We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous location in the beautiful, unspoilt...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Broadmea Stable

Broadmea Stable and adjoining Barn.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Broadmea Stable and adjoining Barn.
Broadmea Stable and  adjoining Barn. These properties can be booked together to sleep 16. Broadmea Farm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Broadmea Stable and adjoining Barn.
Broadmea Stable and  adjoining Barn. These properties can be booked together to sleep 16.
Broadmea Farm
Relax at Broadmea Stable
Broadmea Stable 
Open plan Kitchen/Dining
Broadmea Stable
Open plan dining and living space
Broadmea Stable
Good morning!
Broadmea Stable 
Lounge with doors to patio area outside.
Broadmea Stable
Broadmea Stable
Cozy log effect gas fire.
Broadmea Stable
Broadmea Stable
Enjoy a late breakfast.
Broadmea Stable
Small gallery sitting area
Broadmea Stable
Quiet gallery seating upstairs
Broadmea Stable 
Bedroom 1
Downstairs
Broadmea Stable
Bedroom 2
Upstairs
Broadmea stable 
Bedroom 3 
Upstairs
Broadmea Stable
Bathroom 1 Large shower room.
Broadmea Stable
Bathroom 2
Quality white towels and fresh linens provided.
The Barn and Stable
Adjoining properties sleep 16 when booked together or 10 and 6 separately.
Celebrate and relax at Broadmea Stable!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Alston, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sandy H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous location in the beautiful, unspoilt South Tyne Valley.”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Broadmea with our three teenage children. A great central base for visiting either side of the Pennines. We had a day on both coasts and a day at Kielder Water. Expect to travel a bit to visit places such as the Lakes and either coastline but driving across such stunning landscapes is part of the experience. Hadrian's Wall is 10 miles or so. Alston is the nearest town (6 miles) and has a selection of pubs and shops which should meet most needs. The South Tynedale Railway is currently being extended to Slaggyford which from Easterr 2017 will enable a visit to Alston from the cottage by steam train on the narrow gauge railway. (we had to walk about a mile to the current end of the line station). The local pub is a 20 minute walk and serves a good selection of home cooked food. The valley itself is peaceful and there are plenty of opportunities to explore locally on foot. Owners were extremely nice and friendly and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Broadmea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil surroundings, access to the riverbank for walks
Liked least: What's not to like??
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Thank you for your excellent review. It was a pleasure to meet you and I'm pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Broadmea Stable.
I'm sure future guests will find your information on the area very helpful.
I do hope you can return again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you. Do hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Yorkshire
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. It was a pleasure having you return to Broadmea Stable. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would be delighted if you would visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GJF11
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family get together”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We rented both the stable and barn for a celebratory weekend with our extended family. The property is beautifully furnished and I have never stayed in a rental property that was so well equipped. The owner, Trish, has a great eye for detail in terms of soft furnishings, fixtures and fittings and the beds were extremely comfortable. The large table in the stable extended to accommodate our party of 17 for dinner and the substantial outside furniture provided us with another area to relax over the weekend .We had a lovely walk to the Kirkstyle Inn on the Sunday where we had a fantastic lunch. All in all a fantastic property !

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2015
What a lovely review! Thank you very much. It's such a pleasure knowing you all enjoyed your stay and that the two properties booked together accommodated everyone so well.. The large extending oak table in the Barn has been a great addition, I'm glad it worked well for your group. Hope to see you all again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kate s
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a great time at Broadmea Stable. It was very clean, comfortable and well eqiupped and the perfect size for our party of 6 (3 adults and 3 teenagers). The area around the cottage was a real surprise - peaceful and amazingly beautiful with lots to keep us all busy within a short drive away, like a mini Lake District but without the crowds and overpriced tourist traps! We had fantastic walks at High Force and along the river at Slaggyford , and a great afternoon ghyll scrambling with Crags Adventures (only an hours drive at Keswick). We are already thinking of planning our next trip and would recommend this holiday rental to everyone. Thanks for a great time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
Thanks for a great review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Broadmea and found lots to do in the area. Wonderful that you're already planning your next stay! We'll look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forryan5
Braughing
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, very relaxing”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Broadmea stable over Easter and really enjoyed our time there. The stable was perfect for a large family, the beds very comfortable (children slept like logs). Kitchen was well equipped and the wine cooler was a nice touch. The fire was lovely when it was a bit chilly in the evenings. Our children enjoyed the freedom to explore the fields behind the stable and the little stream that runs at the bottom of the garden.

I recommend looking at the stars in the evening, turn off all the lights in the stable and there is little light pollution, making it a fabulous star gazing experience on a clear night.

The little park (just over a field and 1 stile) is very cute and the ducks frequently visited too.

Local pub, the Kirkstyle Inn (1.5 mile walk along South Tyne old railway track) serves gorgeous Northumberland sausages with locally made mustards. They also offer smaller portions of the same menu for children.

My son loved the trip on the South Tyneside steam train at Alston, the volunteers who run the service were very friendly and helpful. My daughter enjoyed completely the quiz during the journey and we even spotted deer in the woods.

There is a Spar and Co-op in the village of Alston, we found everything we needed there (it's a 5 minute drive from Slaggyford). There is also a fish and chip shop, an Indian take away and a number of tea shops. There is also a number of interesting ceramic and 'nick-nack' shops.

The Lambley Viaduct offers fantastic views and the children enjoyed the walk down to the riverside which is approached via a foot bridge (We took the car and parked in the Lambley Viaduct car park and then it is approx a 40 min walk)

Thanks to Trish and Paul for a lovely stay at your farm. The children loved meeting the lambs and playing with the dogs (thanks Ben for showing them the new additions, hope they are all feeding well!)

We look forward to a stay at Broadmea again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the accommodation as well as useful information about the area. I'm pleased you all enjoyed your stay and we will very much look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing