We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy, clean, and smart.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Naworth

Naworth external view with balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Naworth external view with balcony
external view from churchyard living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Naworth external view with balcony
external view from churchyard
living room
living room
living / dining area
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
dining area
entrance to man bedroom
king size bedroom
ceiling-lights in King-size bedroom
Naworth stone in kitchen wall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Alston, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sheilanur...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely property needing some updating”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I loved my stay in Alston, it is a very wild and beautiful area and heaven if you are a lover of wild windy and often wet wilderness.
Naworth is perfectly positioned to allow you access to the pubs and shops of Alston but also easy access to lovely walks. It is an upside down property which allows you to enjoy the view from the lounge balcony. It is beautifully warm with lovely crisp bed linen and a well equip kitchen. All that said the property is 'tired' and in need of decoration and updated soft furnishing, especially in the lounge. The rug in the twin room is very badly stained, the tile floors are cracked in places and discoloured. The kitchen worktop needs replacing as water damage has lifted the surface from the wood around the sink. These things may seem minor but there is a lot of competition in Alston so there are lots of other places to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Alston but are very disappointed to hear that you found some aspects of our property unsatisfactory.
We always ask our customers to complete a feedback form before they depart, so that we can deal with problems as promptly as possible. It is a pity that we were away ourselves when you stayed, so we weren’t able to meet you. Your friend who stayed in the cottage with you, who had visited previously and was keen to return, filled in the form and didn’t raise any of your concerns. She just wrote ‘had another great stay in Naworth. So relaxing. Love this place’. On our feedback form we invite guests to report any problems that they experience during their stay. Your friend reported on a glass that had been broken during your stay but you did not take the opportunity to draw our attention to these matters that you are now making public on TripAdvisor.
You stayed towards the end of our season when we annually assess our accommodation, and spring clean the cottages, making any replacements and improvements that are necessary.
The children of the previous guests spilt what appeared to be Ribena on the floor mat you refer to, and our cleaners had only the day to clean the cottages ready for you and your friend, so the stain you report on is in fact a watermark from our attempt to remove a much worse stain.
Yes, we have a hairline crack across a small number of tiles in the hallway, but no guests have commented on this before. The tiles are not discoloured. They are a ‘heritage design’ which we chose to complement the cottage/contemporary atmosphere of our cottage.
Yes, we have a very small defect on the worktop at the edge of the kitchen sink but you almost have to find this by feeling with your fingers as it’s barely visible.
Each year the soft furnishings are dry-cleaned in our quiet period over the winter. However, your comment on the lounge furniture being out of date is your personal opinion which is not shared by other guests. It is a tried and tested design that has been around for some years and is still on the market and selling well.
Each year we are assessed by Visit Britain and since 2008 when we first opened, all our cottages have been consistently assessed as four star gold. We strive to continue to maintain this high standard.
We do value all our guests’ comments and we will be ensuring that Naworth is in great condition for our guests for the festive season and beyond.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuck w
Alton, Illinois
1 review
“Cozy, clean, and smart.”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife and I used Naworth as a "home base" for our exploration of the area, and were perfectly happy with our stay. Extremely comfortable, well thought out, and spotless. I hope we can return next summer. Very helpful and friendly owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annasef12...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stylish well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

stayed here for 5 days .cottage was spacious and very well equipped. the location was quiet and peaceful with lots of walks straight from the door.

have stayed at many cottages over the years and this was one of the best.

sonia and peter gave us a warm welcome and were very informative about the cottage and surrounding area. thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing stay - I've even rebooked!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed at Naworth twice now, once with my 2 boys and a second trip with my partner. The cottage was extremely clean and well presented.
Naworth cottage is comfy, clean and was perfect for me and my 2 children and then for a getaway for me and my partner. The bedding, bathroom were exceptionally clean, as was the rest of the cottage and the beds were very comfortable. The kitchen is very well equipt and again spotless - a good size fridge, cooker, toaster, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave etc. Quite simply a home from home! Owners were very accommodating and communications were excellent. Alston itself is a beautiful village, with close amenities and some gorgeous views. Sonia (Owner) also advised us of a nearby waterfall with a nice countryside walk. We found the waterfall and Sonia had been true to her word, it was very pretty and idilic. You can even walk behind it. Very tranquil.
Location wise, Alston is only around 45/50 mins from Newcastle or about an hour from Gretna should you want to visit other places, although there is plenty to do around Alston. I would recommend a meal at Alston House - the food, atmosphere and service was excellent.
I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie279
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All you could need for a perfect stay.”
Reviewed 27 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Just returned from 4 nights at Naworth. Highly recommended for accomodation in Alston, everything in the village close by and a very well furnished property where the owner supplies all the necessities needed along with tips on places to visit.. Beautiful house and well cared.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities and decor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing