We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful break”
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

My husband booked our 2 night stay through wowcher and I have to say we had a lovely time.
Adele and Laura were lovely and very helpful with directions and information.
The food was of outstanding quality and very well worth the money.
Will return for another visit and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zanypanther72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    191
    43
    18
    14
See reviews for
45
384
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Nent Hall is situated on the coast to coast cycle route and is a favourite stop-off for riders halfway into their torture. The hotel does not rest on its laurels in this regard however and it would be all too easy for them to hike up the prices (supply and demand) and cut corners on the accommodation. Far from it. Nent Hall is nestled in the countryside and is a beautiful old building with some sympathetic extensions added over the years. Very picturesque. The public areas are well maintained and cosy. We had a four poster bedroom and whilst the bathroom could do with a bit of an update it was lovely in all regards. It's nice to arrive somewhere and find that the pics on the website haven't been photoshopped to hell and that what you actually get is what you booked.

The staff are great - very welcoming and efficient. The breakfasts are good quality with decent portions - they need to fulfil the function of providing enough fuel for a long bike ride for the majority of customers. The bar is lovely and cosy - a constantly replenished open log fire and comfy chairs to rest saddle sore bums. Again, the service is great.

If you're wanting to wander further afield to neighbouring villages/towns you're going to need a car or be prepared for a decent walk.

Admittedly we got a cracking deal on a weekend break at Nent Hall through Wowcher which which sweetened the deal but even without this we had a fabulous time. That said, the hotel's normal tariff is tremendous value with any discounts. We would definitely go back again which, from fussy hotel punters like us, is praise indeed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacko66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed here on a wowcher deal. All of the staff were approachable and helpful. The room was clean but did have a slightly musty/damp smell about it. The bathroom was clean but the shower curtain was stained with black mould and the tiles need attention for the same reason. The reproduction furniture placed throughout the hotel creates the impression of an old and charming country house. Very comfortable sofas in both the quiet and lounge areas. Breakfast was adequate but coffee was weak and tasteless. The coach house restaurant had a good menu for basic pub grub but portions could be a bit more generous. The staff were very friendly and are a good asset to the hotel but would benefit from more hospitality training. Lovely countryside setting but be prepared to travel for entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Was immediately impressed with the friendliness of the staff when contacting the hotel for the reservation. The four poster bedroom was clean but mattress was hard and the room could do with a little bit of sprucing up which was the only reason I haven't given 5 stars. Bar meals and service was very good,had the chefs nettle soup starter on recommendation of the waitress and it was very nice.Met the chef on 2nd night and he was very enthusiastic about his food. Breakfasts were plentiful and good.The surrounding area is lovely and surprisingly quiet with lots of walks. I highly recommend people to visit this area and stay at Nent Hall

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We booked a weekend here on a wowcher deal. The room overlooked the car par, was spacious and clean if a little musty which we put down to a carpeted bathroom, never a good idea. evening meals were ok but a little short on portion size which also carried thru to breakfast although quality was good. The hotel was very hot so much so that we had to leave the restaurant bar before dessert as it was uncomfortable.The hotel is very isolated so you will probably eat there.
All in all it was good value for money and would return

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woooodentop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Booked a family room and a double. Family room (22) was comfortable and slept 5. Only negative was the mould in the corner of the bathroom carpet - otherwise lovely. Double (21) was a four poster and was lovely. Very good value. Nice playground for children and lovely garden. Meal served in bar was excellent, bar surroundings comfy and welcoming. Good choice at breakfast too. Staff were all friendly and very helpful. Will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: Our rooms were in the annex on ground floor - easily accessible and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank templey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed as part of a wowcher deal for two nights. The bedroom was very clean, and decorated and furnished to a high standard. The service and food were faultless. Unfortunately, the room was let down by it's bathroom, which needed modernising, but was clean and comfortable. We were very comfortable in the room, and the surroundings are completely tranquil.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
11.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,093 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
113 reviews
20.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
15.8 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nent Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nent Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Nent Hall Country House Hotel
Address: New Nenthall Farm A689 | A689, Alston CA9 3LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nent Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nent Hall Hotel is one of the finest hotels in Cumbria. Nent hall is located one of the highest points in Cumbria two and a half miles from Alston, England's highest market town. Situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and only a short drive from the Lake District, Hadrian's Wall and many other English Heritage sites. Nent Hall provides the perfect base from which to explore Cumbria, described as England's last wilderness. Built in 1858 the building has real Character and wonderful grounds, don't forget we also have a pub on site, no need to go outside as it's attached to the main hotel. From wholesome pub grub to fine dining. Self catering Rustic to on-suite rooms. Nent Hall has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Nent Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nent Hall Country Hotel
Nent Hall Country Alston
Nent Hall Country House Hotel Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing