We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect C2C stopover.”
Review of The Miners Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Miners Arms
Ranked #4 of 14 Alston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2013

For our family holiday this year we completed the C2C over 5 days, and the Miners Arms was our stop-off on Day 3. The accommodation was fantastic, the food in the pub was really good and the "Saddlesore" Ale was very welcome after a day in the saddle. All in all a lovely pub/B&B offering a very friendly service, clean and comfortable accommodation, safe storage for the bikes, and they also posted back my sons iPod that he managed to leave in the room. Would definitely recommend the Miners Arms as a perfect stopover on the C2C, even if the climb out of Nenthead is a bit of a haul. But the lovely cooked breakfast does help a lot.

Room Tip: There are only 2 twin rooms in the accommodation, but both of them are lovely. As the accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glitch404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband, myself and 14 year old son shared the triple room for one night, whilst my husband was doing part of the C2C as a practice run.
The room was very comfortable and well decorated and the bathroom was frankly plush.
The room was well equipped and the organic toiletries a nice touch.
We had dinner in the pub which was reasonably priced and pleasant.
Breakfast was great and when I asked for porridge, it was very kindly made for me.
They even stored my husband's bike overnight to save locking it in the car.
A perfect stopover at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

6 of us stayed here on our second night of cycling the c2c, it was the best accommodation of the trip, comfy beds, lovely room, very clean. Good cooked breakfast, good evening meal and reasonably priced.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank sara5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed at the Miners Arms whilst undertaking the C2C cycle challenge from Whitehaven to Sunderland. The newly refurbished 'bunkhouse' is fantastic. En suite facilities, very clean, beds very comfortable and also secure places to store your bikes. The food in the pub is absolute quality and reasonably priced, we can recommend the mixed grill! The coal fed stove in the bar pumped out the heat while we enjoyed a few beers afterwards to wash down the sizable meal portions. The staff were great and really helpful, nothing was a problem. The breakfast was also very good, with lots of choice and those racks of toast just kept on coming! We needed it for the climb out of Nenthead as we moved on to Allenheads! I would recommend this place to stay, eat and drink to all C2Cer's together with anyone passing through.

Room Tip: Ask for the Bunkhouse. There is a twin room and a triple room. Both are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stew_watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed for 1 night while riding the c2c. The Inn is right on the route and in an ideal location to stop. The room was much better than expected, the breakfast cooked for us out our time of choosing and dinner home cooked with a great selection. There is also a large playground straight opposite.

What made the Miner's Arms stand out was them washing and drying our cycling clothes. No other place on the route would do this small favour for us...and they did not even charge. That really made a difference.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GroundedKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed at the miner's arms for a very welcome nights rest on the c 2 c cycle route. Had a very friendly welcome from Alison who works incredibly hard to provide great hospitality on this famous route. Our newly converted room was very comfortable and spotless with excellent bathroom and great shower. Our evening meal was enjoyable with an excellent bottle of wine, followed by a very well cooked breakfast the next day, using all locally sourced ingredients. we would recommend this as an overnight stop for anyone doing the c 2 c. Alison even offers to dry off your wet clothes.

Tim and Liz Raper.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This pub is in a convenient location as there isn't a great deal of accommodation nearby.

Room I stayed in was not en-suite but had a TV. It was clean and of a good standard, and the same could be said of the bathroom.

Rooms are cheap and represent good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osborne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alston hotels
1.9 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
4.3 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
121 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#5 of 14 in Alston
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
4.3 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#3 of 14 in Alston
288 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Miners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Miners Arms

Address: Nenthead, Alston CA9 3PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price Range: £75 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Miners Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Judged to be one of the top ten B&B's in Cumbria by the Guardian. Green Tourism Gold Star Winner 2014 Quotes from guestbook "Never been so comfortable, good food,room great,warm welcome" "Fantastic room,everything you could need" "Had two nights here and wish it was more!! Lovely people " "Perfect place to find after cycling those hills" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Miners Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Miners Arms Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing