We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel Inn

The Angel Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Angel Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Alston B&B and Inns
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here. We were greeted by very friendly staff, great location, lovely breakfasts and rooms good sizes. The staff couldn't do enough and made us all so welcome. The hotel can be noisy until late at night but not a problem for us as we were out late.
The place is very cosy and we will stay again.

Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    16
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

One of the few pubs/hotels left in Alston, located on a cobbled street so some road noise if in a room facing the street with the window open. A warm welcome from the landlord and staff. The menu was extensive and the quality of the food good. The bedrooms were quirky, clean but with a 1950's style of decoration and authentic creaky floors - definitely not a run of the mill chain hotel establishment.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but rooms at the front have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narre Warren, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had previously Google Earthed Alston and located the "Angel".
My trip was genealogical in substance, my ancestors having come from this area during the 1860's.
I found the staff at the pub most enjoyable and they were not backward in providing leads for my genealogical research.
The food was, so far as I was concerned, excellent, both in taste and quantity and was served in good time.
The room was reasonable given the location of Alston, with private w/c and shower. The bed was comfortable, and warm.
When I left the pub, at around 6:45am, I had sandwiches made for me for my drive back to Carlisle.
I would have no problems in recommending this pub to anyone who was contemplating a stay in Alston.

Room Tip: Seek out room 1, as it is to the rear of the building and away from the cobblestones of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here during our walk along the Pennine Way. The inn is easy to find, on a cobbled hill in Alston.

Our room had a double bed and a decent bathroom. There was a bit of noise from the occasional farm vehicle traversing the cobbled hill outside, but nothing drastic. We slept well and felt well-rested the next morning.

The bar looked nice but we didn't choose to eat here simply because we had been given such a glowing recommendation for another place nearby.

Breakfast was hearty and served at a large table downstairs. This set-up made for pleasant and informative chat with our fellow guest, who were walkers and history enthusiasts.

The landlord, as we were leaving, gave us good advice for our onward walk. In the street outside is a chemist and a bakery - helpful for walkers!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Flying_Scotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Old fashioned pub on a cobbled street in a picture postcard village. Cosy bar with a nice range of beers and hearty food. Portion sizes provide enough calories to fuel the cyclists and hikers who make up much of the clientele. Rooms are over the bar so there is some noise (voices of smokers outside rather than from the bar really). Room was clean, comfortable and well sized although the bathroom was on the small side.
Basic and filling full English breakfast, but disappointed to get instant coffee rather than a decent brew.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

From the moment you enter it's obvious that this establishment isn't the Ritz but you wouldn't want it to be. It's a real village pub with a great range of beers, fantastic food and clean bedrooms.
A warm welcome, a warm bed, a wonderful choice of hot food and cold beer, what more could you ask? Friendly host- he's here, fantastic location- this is it, if you are in this area then I'd say don't miss out on this little gem. It's not pretentious but is great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PETER D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

on a visit to alston we went to the angel inn on a saturday evening for a meal, the locals were very friendly and the staff are faultless. the food was outstanding and the portions were very big and good value for money. we will be visiting again and would highly recommend a visit

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbiel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alston hotels
2.5 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cumberland Inn
Cumberland Inn
#2 of 2 in Alston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#9 of 13 in Alston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
0.1 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#2 of 13 in Alston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: Front Street, Alston CA9 3HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Alston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Alston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Inn Alston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing