We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent day spent on the railway”

South Tynedale Railway
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Alston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come for a ride on the North of England’s double gold award winning narrow gauge railway winding from Alston into the South Tyne Valley in the North Pennines Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Our trains are hauled by steam, diesel or battery electric locos and all have a fascinating history. Both of our restored stations at Alston and Slaggyford house a café, ticket office and gift shop. At Alston you can explore our Discovery Centre and visit the viewing gallery above our engineering workshop. Most areas of the site are accessible and there are large car parks at Alston and Slaggyford.
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Visited the south Tyneside railway for the first time.From the moment we stepped on the platform at Alston station we were made most welcome. The knowledgeable staff told us about the railway,and in particular the engine driver took time to describe the controls.Before setting off we endulged in a lovely cup of tea and an excellent bacon roll from platform cafe. A lovely journey through the valley with an opportunity to walk the 5 miles and catch the train back there were intermediate stations if you didn't want to walk all the way to slaggford. At slaggford there was a lovely buffet carriage with friendly staff and a nice cup of tea and some pineapple and ginger cake(lovely and moist).Then it's back to Alston station for an excellent lunch.Can recommend the steak and wine pie and also the chicken skewers with homemade mint dip.The cafe staff were friendly and happy with there singing. It may have been the odor from the gin and tonic cake.A great day made even better by great staff. Excellent toilet facilities at both ends of the journey.

Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tynedale R, Marketing and Events Team at South Tynedale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thanks for writing this very entertaining review and as for the fumes from the gin and tonic cake ....we couldn't possibly comment!!! We hope you coem back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"alston station"
in 21 reviews
"narrow gauge"
in 7 reviews
"lovely trip"
in 6 reviews
"steam engine"
in 6 reviews
"waiting room"
in 3 reviews
"branch line"
in 3 reviews
"return journey"
in 4 reviews
"lovely scenery"
in 5 reviews
"tea and cake"
in 4 reviews
"ticket office"
in 6 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 15 reviews
"disabled access"
in 3 reviews
"lovely afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"buffet car"
in 8 reviews
"worth a trip"
in 4 reviews
"excellent cafe"
in 3 reviews
"car park"
in 10 reviews
Filter

33 - 37 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

First off, didn't actually ride the train....however......!!!

We arrived with the intention to. We were cycling the route that runs along side the track. The train will take bikes.

The station at Alston is beautifully presented and the train looks wonderful.

The route runs to Slaggyford and is easily ridden on a bike if you choose not to train.

Once at Slaggyford the fixed buffet car offers coffee and cake. We stopped for a brew and were very happy with this.

We hear there are plans to extend the railway which would be superb.

Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tynedale R, Marketing and Events Team at South Tynedale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you very much for leaving us a review and pleased you had a good cycle ride along the South Tyne Trail. Do come and see us again and maybe experience the train ride too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

We had excellent breakfast in the lovely new cafe on the station and then rode the first train to Slaggyford since 1976 which turned out to be an express no stopping service as nobody wanted to stop at the two stations on the way. Barber locomotive scurried us up the line chasing a deer from the track into a nearby field, the occasional whistle from the engine sending the sheep and lambs leaping from the track-side. We arrived at Slaggyford, once they got the crossing gates open, to cheers and banjo music. There was a very tasty buffet lunch and we watched the Locomotive run round the train, the station and facilities are excellent and the journey back has the promise of lunch in the cafe and a look over the balcony in the workshop most interesting

Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tynedale R, Marketing and Events team at South Tynedale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

What a lovely description of your journey! Thanks very much for leaving a review, we're so pleased you enjoyed the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Lovely little railway, unfortunately the extension of the line wasn't open in time for our holiday (our cottage was a few miles away from the new station) but otherwise a great trip. Highlights, getting to ride on the open end of the carriage, at the rear of the train, then, on the return journey behind the steam engine, and racing a deer (which was running alongside). Very happy all round, lovely day out. (family & dog friendly, and they give out blankets if its a cold day)

Thank PeredurTheBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tynedale R, Marketing and Events team at South Tynedale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

We're so pleased you had a lovely day and sorry you missed out on the ride to Slaggyford. The blankets have been a real hit with our visitors this year as it does get a little chilly in the North Pennines sometimes! Thank you for leaving us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018

We took the train on a single ticket to Lintley, fantastic views all the way.
The train isn’t going to Slaggyford yet so we walked it anyway.
A picnic in the village then a steady walk back to Alston on the rail side path, we did about five miles in total, a really enjoyable day out and well worth a visit.

Thank CachersAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tynedale R, Marketing and Events team at South Tynedale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

It sounds like you had a lovely day and we agree with you about the views; stunning whatever the weather. Thank you very much for leaving us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Tynedale Railway also viewed

 

Been to South Tynedale Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing