We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have just returned from a three-night stay at Nent Hall, and I enjoyed it very much. It's in a quiet position a couple of miles outside Alston, and is a good base for touring the area.

The room I has was comfortable, and the public areas are very attractive - spacious and furnished in traditional style. The atmosphere is very informal, and the whole place is unpretentious in the best possible way.

Evening meals in the bar were fine, and the breakfasts were very good indeed. The staff were friendly and helpful, and if I decide to return to the area, I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TEI554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Nent Hall Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Have never stayed here, but I eat in the bar quite often, the last occasion was last weekend, when, due to every table in the bar being reserved, we ate outside in the warm evening sun.

I've had most things from the slightly overpriced menu, and I've not a lot to complain about generally; it's decent pub food in good quantities, and the garlic mushroom starter is highly recommended. However last week the steak and ale pie reached an unexpected level of lovelieness, packed with chunks of great beef in a thick gravy, with a beautifully crisped crust. " lamb shanks were devoured by my chums, though one commented that the portion could have been larger, though I thought it ample enough, greedy bugger.

Wines and beers were a delight, a memorable summer evening was created, to add to our memorable winter ones her.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank GraemeySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Decided to go to Nent Hall for a relaxing break and easy access to the Lakes without being too close. Beautiful rural peaceful setting with a small pub attached where the meals are delicious. We had the superior 4 poster room which was beautiful with steps leading down into the en suite. Comfy and clean. As other people have said the Staff are a fantastic asset and so friendly and very helpful. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Chose this hotel for a long week for it's situation in a beautiful area. First impressions weren't good - potholed car park, peeling paint and abandoned gardens. Inside wasn't too bad but needed a thorough going over with a paintbrush. The redeeming features were however the fantastic staff and the great food. It's a pity that the absentee owner can't be bothered to invest in the place to restore it to it's full potential.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mod300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed at nent hall on the 19th June for 5nights couldn't wish for better staff they were very very nice nothing was too much trouble the food again was great and yes it needs some updating but think it would spoil the character of the place was well worth a second visit Sue and john from yorkshire

Room Tip: We had a four poster bed in our room over looking the garden room 21
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suetordoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Recently we were looking for somewhere different to celebrate a friend's birthday and almost at the last minute came up with the idea of visiting Nent Hall Hotel. It was a really good decision.

Nent Hall is charming old country house located in the beautiful North Pennines and there is ample parking. On arrival we were given a very warm welcome by lovely lady who later told us she was from Rochdale. We chose to dine in the restaurant as it was a special occasion although the bar area looked excellent too. Food and service were simply fantastic and very good value. A three course dinner for four people with drinks and coffees came to around £100 which we all thought was excellent value, especially given the good quality of the food and near perfect service. Although we weren't guests staying at the hotel, we had the opportunity to round off our meal with coffees in the lounge which was a very comfortable and relaxing space. We weren't rushed or hurried at any time during the evening.

I understand that the lady who was running the hotel and who looked after us so well was acting as a temporary manager that evening. I do hope that she becomes a permanent addition to the team as she was an ideal host to us as well as all the other guests.

I agree with one of the other reviewers that perhaps the décor needs to be freshened up but in no way did that spoil our experience. We're already planning to go back again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank worldecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Decided to take a short break with our daughter and chose this hotel from the description on the website. It sounded idyllic, but whilst it may have been a really nice place a number of years ago, it would appear that virtually nothing has been done to maintain it for years. This is a real shame as it is in a lovely location, and the staff are great. Unfortunately, the food is just pub grub, which, although there is not much wrong with this, we look forward to getting dressed for dinner which obviously would have been inappropriate.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alston
11.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,147 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
118 reviews
18.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
0.4 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nent Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nent Hall Country House Hotel

Address: New Nenthall Farm A689 | A689, Alston CA9 3LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alston
Price Range: £63 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nent Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nent Hall Hotel is one of the finest hotels in Cumbria. Nent hall is located one of the highest points in Cumbria two and a half miles from Alston, England's highest market town. Situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and only a short drive from the Lake District, Hadrian's Wall and many other English Heritage sites. Nent Hall provides the perfect base from which to explore Cumbria, described as England's last wilderness. Built in 1858 the building has real Character and wonderful grounds, don't forget we also have a pub on site, no need to go outside as it's attached to the main hotel. From wholesome pub grub to fine dining. Self catering Rustic to on-suite rooms. Nent Hall has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Nent Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nent Hall Country Hotel
Nent Hall Country Alston
Nent Hall Country House Hotel Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing