We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alston
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

What can I say apart from we loved this hotel. Quaint, quirky and very relaxing. Great food, drink and like minded guests. Staff were so helpful and hardworking nothing was a bother. It was our first venture holidaying with a dog (George) and was dubious but nothing was too much trouble for the fantastic people of Nent hall, and George loved it too.This hotel is a great little secret and we will be back. Only one criticism we think the hotel charges too little for rooms we would be willing tp pay more. Thanks for a great weekend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank redria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    186
    42
    18
    14
See reviews for
41
380
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

A fabulous hotel in an amazing setting. On arrival we were not too impressed, the decor is dated and the hotel is remote. We soon realised that this is what makes the place so special, a perfect place to get away from it all! The evening meal in the restaurant was top quality and very good value. I would return just for the cheesecake. Thanks to the lovely staff for a delightful stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Samanjeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
286 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Just returned from a very relaxing enjoyable 3 days at Nent Hall. The food is excellent, we dined in the Restaurant on the Saturday night and had an excellent meal. Normally when on a short break we would find other places to dine, but the food here is so good we ate in the bar on the other two nights of our stay. Breakfasts were also excellent. The room (15) was very comfortable and well furnished with plenty of hanging space and drawer space. The en-suite bathroom was a little tired but adequate, with a very good shower. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had stayed here before and were delighted to stay in the same charming room 19. The staff are very friendly and we love the old fashioned charm along with the piece and quiet. We are looking forward to our next break at Nent Hall. Many thanks to all the staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marlyn385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham City, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night (Friday, 14th March) and had an excellent 24 hours in which we enjoyed taking in a local walk; comfortable accommodation and good food and drink. What more could you ask for. We felt the whole deal represented excellent value for money.

The Nent Hall is easy to find and the journey through County Durham into Cumbria on the A689 is a pleasant one in itself.

We arrived quite early as we wanted to do some walking and this presented no problems for the very helpful hotel staff as our room was ready. Check in was quick and simple and the escort to the room a bonus.

We then took the very pleasant, and fairly easy walk along the River Nent from immediately outside the hotel into Alston. It is about 3- 4 miles (1 1/2 hours) each way. We spent some time in Alston itself before returning to the hotel.

The room was comfortable and the bath deep with ample hot water. Ideal after doing some 7 miles walking. The room had tea/coffee facilities; TV ( with DVD player) and was both clean and comfortable.

We choose to eat in the Coach House Pub bar - attached to the hotel - and we found the menu choice sufficient in its variety. Our starters and main meals were very good and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. I sampled some of the local Allendale ales ( the 'Wolf'' ale was particularly good) and my wife also enjoyed her wine to accompany her meal. The real fire gave the pub a warm and cosy feel to it.

Afterwards we sat and relaxed, with another drink, in the very comfortable lounge area and took in the full surroundings of the hotel.

A comfortable bed gave us both a good nights sleep and the adequate, powerful shower prepared us well for our full English breakfast in the pleasant surroundings of the restaurant area.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay in the Hotel and we will return again later in the summer to take in more walking and enjoy the value for money that the Nent Hall offers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We looked for a reasonable one night break for a Saturday just for a change of scene. Nent Hall fitted the bill perfectly. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and the staff were so pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a light lunch in the bar and then drove into Alston for a wander around. On our return we had a drink from the bar and read in the lounge. We later ate in the restaurant which was well attended. The food was very good and excellent value for money. We couldn't fault this place. Yes it is perhaps a bit jaded and in need of updating but our twin room was spotlessly clean and warm so we had no complaints. If you are looking for a reasonable homely break away Nent Hall is the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmshore, Lancs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Was looking for somewhere away from it all, where we could get sone "us" time, and this looked to suit the bill perfectly - we were not disappointed. Arriving at the hotel on Friday evening, we were given a warm welcome and shown to our room - a nice touch, and the staff were very pleasant too. A relaxing evening in the bar followed by a good meal was just what we needed.
After a great breakfast, we walked to Alston by the riverside, and frequently came across the area's mining history. Saturday night followed a similar vein as Friday's - excellent.
Our two nights there felt like a lot longer, so we know we'll be planning a return sometime soon, perhaps even bringing some of the family to show them what they missed!

Room Tip: Room 24 was perfect - very little noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highlander1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
11.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
20.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
14.7 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nent Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nent Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Nent Hall Country House Hotel
Address: New Nenthall Farm A689 | A689, Alston CA9 3LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nent Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nent Hall Hotel is one of the finest hotels in Cumbria. Nent hall is located one of the highest points in Cumbria two and a half miles from Alston, England's highest market town. Situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and only a short drive from the Lake District, Hadrian's Wall and many other English Heritage sites. Nent Hall provides the perfect base from which to explore Cumbria, described as England's last wilderness. Built in 1858 the building has real Character and wonderful grounds, don't forget we also have a pub on site, no need to go outside as it's attached to the main hotel. From wholesome pub grub to fine dining. Self catering Rustic to on-suite rooms. Nent Hall has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Nent Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nent Hall Country Hotel
Nent Hall Country Alston
Nent Hall Country House Hotel Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing