We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Alston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“what a lovely hotel”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked this hotel through wowcher. On arrival we were met by a lovely lady who made us very welcome. The hotel is very warm and comfortable with plenty of areas to sit with a large open fire in the lounge area. The scenery is wonderful - our room overlooked the river. The food was amazing. We had both breakfast and evening meal (which I have to say was stunning) and was probably one of the best hotel meals I have eaten.The staff were attentive and very friendly. The hotel is off the beaten track,but once inside it was difficult to leave.

Room Tip: We were in room 8 on the top floor - (there is no lift) but the room overlooks the river and ws very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheKKKKteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    223
    89
    42
    17
See reviews for
28
492
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel last Saturday on the travelzoo deal. Nice hotel in a very picturesque spot, room was very nice with a beautiful view. Food was nice too. The hotel is in the middle of no were which is abit of a pain.Only thing I will say about this place is I took very badly I'll on the Saturday and was rushed to a&e so I never got to stay on the Saturday night and didn't get the breakfast on the Sunday either yet I was charged the £20 suppliment for the Saturday night which I though was abit mean as they knew what the situation was.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

If you like a charming, warm, welcoming hotel with excellent food and away from the madding crowd this is for you.We decided to have a 4 night break there which ended up being 5 nights, as we couldn't bear to leave it in the end.

Owls houting at night time, with the local river babbing past our window .Very comfortable beds which you hated to get out off, as they were so clean and cosy.Very friendly polite staff indeed - discretion was the word. A very rare find and perhaps the best kept secret in Cumbria and the UK.

Certainly a discrete rainbow 6 star flag from us.

We shall certainly return in the not too distant future !!!

Room Tip: Room 12 a must as you had ample room ,two lovely Georgian sash windows and a very quiet room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights as we purchased an excellent deal
Through woucher! We arrived about 9pm so quite late, and the lady who greeted us was so friendly, the country house was stunning, warm, friendly, and welcoming. The rooms were comfy and decor was really in keeping with the age of the house and Immaculately clean and cozy. We had a meal
I'm the restaurant, and myself and my husband were very very impressed, and we eat in lots of nice restaurants!! Stunning!!
Breakfast was also stunning, plenty to eat, the service was quick and friendly.The staff are so relaxed and just leave you to chill after dinner in the bar or the lounge with the open fire.
The setting of the hotel is quiet and beautiful, a great little retreat if you want to relax.
I could go on......we loved it!! Would definitely go back. X

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mushrooms001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked this through Living Social deals so we did not know what to expect and we have to say this hotel exceeded our expectations.
Firstly it was immaculately clean. You could have as my mother used to say, eaten your dinner off the bathroom floor ( not that you would of course)!
The staff were ALL lovely and literally made our stay. They couldn't do enough for us and were very genuinely friendly.
The food was fantastic! The chefs deserve a big mention for this - especially as my husband currently has a list of special diet needs at the moment. This was no problem and the hotel did a great job with it.
The other point is that we felt really at home in the hotel. One afternoon we returned at 4pm and it was cold and drizzling outside. We ordered coffee and sat by the fire reading...it was lovely!
We will certainly go back and stay again. Thank you to all for a lovely stay x

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, each time we have gone through travel zoo. Both times we have had the tasting menu included in the price.I had the wines to go with each course this last visit which really complimented the food. It is a shame that on our last visit there were so few people eating in the restaurant .
There are three lounges, one with an open fire. It is a friendly comfortable hotel, definitely not a "boutique hotel" with bells and whistles. If you want relaxing quiet country retreat with great food this is the hotel for you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Felicity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duraham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by a friendly but efficient lady who made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. The ambiance was peaceful and calm but comfortable yet smart. The room was very clean and had an amazing view over lovely gardens and amazing countryside. We chose to eat in and the meals both breakfast and dinner were some of the best we have experienced not just in this country but also in Europe. We did on our second night experience the valentines dinner which was wonderful-the beef was my favourite course of the many served. Staff were great and nothing was infact too much trouble. We will be returning!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 178annie12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
0.4 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
11.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
16.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel

Property: Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Address: Lovelady Lane, Alston CA9 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovelady Shield Country Hotel
Lovelady Shield Country Alston
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing