We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Staffield Hall(Kirkoswald)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (716)
    Filter reviews
    716 results
    Traveller rating
    288
    256
    105
    47
    20
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    288
    256
    105
    47
    20
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscourse taster menuwine flightluxury roombistro menukedgereeaccompanying winestasting dinnerpot holescountry housesorbettravelzoo offersome tlceggs florentinewine listdining roomtwo night staydining experience
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    465 - 470 of 716 reviews
    Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

    We booked this stay through wowcher....on arrival we didn't receive our glass of wine like it was stated on the paperwork, also we asked twice through email and over the phone for the vouchers re 30% off our main evening meal but didn't receive that. The room was dated and not what was expected from the room we thought we was going to be in. The beds were comfy and we had a nice view over the river. There wasn't much warm water when we came to having a shower. The staff were amazing though and did all they could to help.

    • Stayed: April 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Ashley-Jayne01
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 April 2014

    We visited on an off peak inclusive one night deal. The hotel is entirely charming. It is well off the beaten track, but that is part of the attraction. Lovely views and a fast running stream at the foot. Lovelady Shield is furnished in traditional country house style - that is, without pretention and with the emphasis on comfort, particularly in the public rooms. The staff were efficient and delightful. We had the gourmet tasting dinner which was first rate - particularly the local lamb, and the recommended wines to match. And this is where it gets serious - the owner is a wine enthusiast and this is reflected in the quality and length of the wine list. It is extraordinary for a relatively small hotel. The wines were served with both flourish and explanation. We will be back soon.

    Room Tip: Room 10 has a lovely view out over the countryside.
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank Stephen G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 March 2014

    Each of our visits have been a welcome treat and an escape from our normal rushed routine, and our most recent one was equally pleasing, as others have said, the staff here are second to none and the food and wine are superb quality - the view from our room of the garden and surrounding countryside was magnificent, yes the hotel does creak a little around its edges given it's age but then don't we all and that's what helps to keep the hotel's character which is an indulgent home from home experience.

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank cag65
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 March 2014

    We booked this hotel through wowcher. On arrival we were met by a lovely lady who made us very welcome. The hotel is very warm and comfortable with plenty of areas to sit with a large open fire in the lounge area. The scenery is wonderful - our room overlooked the river. The food was amazing. We had both breakfast and evening meal (which I have to say was stunning) and was probably one of the best hotel meals I have eaten.The staff were attentive and very friendly. The hotel is off the beaten track,but once inside it was difficult to leave.

    Room Tip: We were in room 8 on the top floor - (there is no lift) but the room overlooks the river and ws very quiet
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank TheKKKKteam
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

    Stayed at this hotel last Saturday on the travelzoo deal. Nice hotel in a very picturesque spot, room was very nice with a beautiful view. Food was nice too. The hotel is in the middle of no were which is abit of a pain.Only thing I will say about this place is I took very badly I'll on the Saturday and was rushed to a&e so I never got to stay on the Saturday night and didn't get the breakfast on the Sunday either yet I was charged the £20 suppliment for the Saturday night which I though was abit mean as they knew what the situation was.

    Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    5  Thank robert g
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews