We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietly The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Alston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quietly The Best”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel was just amazing. Quiet scenic location and we were Gutted we forgot our walking boots but the staff are so friendly and discreetly efficient... The chef is a miracle worker and this was some of the best food I've ever eaten. I would try the eggs florentine but the kedgeree is highly recommended for breakfast. Everything about this place was just so perfect for our romantic anniversary break.... Will be back in January 14 hopefully and we can't wait!!

Room Tip: Four poster was a real treat ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    232
    92
    42
    18
See reviews for
30
506
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A treat which lived up to the high standards of our previous visits. Cannot recommend it highly enough if you want quiet luxury. The food is excellent, the staff are warm and welcoming, the rooms are also warm and comfortable.
Back again in February.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletchrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Running a country house hotel in the middle of nowhere must be a nightmare. The cost of maintaining the place, and attracting and keeping reliable staff adds to the mix. If you accept these facts then your stay at Lovelady will be an enjoyable one. Yes, it is a bit tired round the edges and out and out luxury it is not. The location is delightful with the river running by and the team are cheerful and attentive and the chef knows his game. My room was comfotable and everything seemed to work. If you plan a visit to this area - well worth a vist.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ings
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Lovelady Shields is in a superb location On arrival the staff were very friendly and welcoming The room was very comfortable and warm with a stunning view of the gardens. Tasting menu was not to be missed and breakfast was equally good The staff were always attentive without being intrusive The Lounge and bar were comfortable and relaxing for pre and after dinner drinks. We woke up to a snow covered garden how could we ask for more

Room Tip: Garden Views are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulRiley1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Lovelady Shield this weekend for the second time. The ambiance of the hotel is second only to the fine dining experience. To enjoy this standard of food - both evening meal and breakfast - at this price is a rare pleasure! The setting is beautiful and the staff friendly, attentive and helpful. We will be back again and will not leave it for as long next time!! Thanks!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tvrefugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was the third time we have stayed at Lovelady in the Shieling cottage.
Although you can self cater in this cottage and others,as well as staying in the hotel itself we opt for dinner bed and breakfast as the food is second to none.
Nothing is too much trouble,the staff are so helpful and we have come to treat it as a home from home.
The countryside around Alston is stunning and the autumn colours were spectacular.
I would highly recommend the Lovelady experience.
Do go on the website and see for yourselves the fabulous accommodation and superb menus you will return time after time to experience the delights and the fantastic value offered for one or two nights stay.
Just phone direct and get the best value for your money,lots of deals to be had especially last minute.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: The two bedroomed cottage is great for disabled but there is a step up into it apart from that once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaLa1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have just returned from a night at the hotel.
The hotel is in a beautiful location, although be prepared for a long drive through rugged country if approaching from the west. It could be interesting in bad weather!
We had taken advantage of a Travelzoo deal, which meant our stay was good value for money. The hotel is elegant and relaxed and we didn't mind it being a little worn around the edges.
I enjoyed our evening meal, we had the 7 course Taster menu. the lamb was particularly nice. However, The member of staff responsible for taking orders for dinner and wine would have done better if she spent less time joking with other guests and more time paying attention to getting things done in the correct manner. We were given a wine list, but she didn't take our wine order. We were shown to our table, and had to ask for wine. We ordered a bottle of red, which by then had no time to breath, and therefore was not served at its very best.
At the end of our meal I asked for a Cappuccino coffee. We were told by the waitress that someone had lost the nozzle off the coffee machine, but they were heating some milk to make me one. What I was given was the most disgusting cup of coffee I have ever been given. It was a cup of milky coffee with a large amount of cocoa floating on it. Totally Undrinkable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petermartinhaynes, Owner at Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Christine,
There are occasions when Grumps feels aggrieved and then there are genuine faults when you have to hold your hands up and apologise. Your review falls into the latter group.
Our staff are dismayed that you did not get the service you expected and for that we apologise.
Our coffee machine just broke down and our staff tried to circumnavigate things rather than offer a caffetiere as an alternative. You know there is always an element of doing wrong for doing right.
However we are pleased that other elements of your stay were enjoyable.
Grumps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
0.4 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
11.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,093 reviews
16.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
379 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
113 reviews
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel

Property: Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Address: Lovelady Lane, Alston CA9 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovelady Shield Country Hotel
Lovelady Shield Country Alston
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing