airy room. Plenty of towels and even firm pillows if the ones on the bed were too soft! Bathroom very clean. Felt very comfortable letting my 18month old run around.

Local amenities were great, such a good location for the night time and brewers fayre offered 2 meals for £10.

On departure, we were greeted the same lady from the night before, we were met with a big smile. I advised out of courtesy for future guests that the room above were very noisy until 2am banging and felt at one point they were coming through the ceiling. I was then informed of the good night guarantee and they gave me a full refund for my stay!

I was not expecting such good customer service and would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family in the future.

Breakfast was amazing, wonderful variety. A great start to the next day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Having stayed at the Premier Inn in Warwick the previous evening I could not believe how different this Premier Inn was. I can't quite put my finger on it but maybe it was just not quite as clean, tidy and well decorated as the one in Warwick. The only physical difference was I had no sofa in the room. The aircon did not work properly so the room was very hot (note I stayed in December so can't imagine what it would be like in the summer). View out of the room was straight onto the wall of the ice rink so no view at all. Also some traffic noise - the rooms facing the road presumably suffer from more road noise. Advantage is the huge car park. It can be quite difficult to exit the Hive site if you want to go straight across or turn right. I didn't try the Brewers Fayre but noticed when we checked in that they don't offer continental breakfast there only cooked breakfast. For breakfast I tried the Toby Carvery (see separate review). Tesco Express was very cheap for breakfast. If I go up there again I will probably try a different Premier Inn or stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Clean and well decorated; a very comfortable and well-appointed room. Ideal for a business stay in Widnes within short taxi journey from the train station. Good car parking and a range of local amenities. Staff very helpful and friendly. Very good breakfast at the Brewers Fayre. All-in-all great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phandcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I found this hotel to be very comfortable clean and Jenny the receptionist was a very lovely person, highly helpful. The beds are comfortable and newly decorated,the location is next to restaurants, a cinema and ice rink

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Widnes
Travelodge Widnes
#2 of 4 in Widnes
172 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
1.8 mi away
Best Western Everglades Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
227 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Holiday Inn Runcorn
#2 of 3 in Runcorn
716 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Widnes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Widnes Hotel

Address: Venture Fields Earle Road | The Hive Leisure Park, Widnes WA8 0GY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Widnes
Price Range: £45 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Widnes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find entertainment right on your doorstep at Hive Leisure Park and the Select Security Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Widnes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing