We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cumberland Inn(Alston)(Great Value!)
US$110
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
US$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$285
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveller rating
295
202
46
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
295
202
46
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedcoach houselamb shankattached pubfamily roombar mealsweekend breaksteak and ale pielovely hotelexcellent value for moneyrestaurant menuboth nightsopen fireevening meallounge areacooked breakfastplenty of hot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed at nent hall on the 19th June for 5nights couldn't wish for better staff they were very very nice nothing was too much trouble the food again was great and yes it needs some updating but think it would spoil the character of the place was well worth a second visit Sue and john from yorkshire

Room Tip: We had a four poster bed in our room over looking the garden room 21
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suetordoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Recently we were looking for somewhere different to celebrate a friend's birthday and almost at the last minute came up with the idea of visiting Nent Hall Hotel. It was a really good decision.

Nent Hall is charming old country house located in the beautiful North Pennines and there is ample parking. On arrival we were given a very warm welcome by lovely lady who later told us she was from Rochdale. We chose to dine in the restaurant as it was a special occasion although the bar area looked excellent too. Food and service were simply fantastic and very good value. A three course dinner for four people with drinks and coffees came to around £100 which we all thought was excellent value, especially given the good quality of the food and near perfect service. Although we weren't guests staying at the hotel, we had the opportunity to round off our meal with coffees in the lounge which was a very comfortable and relaxing space. We weren't rushed or hurried at any time during the evening.

I understand that the lady who was running the hotel and who looked after us so well was acting as a temporary manager that evening. I do hope that she becomes a permanent addition to the team as she was an ideal host to us as well as all the other guests.

I agree with one of the other reviewers that perhaps the décor needs to be freshened up but in no way did that spoil our experience. We're already planning to go back again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank worldecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Decided to take a short break with our daughter and chose this hotel from the description on the website. It sounded idyllic, but whilst it may have been a really nice place a number of years ago, it would appear that virtually nothing has been done to maintain it for years. This is a real shame as it is in a lovely location, and the staff are great. Unfortunately, the food is just pub grub, which, although there is not much wrong with this, we look forward to getting dressed for dinner which obviously would have been inappropriate.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I stayed recently at this hotel for our wedding anniversary weekend. The hotel is in a peaceful setting and it was a beautiful drive to get to it. We stopped for afternoon tea in the lovely village of Alston. The hotel looks wonderful from the outside - very olds worldy. Inside it is obvious that areas have been modernised without losing the original charm. After a friendly welcome we were shown to our room. We had a charming room with a four poster. The food was wonderful and the staff were attentive but discreet. We loved our stay and will definitely return. This is a very special out of the way place.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel direct and enquire about a room especially if it's for a special occasion.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lurchergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed on a Saturday evening during our C2C trip. There was 16 cyclists in our group and the staff dealt with us in a very understanding friendly and efficient way. The rooms were lovely. The 2 course evening meal priced at £12.50 was just the job for hungry cyclists. The morning was equally praiseworthy with a lovely breakfast served early to allow us to get on our way. We would not hesitate to stay here again. Well done everyone at Nent Hall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews