We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit old fashioned, but spotlessly clean and very genuine hosts.”
Review of Greycroft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greycroft
Ranked #7 of 14 Alston B&B and Inns
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bit old fashioned, but spotlessly clean and very genuine hosts.”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

As a couple my partner and I stayed here. We found the hostess, Pat, a little bit loud and schoolteacher-esque at first but she is actually very thoughtful. The breakfasts are wonderful, Les makes really tasty scrambled eggs and the porridge was very welcome on a rainy September morning.
We found it a little far to walk over into the town centre but parking on the main street is plentiful. Probably wouldn't stay again because the decor wasn't really to our tastes, but apart from that the hosts couldn't have done more for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldenBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I loved my stay here. Very peaceful area. Well decorated and lovely food. Definately recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathydent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Our party of four stayed here on a stop over on the Coast to Coast Cycle ride.
Pat and Les were wonderful, we instantly felt at home, helped by tea and shortbread on arrival! The secure bike storage was great, the rooms spacious, clean and very well appointed. Pat had thoughtfully put a basket of full size extra toiletries in the bathroom, which was such a luxury, when we were packing very light! They could not have been more helpful in arranging an evening meal in Alston for us, ( I think it was Alston HOuse, excellent food and service)
I would not hesitate in recommending this lovely guest house as a place to stay, perfect hosts, beautiful peaceful spot, looking forward to going back again one day!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murphysmistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This is the second time weve stay here,1st time was when my husband done the c2c and we stopped over night in alston.We didnt see much of alston the first time we stayed so we promised are selves we'd go back for a weekend and didnt have any hesitation in staying at greycroft.Its a lovley home from home and nothing is too much trouble for pat and les.Weve stayed in both the rooms and both are perfect and have ensuites,nice location over looking rural settings and very quite and peacefull.The b&b is only a ten minute walk away from the town centre.Breakfast is wonderfull and a truelly smashing couple.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SupWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Just back from a lovely weekend break In The Eden Valley. We were lucky enough to find this wonderful B&B and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to fellow travellers. Pat and her husband are delightful hosts and the added extras make this every bit as good as it's four stars suggest. From the pot of tea, along with the home made shortbread on arrival to the delicious breakfast, makes this a Bed and Breakfast to return to

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soniajayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alston hotels
2.9 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#3 of 14 in Alston
268 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Miners Arms
The Miners Arms
#4 of 14 in Alston
69 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greycroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greycroft

Property: Greycroft
Address: Middle Park, Alston CA9 3AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greycroft, award winng accommodation, have been welcoming guest for well over 30 years, Furnished in a traditional style, lounge with TV, dinning room where breakfast is served over looking the garden and Pennines, good selection of cereal and fruit and yoghurt from the side table, plus hot choice from our menu. Two ensuite rooms, with electric blankets , TV , radio, well appointed drinks tray, plus many extras.We are less than a mile, (10 minutes walk) from the tiny historical town of Alston, set in the heart of the North Pennines with a choice of eating houses , on the C2C and PW68 cycle way and the famous Pennine way trail, plus many local foot paths with fantastic views ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greycroft Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing