We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country House in a Lovely Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Alston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Country House in a Lovely Setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here on a Groupon deal for two nights this month. We were allocated room 8 which was OK but was three flights up with no lift and overlooked a flat roof on one side and the river at the front. Beds were comfy and the bedroom itself was fine with flat screed telly, DVD player, CD Player and Ipod player. However the real let down was the bathroom. Very small and very low water pressure. Really struggled to have a shower as they pressure was so poor. We only stayed bed and breakfast so cannot comment on the evening meal which was very expensive at £47 per head. The breakfast was very served rather than a buffet and was lovely the first morning but the second morning I had an cheese, mushroom and ham omelette and was really ill with it. I only just made it back to the room were I was very sick. As we had to be out of the room by 11.00 we struggled to pack but managed to leave on time. I am pretty sure it was the omelette, maybe the ingredients as my husband had a plain one and he was fine. As no-one was around downstairs when we left we left the key on the reception desk and set off home.
If you want to be able to have a Shower avoid Room 8.

There are some lovely walks from the hotel along the river - One way to Alston and the opposite way to the nearest pub where we ate the first night. Good meal at the Swan in Alston also

Room Tip: No rooms will suffer from noise other than the birds tweeting in the morning. But higher floors obv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southernpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    214
    89
    41
    17
See reviews for
27
482
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just returned from two night stay at this hotel. Over all quite happy with the stay, but had room 6 and every time we used the shower we were almost scalded. We reported the problem to staff who said this happened when central heating was turned off, but that they could override it. However the next time we used the shower the same thing happened. Having to stand to one side of the shower and use a facecloth to wash is not ideal. My wife finished up having to wash her hair over the washbasin. This shower is dangerous and should be mended asap, before someone does get scalded. This aside we were quite happy with everything else although there are a few areas which could be better maintained, e.g. tidy up the balcony to room next to 6,clean out gutters which have weeds growing in them and tidy up the approach to hotel which does not give a good first impression.

Staff very friendly and efficient in restaurant at breakfast time.

We did not eat in hotel apart from breakfast which was very good, a really good choice and huge portions. The price of drinks is rather excessive, the cost of a measure of malt whisky was up to £9, way out of proportion to pub prices.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a very nice view of garden but beware of the shower, dangerous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The room we were given was room 9, first impressions were good. However the settee was rather lumpy and we had to move a bedside table to have somewhere to comfortably sit with a cuppa.

The bed, although very comfortable, would benefit from a duvet rather than blankets especially in the summer.

The bathroom appeared to be fairly recently fitted out and although others have complained about the water pressure we didn't experience any problems.

The staff were friendly, and chatted if you wanted to and didn't to those who didn't seem to want to.

Form me the big disappointment was the food. Firstly, everything was under seasoned. Secondly everything had been tweeked and puréed within an inch of its life leaving very little texture to the food. The presentation was "gourmet" the taste weak. The only course I really enjoyed was the lime sorbet!! This was the taster menu priced at more than £50 a head. Matching wines were another £24 and very ordinary. Aldi could have matched them for a lot less.

Breakfast was ok, although the kippers were rather dry, and the 2 rashers of bacon cooked together leaving them rather undercooked was fine for my husband but would have gone back to be cooked properly had I ordered them.

I wouldn't go here again.

Room Tip: Room 9 had a comfortable bed and nice bathroom but the settee was lumpy. We had no problem with wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petermartinhaynes, Owner at Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear PaulMtrip,

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry your stay was not all you wanted it to br.
We really cannot be responsible for the wind and the nature of the roads!
Yes we are in the middle of nowhere but actually unlike the central lakes we are the centre for every where, albeit the lakes, Hadrian's wall Yorkshire dales etc...
As far as WIFI is concerned it is available throughout the hotel but because of the thickness of the walls does not penetrate easily.
We are blessed with water from a natural spring which has to be filtered and sometimes as the filters fill up, pressure does drop and we are sorry if this occurred during your stay.
Peter and Marie Haynes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The deco and food are excellent, staff are friendly and efficient. We went mid week with a 7course taster menu it was fantastic. The bedroom and particularly the bathroom was beautifully decorated.
The outside was a bit tired and could do with some attention.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christinep2649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights on the Amazon Local deal, which was a birthday gift.

The hotel --

Getting to the hotel was hard work, on very windy and wavey roads. Apart from Alston it's pretty much in the middle of nowhere, with limited phone reception too.

The room was tired, although comfortable, and the bed was very large and comfortable.

The bathroom was cramped. The shower was terrible. It was at best a sprinkling of water. It's one of few hotels where the first thing I wanted to do when I got home was have a shower to feel clean.

In 2014 I expect WiFi in the room. It was only available in the lounges.

The hotel seems to attract a lot of more "mature" guests. (I'd say most were double our age of 30-odd.) This led to it feeling fairly unrelaxed. My partner and I were scavenging some WiFi on our tablet/laptop in the lounge and an elderly couple talked about us (directly in front of us!) commenting that we weren't talking to each other!

The food --

The set 7 course menu was excellent. We've eaten in similarly priced places before and the courses were all on par. I highly recommend visiting the restaurant (either staying in the cottages or elsewhere in Alston!).

The breakfast was okay. Service was a bit hit and miss. It was definitely a let down after the evening meal.

Room Tip: Request a room on a lower floor with (apparently) better showers or stay in a cottage / elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cec0c932ce01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Checked in after a walk into Alston along the banks of the River Nent. Looking forward to a good shower but unfortunately there was a problem with the water supply cutting off in the whole hotel. Joanne was on shift & managed to get it sorted out within about an hour. The approach to the hotel is on a long drive. The outside of the building could do with some maintenance as it it gives totally the wrong impression initially. The inside is very nice indeed with a couple of comfortable lounges & an attractive bar.

Our room was was very good carpet clean & nice large white fluffy towels in the en-suite. Looked quite new tiling, Shower pressure a little weak for my liking.

We were on a Wowcher deal for 2 nights & it was fantastic value for money.

Ate out instead of taking up the gourmet dinner offer. Must say though that the breakfast was superb particularly on the first morning. Good service all round & dining room very nice. Second morning just one or two little things forgotten after placing our order.

The only negative for me is the smell from the drains or septic tank outside the hotel. The garden would be a treat for people to sit in if not into walking the hills like we were.

All in all we would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickeyboyDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I had a two day weekend stay at Lovelady Shield. Had to phone for directions after our sat nav directed us to the 'back of beyond'. Lovely ambiance, very friendly staff, but the highlight of the weekend was the food. Friday night had the 'taster menu'. This was fantastic and each course came with a specific wine. Saturday night we ate there again. Once more the food was wonderful. Beautifully cooked and presented. Would recommend this hotel for the food alone. The hotel was nice, with nice squashy settees and chairs in the lounge. The only downside was the town of Alston. It was dirty, and most of the pubs were abandoned. There were more shops that were closed and the whole town looked dirty. But overall our stay was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
0.4 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
11.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
16.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel

Property: Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Address: Lovelady Lane, Alston CA9 3LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovelady Shield Country Hotel
Lovelady Shield Country Alston
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing